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AN ACT
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Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for commercial driver’s license requirements and for operation of all-
terrain vehicles and snowmobiles by persons under 16 years of age.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1606(b) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a paragraph to read:

§ 1606. Requirement for commercial driver’s license.
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(b) Exemptions.—The following persons are not required to obtain a
commercial driver’s license in order to drive the commercial motor vehicle
specified:

* ok *

(6) A driver with a Class C license operating a school bus, school
vehicle or other commercial vehicle at the direction of authorized
emergency management personnel in a time of declared Federal, State
or local emergency. A person driving a school bus, school vehicle or
other commercial vehicle pursuant to this paragraph shall not be
subject to sanctions under the provisions of this chapter or section
3742.1 (relating to accidents involving death or personal injury while
not properly licensed).
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Section 2. Section 7725(b), (c) and (e) of Title 75 are amended and the
section is amended by adding a subsection to read: '

§ 7725. Operation by persons under age sixteen.
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(b) Operation of an ATV by persons under eight years of age—No
person under eight years of age shall operate [a snowmebile or] an ATV
upon State-owned land.
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(b.2) Operation of a snowmobile by persons under ten years of
age.—No person under ten years of age shall operate a snowmobile upon
State-owned land.

(c) Snowmobile and ATV safety certification.—No person 8 to 15 years
of age shall operate fa snowmobile or] an ATV and no person between 10
and 15 years of age shall operate a snowmobile in this Commonwealth
unless the person satisfies one of the following conditions:

(1) Is under the direct supervision of a certified snowmobile or ATV
safety instructor during a safety training course.
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(2) Is on land owned or leased by a parent or legal guardian.

(3) Has received safety training as prescribed by the department and
has received the appropriate safety certificate issued by the department.

(4) Holds ‘an appropriate safety certificate issued under the authority
of another state or Province of Canada and recognized by the department.
* % %

- (e) Permitting unauthorized operation.—No owner of a snowmobile or an
ATV shall authorize or permit the operation thereof within this
Commonwealth by any person under 16 years of age unless the person under
16 years of age is the holder of a valid and appropriate safety certificate, or
except as authorized in subsections (b), (4.2) and (c). ‘
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Section 3. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 29th day of June, A.D. 2006.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



