378 Act 2006-81 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 2006-81

AN ACT
HB 1746

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, further providing for establishment of fees and charges, for limitations of time
for other offenses, for inspection of court files and records, for law enforcement
records and for the expiration of provisions on access to Jjustice; and making a related
repeal.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts
as follows:

Section 1. Section 1725(c)(2) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended and the subsection is amended by adding paragraphs to read:
§ 1725. Establishment of fees and charges.

* %k ¥

(c) Counties of the first class.—

* % *

(2) The fees to be received by the Prothonotary on behalf of the Trial
Division [of the Court of Commen Pleas] and as [clerk] Clerk of the Family
Division of [said court] the Court of Common Pleas in counties of the first
class shall be as follows:

(i) Appeals:
The filing of an appeal to the Supreme, Superior
or the Commonwealth Court, including all services. . [$150.00] $161.00
The filing of any other appeal including, but not
limited to, an appeal from an award in compulsory -
arbitration, an appeal from administrative agencies,
petition for a writ of certiori, appeals from the
Municipal Court, appeals from the Board of View
‘and the Board of Revision of Taxes . ............. [65.00] 86.00
(This appeal fee is exclusive of any jury listing
fee set forth in this act. This fee does not
include the costs of compensation of
arbitrators. (See Pa.R.C.P. No.1308))
(ii) Certifications:

Any certification or certificate . . . R [$25.00] $27.00
Any exemplification ....................... [50.00] 54.00
If the same involves more than one page, for each

additionalpage ............ .. ... ... 3.00

(A certificate or certification is defined as the
authentication of any record by affixing the
seal of the court. Includes letters rogatory and
interrogatories to commissioners.)
(iii) Commencement of actions:
Commencement of any civil action|:
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For the years one through three after the
effective date of thisact....................
For the years four through six after the
effective date of thisact....................
For the years seven through ten after the
effective date of thisact....................
(Commencement of  action includes the
institution of any civil action, divorce or
adoption action by writ of summons,
complaint, petition or report of intent to adopt,
the filing of any partnership or association
agreements or any billing pursuant to the Bulk

Sale Act.)
(iv)  [Computer service charge] Automation
maintenance fee:

Parties - to be paid at time of commencement of
action, appeal or defendant’s first filing ..........

Nonparty - providing docket entries for a
nonparty per docketentryeach .................
. The funds generated by this computer service
charge shall be set aside by the prothonotary and
remitted monthly to the First Judicial District
procurement on behalf of the Court of Common
Pleas of the First Judicial District. This fund shall be

maintained in a dedicated account which shall be -

used for the development and implementation of

effective and efficient automation within the Office

of the Prothonotary as well as civil .computer
hardware, services and programs in the First Judicial

District.

(v) Custody: .
Custody, partial custody or v151tat10n ..........
Respondent’s first responsive filing ...........
Other motions and petitions - (See petitions and

motions)

Thirteen percent of the funds generated by the charge’
under this subparagraph shall be transmitted by the pro-
thonotary to the Administrative Office to pay for the
implementation of section 1904 (relating to availability
of criminal charge information in child custody pro-
ceedings).

(vi) Defendant’s first filing:

The filing by or on behalf of any defendant (or
additional defendant) of an entry of appearance,
answer, preliminary objections, writ to join (with
entry of appearance) or complaint against additional
defendant or any paper not otherwise provided for in

$120.00

140.00

. 160.00] 172.00

$5.00

5.00

[$30.00] $32.00
[15.00] 16.00
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this paragraph. A pleading, appearance or other paper
not otherwise provided for in this act filed on behalf
of more than one defendant shall require only one
fee. The filing of separate initial pleadings by a

defendant require a [separate fee.] separate fee . . .. $86.00
[For the years one through three after the
effective date of thisact. ................... $60.00
For the years four through six after the
effective date of thisact.................... 70.00
For the years seven through ten after the
effective date of thisact.................... 80.00]

(vii) Divorce:

