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AN ACT
HB 778 4

Amending Titles 30 (Fish) and 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for classification of
offenses and penalties, for penalties for threatened and endangered species, for
chemical testing to determine amount of alcohol or controlled substances, for
operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled substance and for
county intermediate punishment programs.

The - General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
cnacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 923(a)(6) and (7) and (d) and 2305 of Title 30 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 923. Classification of offenses and penalties.

(a) General rule—The following penaltles shall be imposed for
violations-of this title:

* % %

(6) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, a fine of not less than
$500 nor more than [$7,500] 35,000, or imprisonment not exceeding two
years, or both,

(7) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, a fine of not less than
[$2,500] 371,500 nor more than $10,000, or imprisonment not exceeding
five years, or both.

& %k %k
(d) Repeat offenders.—[A] Except as provided in section 5502 (relating

to operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled
substance), a person who is convicted or acknowledges guilt of a second or
subsequent violation of this title or the regulations promulgated under this
title within 12 months of a prior offense under this title shall be sentenced as
‘a repeat offender. An extract from commission records maintained in the
ordinary course of business showing that the person was convicted or
acknowledged guilt of two or more offenses under this title on separate
occasions within a 12-month period shall be prima facie evidence that the

" person is a repeat offender. In addition to the fine set forth in subsection (a),
a repeat offender may be sentenced to pay an additional fine as follows:

(1) $200 if all the offenses committed within the 12-month period
were classified as summary offenses under this title.

(2) $1,000 if any of the offenses committed within the 12-month
period were classified as misdemeanors of the third degree and none were
classified as misdemeanors of the first or second degree or felonies.
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(3) $2,500 if any of the offenses committed within the 12-month
period were classified as misdemeanors of the first or second degree or
* felonies.

%* %k &

§ 2305. Threatened and endangered species.

(a) Establishment and publication of lists.—The executive director shall
establish a Pennsylvania Threatened Species List and a Pennsylvania
Endangered Species List. The lists, and any revisions thereto, shall be
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

(b) Rules, regulations and permits.—The commission may promulgate
rules and regulations governing the catching, taking, killing, importation,
introduction, transportation, removal, possession, selling, offering for sale or
purchasing of threatened and endangered species and, if deemed advisable,
may issue permits for catching, taking or possessing any of those species.

(c) Penalty.~—Any person intentionally violating any rule or regulation
promulgated under this section commits a misdemeanor of the third degree.
Each fish caught, taken, killed, imported, transported, removed, introduced,
possessed, sold, offered for sale or purchased in violation of any rule or
regulation promulgated under this section shall constitute a separate offense.
Catching a threatened or endangered species shall not constitute a violation if
it is immediately released where it was captured in the condition in which it
was captured.

Section 2. Section 5125(a) and (c) of Title 30 are amended to read:

§ 5125. Chemical testing to determine amount of alcohol or controlled
substance.

(a) General rule—Any person who operates or is in actual physical
control of the movement of a watercraft, upon, in or through the waters of
this Commonwealth, shall be deemed to have given consent to one or more
chemical tests of breath, blood or urine for the purpose of determining the
alcoholic content of blood or the presence of a controlled substance if [a
waterways conservation officer has reasonable grounds to believe the
person has been operatmg or in actual physical control of the movement
of a watercraft:

(1) in violation of section 5502 (relating to operating watercraft
under influence of alcohol or controlled substance); or

(2) which was involved in an accident in which the operator,

. passenger or any other person required treatment at a medical
facility or was killed.] one of the following applies: '

(1) a waterways conservation officer has reasonable grounds to
believe the person operated or was in actual physical control of the
movement of a watercraft in violation of section 5502 (relating to
operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled
substance); or _

(2) the person operated or was in actual physical control of the
movement of a watercraft which was involved in an accident in which
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" the operator, passenger or any other person required treatment at a

medical facility or was killed.

* ok ok

(c) Test results admissible in evidence.—In any summary proceeding or
criminal proceeding in which the defendant is charged with a violation of
section 5502 or any other violation of this title arising out of the same action,
the amount of alcohol or controlled substance in the defendant’s blood, as
shown by chemical testing of the person’s breath, blood or urine by tests
conducted by qualified persons usmg approved equipment, shall be
admissible in evidence.

(1) Chemical tests of breath shall be performed on devices approved
by the Department of Health using procedures prescribed jointly by
regulations of the Department of Health and the Department of
Transportation. Devices shall have been tested for accuracy within a
period of time and in a manner specified by regulations of the Department
of Health and the Department of Transportation. For purposes of breath
testing, a qualified person means a person who has fulfilled the training
requirement in the use of the equipment in a training program approved
by the Department of Health and the Department of Transportation. A
certificate or log showing that a device was tested for accuracy and that
the device was accurate shall be presumptive evidence of those facts in
every proceeding in which a violation of this title is charged.

