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AN ACT
SB 246

Regulating smoking in this Commonwealth; imposing powers and duties on the
Department of Health and local boards of health; providing penalties; preempting
local action; and making a related repeal.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Short title.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the Clean Indoor Air Act.
Section 2. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

“Cigar bar.” Any of the following:

(1) An establishment which, on the effective date of this section,
operates pursuant to an eating place retail dispenser’s or restaurant liquor
license under the act of April 12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the
Liquor Code, and is physically connected by a door, passageway or other
opening and directly adjacent to a tobacco shop.

(2) An establishment which, at any time, operates pursuant to an eating
place retail dispenser’s license, malt or brewed beverage distributor’s
license or restaurant liquor license under the Liquor Code, and has total
annual sales of tobacco products, including tobacco, accessories or cigar
storage lockers or humidors of at least 15% of the combined gross sales of
the establishment.

“Department.” The Department of Health of the Commonwealth.

“Drinking establishraent.” Any of the following:

(1) An establishrnent which:

(i) operates pursuant to an eating place retail dispenser’s license,
restaurant liquor license or retail dispenser’s license under the act of
April 12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the Liquor Code;

(ii) has total annual sales of food sold for on-premises consumption
of less than or equal to 20% of the combined gross sales of the
establishment; and
- (iii) does not permit individuals under 18 years of age.

(2) An enclosed area within an establishment which, on the effective
date of this section:

(1) operates pursuant to an eating place retail dispenser’s license,
restaurant liquor license or retail dispenser’s license under the Liquor
Code;
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(ii) is a physically connected or directly adjacent enclosed area
which is separate from the eating area, has a separate air system and
has a separate outside entrance;

(iii) has total annual sales of food sold for on-premises
consumption of less than or equal to 20% of the combined gross sales
within the permitted smoking area of the establishment; and

(iv) does not permit individuals under 18 years of age.

The term does not include a nightclub.

“Full-service truck stop.” An establishment catering to long-haul truck
drivers that provides shower facilities for a fee.

“Gaming floor.” Any portion of a licensed facility where slot machines
have been installed for use or play as approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming
Control Board. The term does not include an area adjacent to the gaming
floor, including any hallway, reception area, retail space, bar, nightclub,
restaurant, hotel, entertainment venue or office space.

“Licensed facility.” As defined in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1103 (relating to
definitions).

“Night club.” A public hall or hall for which admission is generally
charged and which is primarily or predominantly devoted to dancing or to
shows or cabarets as opposed to a facility that is primarily a bar, tavern or
dining facility.

“Private club.” An organization which is any of the following:

(1) A reputable group of individuals associated together as an
organization for legitimate purposes of mutual benefit, entertainment,
fellowship or lawful convenience which does all of the following:

(i) Regularly and exclusively occupies, as owner or lessee, a
clubhouse or quarter for the use of its members.

(i) Holds regular meetings; conducts its business through officers
regularly elected; admits members by written application, investigation
and ballot; and charges and collects dues from elected members.

(iii) Has been in continuous existence for a period of ten years as
such an organization.

(2) A volunteer ambulance service.

(3) A volunteer fire company.

(4) A volunteer rescue company.

“Public meeting.” A meeting open to the public. The term includes a
meeting under 65 Pa.C.S. Ch. 7 (relating to open meetings).

“Public place.” An enclosed area which serves as a workplace,
commercial establishment or an area where the public is invited or permitted.
The term includes:

(1) A facility which provides education, food or health care-related
services.

(2) A vehicle used for mass transportation. This paragraph includes a
train, subway, bus, including a chartered bus, plane, taxicab and
limousine.
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(3) A train station, subway station or bus station.

(4) A public facility. This paragraph includes a facility to which the
public is invited or in which the public is permitted and a private home
which provides child-care or adult day-care services.

(5) A sports or recreational facility, theater or performance
establishment.

“Smoking.” The carrying by a person of a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe or
other lighted smoking device.

“Tobacco shop.” A business establishment whose sales of tobacco and
tobacco-related products, including cigars, pipe tobacco and smoking
accessories, comprise at least 50% of the gross annual sales. This term does
not include a stand-alone kiosk or establishment comprised solely of cigarette
vending machines.