Commencement of action - (See commencement
of actions)

Defendant’s first. ﬁllng (See defendant’s first
filing)

Other petitions and motions - (See petltlons and
motions)

[Praecipe to transmit: :

For the years one through three after the

effective date of thisact.................... $25.00
For the years four through six after the

effective date of thisact.................... 30.00
For the years seven through ten after the ‘

effective dateof thisact.........ccceevveenn 40.00]

Praecipetotransmit: ..........ccoveevinees $43.00
[Motion for appointment of permanent

TASTEL « v vviniiiveereerronreenrecannnnnns 300.00]
Motion for appointment of permanent master 322.00

(viii) Eminent domain:

Commencement of action by declaration of taking
or petition for a board of view - (See commencement
of actions)

[(ix) Uniform Commercial Code as provided in
13 Pa.C.S. § 9525 (relating to fees).]
(x) Judicial education fee ......... P $1.00

There shall be added to every commencement of

action fee and defendant’s first filing fee the
additional sum of $1.00 for the purpose of providing
funding for the continuing judicial education and
training for members of the judiciary of the First
Judicial District. The funds generated by this charge
shall be set aside by the prothonotary and remitted
monthly to the First Judicial District procurement to
be maintained in a separate account and used for
Judicial education and training.

(xi) Judgments:
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Judgment by confession or complaint in
confession of judgment (See Pa.R.C.P.Nos.2950-
2074) o [$50.00] $54.00
Entry of judgment from other jurisdiction ...... [50.00] 54.00
(xii) Liens and reimbursement agreements:
The filing of any Federal tax lien, Commonwealth
and municipal tax liens, mechanics’ lien or waiver of
mechanics’ lien and any other lien not specifically
coveredunderthisact ........................ [$20.00] $21.00
(Mechanics’ lien fee does not include com-
mencement of action fee when complaint is
filed.)
(xiii) Petitions and motions:
The filing of any petition or motion, excluding
commencement of [action (See commencement of

actions):] action (See commencement of actions).. $27.00
[For the years one through three after the

effective dateof thisact .................... $10.00
For the years four through ten after the

effective date of thisact.................... 25.00}

(xiv) [Refunds:

There will be no refund of any amount less
than $10.00.] Namesearch ..........ccccvuuen. $38.00
(xv) Subpoena: ’

Issuance of subpoena as authorized by Pa.R.C.P.

NO.234.2 .ot iiireentnitinenssaansanns $5.00
Producing a record in response to subpoena based

on four-hour service or fraction thereof .. ......... [$40.00} $43.00
Service beyond four hours, per hour or fraction

thereof . ... ottt [10.00] 11.00
For each mile traveled (round trip) for service out

ofcounty .......... ... [00.25] 00.365

(xvi) Trial listing/jury [demand:] demand ....... 3161.00

[Jury fee when the jury trial is demanded:
For the years one through three after the

effective date of thisact.................... $100.00
For the years four through six after the

effective date of thisact.................... 125.00
For the years seven through ten after the

effective date of thisact.................... 150.00]

(xvii) [The fee for any paper or service not
specifically provided for in this paragraph shall be
the same as for a similar service.] Record retention
77 $1.00
A record retention fee shall be added to every
motion or petition, excluding a motion or petition
which constitutes an initial filing, the additional
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sum of $1.00 for the purpose of providing funding to
establish and maintain a record retention program for
the First Judicial District. The funds generated by this
charge shall be set aside by the Prothonotary and
remitted monthly to the First Judicial District
procurement to be maintained in a separate account
and used for record retention purposes.

(xviii) [The fee enumerated in this paragraph
shall be exclusive of any tax, law library surcharge
or any other surcharge or assessment existing or
hereafter levied.] Prothonotary automation
developmentfee ...........cc.cciiunuen N

In addition to any other fee authorized by law,
an automation fee may be charged and collected by
the prothonotary upon initiation of any action or
legal proceeding. The automation fee shall be
deposited into a special prothonotary automation
Sund established for and maintained by the First
Judicial District of Pennsylvania. Moneys deposited
into the special prothonotary automation fund and
any interest accrued thereon shall be used solely for
the purpose of prothonotary automation, including
automation updates.