(2) (i) Chemical tests of blood or urine shall be performed by a

clinical laboratory licensed and approved by the Department of Health

for this purpose using procedures and equipment prescribed by the

Department of Health or by a Pennsylvania State Police criminal

laboratory. For purposes of blood and urine testing, a qualified person

means an individual who is authorized to perform those chemical tests
under the act of September 26, 1951 (P.L.1539, No. 389) known as

The Clinical Laboratory Act.

(ii) For purposes of blood and-urine testing to determine blood
alcohol or controlled substance content levels, the procedures and
equipment prescribed by the Department of Health shall be reviewed
[within 120 days of the effective date of this subparagraph and at
least every two years thereafter to ensure that consideration is
given to scientific and technological advances so that testing
conducted in accordance with the prescribed procedures utilizing
the prescribed equipment will be as accurate and reliable as
science and technology permit.] as provided for by 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1547(c)(2)(ii) (relating to chemical testing to determine amount of
alcohol or controlled substance).

(3) Chemical [test] zests of blood or urine, if conducted by a facility
located outside this Commonwealth, shall be performed:

(i) by a facility licensed and approved by the Department of Health
for this purpose; or
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(ii) by a facility licensed to conduct the tests by the state in which
the facility is located and licensed pursuant to the Clinical Laboratory
Improvement Amendments of 1988 (Public Law 100-578, 102 Stat:
2903).

(4) For purposes of biood testing to determine the amount of a
Schedule I or nonprescribed ‘Schedule II or III controlled substance or a
metabolite of such a substance, the [Department of Health shall

* prescribe] minimum levels of these substances which must be present in a

person’s blood in order for the test results to be admissible in a

prosecution for a violation of section 5502 or any other violation of this

title arising out of the same action shall be the same as prescribed by the

department under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1547(c)(4).

* %k %

Section 3. Section 5502(a.5) and (c) of Title 30 are amended and the
section is amended by adding a subsection to read:

§ 5502. Operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled
substance.

* %k % . '

(a.5) Exception to two-hour rule—Notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection (a), (a.1), (a.2) or (a.4) where alcohol or controlled substance
concentration in an individual’s blood or breath is an element of the offense,
evidence of such alcohol or controlled substance concentration more than
two hours after the individual has operated or been in actual physical control
of the movement of the watercraft is sufficient to establish that element of the
offense under the following circumstances:

(1) where the Commonwealth shows good cause explaining why the

~ chemical test sample could not be [performed] obtained within two
hours; and

(2) where the Commonwealth establishes that the individual did not

~ imbibe any alcohol or utilize a controlled substance between the time the
individual was arrested and the time the sample was obtained.

* %k ok

[(c) Grading and penalties.— :

(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2) or (3), an individual who
violates subsection (a) shall be sentenced as follows:

(i) For a first offense, to undergo a mandatory minimum term
of six months’ probation and to pay a fine of $300 and successfully
complete an approved boating safety course.

(ii) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less

~ than five days and to pay a fine of not less than $300 nor more
than $2,500 and successfully complete an approved boating safety
course. ‘

(iii) For a third or subsequent offense, to undergo
imprisonment for not less than ten days and to pay a fine of not
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less than $500 nor more than $5,000 and successfully complete an

approved boating safety course.

(2) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual who
violates subsection (a)(1) where there was an accident resulting in
bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or damage
to a watercraft or other property or who violates subsection (a.1) or
(a.4) shall be sentenced as follows:

(i) For a first offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 48 consecutive hours and to pay a fine of not less than $500
nor more than $5,000 and successfully complete an approved
boating safety course.

- (ii) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 30 days and to pay a fine of not less than $750 nor more than
$5,000 and successfully complete an approved boating safety
course.

(iii) For a third offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 90 days and to pay a fine of not less than $1,500 nor more
than $10,000 and successfully complete an approved boating safety
course. .

“({iv) For a fourth or subsequent offense, to undergo
imprisonment for not less than one year and to pay a fine of not
less than $1,500 nor more than $10,000 and successfully complete
an approved boating safety course.

(3) An individual who violates subsection (a)(1) and refused
testing of blood or breath or an individual who violates subsection
(a.2) or (a.3) shall be sentenced as follows:

(i) For a first offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 72 consecutive hours and to pay a fine of not less than $1,000
nor more than $5,000 and successfully complete an approved
boating safety course. '

(ii) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 90. days and to pay a fine of not less than $1,500 and
successfully complete an approved boating safety course.

(iii) For a third or subsequent offense, to undergo
imprisonment for not less than one year and to pay a fine of not
less than $2,500 and successfully complete an approved boating
safety course.]

(c) Grading.—

(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (2):

(i) An individual who violates subsection (a) and who has no
more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor for which the
individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment for not more
than six months and to pay a fine under subsection (c.1).

(ii) An individual who violates subsection (a) and who has more
‘than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor of the second degree.
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(2) () An individual who violates subsection (a)(1) where there was
an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death
of any person or in damage to a watercraft or other property and
-who has no more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor for
which the individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment for
not more than six months and to pay a fine under subsection (c.1).