“Volunteer ambulance service.” As defined in section 102 of the act of
July 31, 2003 (P.L.73, No.17), known as the Volunteer Fire Company and
Volunteer Ambulance Service Grant Act.

“Volunteer fire company.” As defined in section 102 of the act of July
31, 2003 (P.L.73, No.17), known as the Volunteer Fire Company and
Volunteer Ambulance Service Grant Act.

“Volunteer rescue company.” As defined in section 102 of the act of July
31, 2003 (P.L.73, No.17), known as the Volunteer Fire Company and
Volunteer Ambulance Service Grant Act.

“Workplace.” An indoor area serving as a place of employment,
occupation, business, trade, craft, professional or volunteer activity.

Section 3. Prohibition.

(a) General rule.—Except as set forth under subsection (b), an individual
may not engage in smoking in a public place. Nothing in this act shall
preclude the owner of a public or private property from prohibiting smoking
on the property.

(b) Exceptions.—Subsection (a) shall not apply to any of the following:

(1) A private home, private residence or private vehicle unless the
private home, private residence or private vehicle is being used at the time
for the provision of child-care services, adult day-care services or services
related to the care cf children and youth in State or county custody.

(2) Designated quarters:

(i) within a lodging establishment which are available for rent to
guests accounting for no more than 25% of the total number of lodging
units within a single lodging establishment; or

(ii) within a full-service truck stop.

(3) A tobacco shop.

(4) A workplace of a manufacturer, importer or wholesaler of tobacco
products; a manufacturer of tobacco-related products, including lighters; a
tobacco leaf dealer or processor; or a tobacco storage facility.

(5) Any of the following residential facilities:
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(i) A long-term care facility regulated under 42 CFR 483.15
(relating to quality of life). This subparagraph shall not apply if 42
CFR 483.15 is abrogated or expires.

(ii) A separate enclosed room or designated smoking room in a
residential adult care facility, community mental health care facility,
drug and alcohol facility or other residential health care facility not
covered under subparagraph (i).

(iii) A designated smoking room in a facility which provides day
treatment programs.

(6) Subject to subsection (c)(2), a private club, except where the club
is:

(i) open to the public through general advertisement for a club-
sponsored event; or

(ii) leased or used for a private event which is not club sponsored.
(7) A place where a fundraiser is conducted by a nonprofit and

charitable organization one time per year if all of the following apply:

(i) The place is separate from other public areas during the event.

(ii) Food and beverages are available to attendees.

(iii) Individuals under 18 years of age are not permitted to attend.

(iv) Cigars are sold, auctioned or given as gifts, and cigars are a
feature of the event.

(8) An exhibition hall, conference room, catering hall or similar
facility used exclusively for an event to which the public is invited for the
primary purpose of promoting or sampling tobacco products, subject to
the following:

(i) All of the following must be met:

(A) Service of food and drink is incidental.

(B) The sponsor or organizer gives notice in all advertisements
and other promotional materials that smoking will not be restricted.

(C) At least 75% of all products displayed or distributed at the
event are tobacco or tobacco-related products.

(D) Notice that smoking will not be restricted is prominently
posted at the entrance to the facility.

(ii) A single retailer, manufacturer or distributor of tobacco may not
conduct more than six days of a promotional event under this
paragraph in any calendar year.

(9) A cigar bar.

(10) A drinking establishment.

(11) Unless otherwise increased under this paragraph, 25% of the
gaming floor at a licensed facility. No earlier than 90 days following the
effective date of this section or the date of commencement of slot machine
operations at a licensed facility, whichever is later, a licensed facility shall
request a report from the Department of Revenue that analyzes the gross
terminal revenue per slot machine unit in operation at the licensed-facility
within the 90-day period preceding the request. If the report shows that




186 Act 2008-27 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

the average gross terminal revenue per slot machine unit in the designated
smoking area equals or exceeds the average gross terminal revenue per
slot machine unit in the designated nonsmoking area, the licensed facility
may increase the designated smoking area of the gaming floor in
proportion to the percentage difference in revenue. A licensed facility may
request this report from the Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis
and may increase the designated smoking area of the gaming floor
accordingly. At no time may the designated smoking area exceed 50% of
the gaming floor. The board shall have jurisdiction to verify the gross
terminal revenues included in the report to ensure compliance with the
requirements under this paragraph. Movement of the licensed facility from

a temporary facility to a permanent facility shall not require the licensed

facility to revert to the minimum percentage set forth under this

paragraph.