(xix) The prothonotary is authorized, with the
approval of the President Judge, to establish fees for
services required by statute or general rule which are
not specifically provided for in this paragraph. Any
fees so established shall be the same as those imposed
Jor similar services. The prothonotary shall not be
required to receive any paper or perform any service
until the proper fee is paid.

(xx) Refunds:

There will be no refund of any amount less than
$15. The jury fee when paid shall not be refunded.
[(xxi) Upon the expiration of ten years after the

effective date of this paragraph, the fees set forth
herein shall continue until changed according to
law.]

(xxii) Special court administration fee . ..........

There shall be added to every commencement of
action fee and defendant’s first filing fee the
additional sum of 35.00 for the purpose of
providing funding for the administration of gun
and zone courts in the First Judicial District. The

Sunds generated by this charge shall be set aside by

the prothonotary and remitted monthly to the First

Judicial District special gun and zone court fund.

$5.00

35.00
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The money in the fund and any interest accrued

thereon shall be used solely for the purpose of

administration of gun and zone courts.

(xxiii) The fees enumerated in this paragraph shall

be exclusive of any tax, law library surcharge or

any other surcharge or assessment existing or

hereafter levied.

(3) The fees to be received by the prothonotary on behalf of the
Philadelphia Municipal Court in civil actions shall be as follows:

(i) Commencement of civil action $0 to $2,000 ... $20.00
(i) Commencement of civil actions $2,001 to

810,000 ........conniiniiiiii ittt $40.00
(iii) Commencement of landlord and tenant civil

actions $010 32,000 ..............ceiiiiiiiinnn. $20.00
(iv) Commencement of landlord and tenant actions

$2,00110810,000 ..........ccnciiiiiiiiiiinnans $40.00
(v} Commencement of landlord and tenant civil

actionsover $10,000 . . ..........ccoveeieaninnn. $60.00
(i) Indexing ...........ccoiviiiieiennnnnnn. $5.00
(vii) Writofpossession ....................... $4.00
(viii) Motions (petitions) . ............ccvveeuss $10.00
(ix) Additional defendant filing shall be same as

initial filing

(x) Counterclaim shall be same as initial filing
(xi) Cross-claim shall be same as initial filing
(xii) Setoffs shall be same as initial filing

(xiii) Subpoena ..........ov.iiiiiiiiiainnans $3.00
(xiv) Writofrevival .........ccoviviivnenns $6.00
(xv) Recordretentionfee ..................... $1.00

There shall be added to every motion the additional
sum of 81 for the purpose of providing funding for
establishing and maintaining a record retention pro-
gram for the First Judicial District. The funds genera-
ted by this charge shall be set aside by the prothonotary
and remitted monthly to the First Judicial District pro-
curement to be maintained in a separate account
and used for record retention purposes.
(xvi) Automation fee:
(A) Initial pleading in all civil actions and
landlord tenant actions ....................... $5.00
(B) All civil petitions and motions......... $2.00
The funds generated by this automation fee shall be
set aside .by the prothonotary and remitted
monthly to the First Judicial District.
(xvii) The fees enumerated in this paragraph do not
cover any costs for services performed by the sheriff or
other writ server. Service of initial process shall be $27.
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All other fees of the sheriff or other writ server shall

be in accordance with the sheriff’s fee bill applicable

to Philadelphia County.

(xviii) The commencement of any action or proceed-

ing as well as complaints and all writs shall be exempt

Jrom any library fee or taxes.

(4) Beginning on January 1, 2008, and each January 1 thereafter, the
prothonotary may, with the approval of the president judge of the applicable
court, periodically increase any fee or charge imposed as of the effective
date of this paragraph pursuant to paragraphs (2) or (3). However, no such
JSee or charge may be increased more than once in any three-year period,
and the amount of any increase may not be greater than the percentage of
increase in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Workers for the immediate
three years preceding the last increase in the fee or charge.