(i) An individual who violates subsection (a.1) or (a.4) and who
has no more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor for
which the individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment for
not more than six months and to pay a fine under subsection (c.1).

(iii) An individual who violates subsection (a)(1) where the
individual refused testing of blood or breath and who has no prior
offenses commits a misdemeanor for which the individual may be
sentenced to a term of imprisonment for not more than six months
and to pay a fine under subsection (c.1).

(iv) An individual who violates subsection (a.2) or (a.3) and who
has no prior offenses commits a misdemeanor for which the
individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment for not more
than six months and to pay a fine under subsection (c.1).

(v) An individual who violates subsection (a)(l) where there was
an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death
of any person or in damage to a watercraft or other property and
who has more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor of the
first degree.

(vi) An individual who violates subsection (a.l1) or (a.4) and who |
has more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor of the first
degree.

(vii) An individual who violates subsection (a)(1) where the
individual refused testing of blood or breath and who has one or
more prior offenses commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(viii) An individual who violates subsection (a.2) or (a.3) and who
has one or more prior offenses commits a misdemeanor of the first
degree. '

(c.1) Penalties.—
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2), (3) or (4), an individual
wha violates subsection (a) shall be sentenced as follows: -

(i) For a first offense, to undergo a mandatory minimum term of
six months’ probation and to pay a fine of $300 and successfully
complete an approved boating safety course.

(i) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than five days and to pay a fine of not less than $300 nor more than
32,500 and successfully complete an approved boating safety course.

(iii) For a third or subsequent offense, to undergo imprisonment
Jor not less than ten days and to pay a fine of not less than $500 nor




88 -, Act 2007-27 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

more than 35,000 and successfully complete an approved boating

safety course.

(2) Except as set forth in paragraph (3) or (4), an individual who
violates subsection (a)(1) where there was an accident resulting in
bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or damage to
a watercraft or other property or who violates subsection (a.1) or (a.4)
shall be sentenced as follows:

(i) For a first offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less than
48 consecutive hours and to pay a fine of not less than 3500 nor
more than $5,000 and successfully complete an approved boating
safety course.

(i) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 30 days and to pay a fine of not less than $750 nor more than
85,000 and successfully complete an approved boating safety course.

(iii) For a third offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 90 days and to pay a fine of not less than $1,500 nor more than
310,000 and successfully complete an approved boating safety
course.

. (iv) For a fourth or subsequent offense, to undergo imprisonment
Jfor not less than one year and to pay a fine of not less than $1,500
nor more than 310,000 and successfully complete an approved
boating safety course. ‘
(3) Except as set forth in paragraph (4), an individual who violates

subsection (a)(1) and refused testing of blood or breath or an individual
wheo violates subsection (a.2) or (a.3) shall be sentenced as follows:

(i) For a first offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less than

" . 72 consecutive hours and to pay a fine of not less than $1,000 nor
more than $5,000 and successfully complete an approved boating
safety course.

(ii) For a second offense, to undergo imprisonment for not less
than 90 days and to pay a fine of not less than 31,500 and
successfully complete an approved boating safety course.

(iii) For a third or subsequent offense, to undergo imprisonment
Jfor not less than one year and to pay a fine of not less than $2,500
and successfully complete an approved boating safety course.

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection relating to
mandatory minimum sentences, if the court makes a finding that the
county jail population exceeds its capacity, the court may allow an
individual who violated this section and is serving a mandatory
minimum term of imprisonment to be released on parole to serve some
or all of the individual’s term of imprisonment on house arrest with
electronic surveillance. This shall not apply to an individual who
violates subsection (a)(1) where there was .an accident resulting in

serious bodily injury or the death of any person.
* %k %
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Section. 4.  Section 9804(b)(4)(iii) and (5) of Title 42, amended
November 19, 2004 (P.L.855, No.112), are amended to read:
§ 9804. County mtermedlate pumshment programs.

* ok

(b) Eligibility.—
* %k %
(4) %* & %k
(iii) If the defendant is determmed not to be in need of drug and
alcohol treatment or if the defendant receives a penalty imposed
under 30 Pa.C.S. § 5502(c.1) (relating to operating watercraft under
influence of alcohol or controlled substance), the defendant may only
be sentenced to a county intermediate punishment program in:
(A) house arrest with electronic surveillance;
(B) partial confinement programs such as work release, work
camps and halfway facilities; or
(C) any combination of the programs set forth in this paragraph.
(5) A defendant subject to 75 Pa.C.S. § 3804 (relating to penalties) or
30 Pa.C.S. § 5502(c.1) may only be sentenced to county intermediate
punishment for a first, second or third offense under 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 38
(relating to driving after imbibing alcohol or utxllzmg drugs) or 30
Pa.C.S. § 5502.
Section 5. This act shall take effect unmedlately.

" APPROVED—The 8th day of July, A.D. 2007.
EDWARD G. RENDELL