(12) A designated outdoor smoking area within the confines of a
sports or recreational facility, theater or performance establishment.

(c) Conditions and qualifications for exceptions.—

(1) In order to be excepted under subsection (b), a drinking
establishment, cigar bar or tobacco shop must submit a letter,
accompanied by verifiable supporting documentation, to the department
claiming an exception under subsection (b). Exception shall be based
upon the establishment’s books, accounts, revenues or receipts, including
those reported to the Department of Revenue for sales tax purposes, from
the previous year or stated projected annual revenues, which shall be
verified within six months.

(2) In order to qualify for the exception under subsection (b)(6), a
private club must take and record a vote of its officers under the bylaws to
address smoking in the private club’s facilities.

Section 4. Signage.

“Smoking” or “No Smoking” signs or the international ‘No Smoking”
symbol, which consists of a pictorial representation of a burning cigarette in a
circle with a bar across it, shall be prominently posted and properly
maintained where smoking is regulated by this act by the owner, operator,
manager or other person having control of the area. A “Smoking Permitted”
sign shall be prominently posted and maintained at every entrance to a public
place where smoking is permitted under this act.

Section 5. Enforcement.

(a) Complaints.—A complaint regarding a possible violation of this act
shall be made to the appropriate law enforcement agency or to the
department. A complaint to the department shall be made in one of the
following manners:

(1) In writing.

(2) By a telephone call to the department’s toll-free telephone number.

(3) By an electronic submission to the department’s regularly
maintained Internet website.
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(b) Responsibilities.—

(1) Except as provided under paragraphs (2) and (3), upon recexpt ofa
complaint by the department, the following apply:

(i) Except as set forth under subparagraph (ii), the department shall
investigate the complaint and enforce this act.

(i) If the public place is subject to licensure by the Commonwealth,
in such case, the department shall refer the complaint to the appropriate
licensing agency for investigation and enforcement of this act.

(2) If a complaint is made to the department regarding a public place
located in a county under subsection (c), the department shall notify the
county board of health. The county board of health shall investigate the
complaint and enforce this act.

(3) If the complaint is made to a law enforcement agency regarding a
public place, the agency shall investigate the complaint and enforce this
act.

(¢) County election.—A county may elect to have its board of health
enforce this act by providing written notification to the department. In such
event, the county board of health shall provide the department with sufficient
information regarding its enforcement actions for the department’s annual
report required under section 8.

(d) Access to records.—A drinking establishment, cigar bar and tobacco
shop shall make available all books, accounts, revenues, receipts and other
information to the department, the Department of Revenue, the State
licensing agency or a county board of health as necessary to enforce this act.
All information submitted to the Department of Health, a county board or
other Commonwealth agency with enforcement duties under this act,
including information to verify the on-site food consumption of a drinking
establishment, shall be confidential and shall not be subject to the act of June
21, 1957 (P.L.390, No.212), referred to as the Right-to-Know Law.

Section 6. Violations, affirmative defenses and penalties.

(a) Violations.—It is a violation of this act to do any of the following:

(1) Fail to post a sign as required by section 4.

(2) Permit smoking in a public place where smoking is prohibited.

(3) Smoke in a public place where smoking is prohibited.

(b) Affirmative defenses.—Any of the following shall be an affirmative
defense to a prosecution or imposition of an administrative penalty under this
act:

(1) When the violation occurred, the actual control of the public place
was not exercised by the owner, operator or manager but by a lessee.

(2) The owner, operator or manager made a good faith effort to
prohibit smoking.

(3) The owner, operator or manager asserting the affirmative defense
shall do so in the form of a sworn affidavit setting forth the relevant
information mentioned under paragraphs (1) and (2).

(c) Commonwealth administrative penalties.—



188 Act 2008-27 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

(1) If the department or a State licensing agency or a county board of
health determines that a person has violated subsection (a), the person
shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $250.