(5) The First Judicial District of Pennsylvania may impose a charge for
the production of records produced pursuant to a subpoena served on the
First Judicial District or its employees as follows:

(i) Producing a record in response to a subpoena

based on four-hour service or fraction thereof . . ..... 343.00
(ii) Service beyond four hours, per hour or fraction

thereof .......coouiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieninnana 11.00
(iii) For each mile traveled (round trip) for service

OULOfCOURIY « ..o ivviiineneninnssnnonennsanss 00.365

(6) (i) In counties of the first class, there shall be charged and set apart
by the officers receiving the fees fixed under this section an amount
equal to 20% of the filing fees at the time in effect for the probate of
wills, the issue of letters testamentary, the issue of letters of
administration and the filing of accounts with the register of wills, the
filing of accounts of trustees and guardians, and of all filings in the
office of the prothonotary of the court of common pleas of the county.

(ii) The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to any actions
taken or initiated by any political subdivision.

(iii) The funds set aside shall be remitted monthly to the First
Judicial District and deposited into a family court facility fund, which is
to be established and used by the First Judicial District to fund the lease,
purchase and maintenance of appropriate family court facilities and for
related purposes.

* Xk ¥
Section 2. Section 4907 of Title 42 is amended to read:
§ 4907. Expiration of chapter.

This chapter shall expire [in five years.] on November 1, 2012. At least one
Year prior to the expiration of this chapter, the Legislative Budget and Finance
Committee shall conduct and submit to the General Assembly a performance
audit for the purpose of determining whether there is a continuing justification
Jor the activities and level of financial support provided for under this chapter.

Section 3. Sections 5552(b.1), 6307 and 6308(b) of Title 42 are amended to
read:
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§ 5552. Other offenses.

* %k ok

(b.1) Major sexual offenses.—A prosecution for any of the following
offenses under Title 18 must be commenced within 12 years after it is
committed:
Section 3121 (relating to rape).
Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).
Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse).
Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).
Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).
Section 4302 (relating to incest).
. Section 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).

* %k %
§ 6307. Inspection of court files and records.

(a) General rule—All files and records of the court in a proceeding under
this chapter are open to inspection only by:

(1) The judges, officers and professional staff of the court.

(2) The parties to the proceeding and their counsel and representatives, but
the persons in this category shall not be permitted to see reports revealing the
names of confidential sources of information contained in social reports,
except at the discretion of the court.

(3) A public or private agency or institution providing supervision or
having custody of the child under order of the court.

(4) A court and its probation and other officials or professional staff and
the attorney for the defendant for use in preparing a presentence report in a
criminal case in which the defendant is convicted and who prior thereto had
been a party to a proceeding under this chapter.

(5) A judge or issuing authority for use in determining bail, provided that
such inspection is' limited to orders of delinquency adjudications and
dispositions and petitions relating thereto, orders resulting from disposition
review hearings and histories of bench warrants and escapes.

(6) The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

(6.1) The judges, officers and professional staff of courts of other
jurisdictions when necessary for the discharge of their official duties.

(6.2) Officials of the Department of Corrections or a State Correctional
Institution or other penal institution to which an individual who was
previously adjudicated delinquent in a proceeding under this chapter has been
committed, but the persons in this category shall not be permitted to see
reports revealing the names of confidential sources of information contained
in social reports, except at the discretion of the court.

(6.3) A parole board, court or county probation official in considering an
individual’s parole or in exercising supervision over any individual who was
previously adjudicated delinquent in a proceeding under this chapter, but the
persons in this category ‘'shall not be permitted to see reports revealing the
names of confidential sources of information contained in social reports,
except at the discretion of the court.

(6.4) The board for use in completing assessments.
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(7) With leave of court, any other person or agency or institution having a
legitimate interest in the proceedings or in the work of the unified judicial
system.

(b) Public availability.—

(1) The contents of court records and files concerning a child shall not
be disclosed to the public unless any of the following apply:

(i) The child has been adjudicated delmquent by a court as a result of
an act or acts committed:

(A) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the conduct
would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or
(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct
would have constituted one or more of the following offenses if
committed by an adult:
(I) Murder.
(II) Voluntary manslaughter.
- (Ill) Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)
or (2) (relating to aggravated assault).
(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)(1) (relating to
arson and related offenses).
(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.
(VD) Kidnapping.
(VID) Rape.
(VIII) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or
(iii) (relating to robbery).
(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.
(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in this
subparagraph.

(ii) A petition alleging delinquency has been filed alleging that the
child has committed an act or acts subject to a hearing pursuant to
section 6336(e) (relating to conduct of hearings) and the child previously
has been adjudicated delinquent by a court as a result of an act or acts
committed:

(4) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the conduct
would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or
(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct
would have constituted one or more of the following offenses if
committed by an adult:
(D) Murder.
(II) Voluntary manslaughter.
(II) Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)
or (2).
(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301 (a)(I).
(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.
(VD) Kidnapping.
(VIl) Rape.
(VIII) Robbery as def ned in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or
(iii).
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(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.
(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in this
subparagraph.

(2) If the conduct of the child meets the requireménts Jfor disclosure as
set forth in paragraph (1), then the court shall disclose the name, age and
address of the child, the offenses charged and the disposition of the case.
The judge who adjudicates a child delinquent shall specify the particular
offenses and counts thereof which the child is found to. have committed, and
such information shall be inserted on any court or law enforcement records
or files disclosed to the public as provided for in this section or in section
6308(b)(2) (relating to law enforcement records).

§ 6308. Law enforcement records.
* %k
(b) Public availability.—

(1) The contents of law enforcement records and files conceming a child
shall not be disclosed to the public unless any of the following apply:

(i) The child has been adjudicated delinquent by a court as a result of
an act or acts committed:

(A) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the conduct
would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or
(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct would
have constituted one or more of the following offenses if committed by
an adult:
(I) Murder.
(IT) Voluntary manslaughter.
(II1) Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1) or
(2) (relating to aggravated assault).
(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)(1) (relating to
arson and related offenses).
(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse:
(V) Kidnapping.
(VID) Rape.
(VIII) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or
(iii) (relating to robbery)
(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.
(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in this
subparagraph.

(ii) A petition alleging delinquency has been filed [by a law
enforcement agency] alleging that the child has committed an act or acts
subject to a hearing pursuant to section 6336(¢) (relating to conduct of
hearings) and the child previously has been adjudicated delinquent by a
court as a result of an act or acts committed:

(A) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the conduct
would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or

(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct would
have constituted one or more of the following offenses if committed by
an adult:
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(I) Murder.

(II) Voluntary manslaughter.

(IIT) Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1) or
).

(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)(1).

(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.

(VI) Kidnapping.

(VII) Rape.
(VIII) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii) or
(iii).

(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.
(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in this
subparagraph.

(2) If the conduct of the child meets the requirements for disclosure as set
forth in paragraph (1), then the [court or] law enforcement agencyl, as the
case may be,] shall disclose the name, age and address of-the child, the
offenses charged and the disposition of the case. [The master or judge who
adjudicates a child delinquent shall specify the particular offenses and
counts thereof which the child is found to have committed and such
information shall be inserted on any law enforcement records or files
disclosed to the public as provided for in this section.]

* % %
Section 4. Repeals are as follows: )

(1) The General Assembly declares that the repeal under paragraph (2) is
necessary to effectuate the amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2).

(2) The act of December 5, 1980 (P.L.1107, No.190), referred to as the
Philadelphia Municipal Court Fee Law, is repealed.

Section 5. This act shall apply to all actions instituted on or after the effective
date of this act.
Section 6. This act shall take effect in seven days.

APPROVED—The 7th day of July, A.D. 2006.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