(2) If the department or a State licensing agency or a county board of
health determines that a person has violated subsection (a) within one year
of receiving a penalty under paragraph (1), the person shall be subject to a
penalty not to exceed $500.

(3) If the department or a State licensing agency or a county board of
health determines that a person violated subsection (a) within one year of
receiving a penalty under paragraph (2), the person shall be subject to a
penalty not to exceed $1,000.

(4) This subsection is subject to 2 Pa.C.S. (relating to administrative
law and procedure).

(5) The penalties collected under this subsection shall be retained by
the department or the State licensing agency initiating the enforcement
action.

(d) Local administrative penalties.—

(1) If a county board of health determines that a person violated
subsection (a), the person shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $250.

(2) I a county board of health determines that a person has violated
subsection (a) within one year of receiving a penalty under paragraph (1),
the person shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $500.

(3) If a county board of health determines that a person violated
subsection (a) within one year of receiving a penalty under paragraph (2),
the person shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $1,000.

(4) This subsection is subject to 2 Pa.C.S. Ch. 5 Subch. B (relating to
practice and procedure of local agencies) and Ch. 7 Subch. B (relating to
Jjudicial review of local agency action).

(5) The penalties collected under this subsection shall be retained by
the county board of health initiating the enforcement action.

(¢) Criminal penaltics.—

(1) A person that violates this act commits a summary offense and
shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $250.

(2) A person thar violates this act within one year of being sentenced
under paragraph (1) commits a summary offense and shall, upon
conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $500.

(3) A person that violates this act within one year of being sentenced
under paragraph (2) commits a summary offense and shall, upon
conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $1,000.

(4) The following apply to actions by law enforcement officers:

(i) Except as set forth in subparagraph (ii), the penalties collected
under this subsection shall be retained by the municipality in which the
law enforcement agency initiating the enforcement action is located.
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(ii) If an enforcement action is initiated by the Pennsylvania State

Police, the Pennsylvania State Police shall retain the penalties collected

under this subsection.

Section 7. Retaliation prohibited.

A person may not discharge an employee, refuse to hire an applicant for
employment or retaliate against an employee because the individual exercises
a right to a smoke-free environment required under this act.

Section 8. Annual reports.

(a) Requirement—The department shall file an annual report by
December 1 with the chairman and minority chairman of the Public Health
and Welfare Committee of the Senate and the chairman and minority
chairman of the Health and Human Services Committee of the House of
Representatives.

(b) Contents.—The report shall include:

(1) The number of violations of this act by county as reported to the
department.

(2) The number of enforcement actions initiated under this act by the
department, by another State licensing agency or by a county board of
health.

(3) A description of the enforcement activities of the department. This
paragraph includes the number of personnel assigned to enforce this act,
enforcement strategies undertaken by the department or a licensing
agency and other information relating to the administration and
implementation of this act.

Section 9. Public education.

The department shall design and implement a program, including the
establishment of an Internet website, to educate the public regarding the
provisions of this act. The department shall inform persons who own or
operate a public place of the requirements of this act.

Section 10. Administration.

(a) Regulations.—The department shall promulgate regulations to
implement this act.

(b) Revision of forms.—The Department of Revenue may revise the form
for reporting sales tax revenue to require separate reporting of sales of
alcohol and tobacco for purposes of claiming exemptions under this act.
Section 11. Preemption of local ordinances.

(a) General rule—Except as set forth in subsection (b), the following
apply:

(1) This act shall supersede any ordinance, resolution or regulation
adopted by a political subdivision concerning smoking in a public place.

(2) No political subdivision shall have the authority to adopt or
enforce any ordinance, regulation or resolution which is in conflict with
this act.
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(b) Exception.—Subsection (a) shall not apply to a city of the first class.
A city of the first class may not change or amend its ordinance to conflict
with any provision of this act.
Section 29. Repeal.

(a) Intent.—The General Assembly declares  that the repeal under

subsection (b) is necessary to effectuate this act.

(b) Provision.—Section 10.1 of the act of April 27, 1927 (P.L.465,
No0.299), referred to as the Fire and Panic Act, is repealed.
Section 30. Effective date.

This act shall take effect in 90 days.

APPROVED—The 13th day of June, A.D. 2008.
EDWARD G. RENDELL




