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AN ACT
HB 1845

Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses) and 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure)
of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for sentence for
murder and murder of unborn child; providing for the offense of criminal
homicide of law enforcement officer and for the offense of assault of law
enforcement officer; imposing penalties; further providing for false reports to law
enforcement authorities; in firearms, further providing for ineligibility for
possession or dealing, for required licensure, for emergency prohibitions, for
licenses, for possession with altered manufacturer’s number, for sale or transfer,
for Pennsylvania State Police, for altering or obliterating marks of identification,
for firearm tracing and for procedure; establishing the Straw Purchase Prevention
Education Program and the Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund; further
providing for limitation of actions; prescribing sentences for offenses committed
against law enforcement officer; and abrogating a regulation.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1102(a), (b) and (c) of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 1102. Sentence for murder [and], murder of [an} unborn child and
murder of law enforcement officer.

(a) First degree.—

(1) A person who has been convicted of a murder of the first degree or
of murder of a law enforcement officer of the first degree shall be
sentenced to death or to a term of life imprisonment in accordance with 42
Pa.C.S. § 9711 (relating to sentencing procedure for murder of the first
degree).

(2) The sentence for a person who has been convicted of first degree
murder of an unborn child shall be the same as the sentence for murder of
the first degree, except that the death penalty shall not be imposed. This
paragraph shall not affect the determination of an aggravating
circumstance under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9711(d)(17) for the killing of a pregnant
woman.

(b) Second degree.—A person who has been convicted of murder of the
second degree [or], of second degree murder of an unborn child or of second
degree murder of a law enforcement officer shall be sentenced to a term of
life imprisonment.

(c) Attempt, solicitation and conspiracy [to commit murder or murder
of an unborn child].—Notwithstanding section 1103(1) (relating to sentence
of imprisonment for felony), a person who has been convicted of attempt,
solicitation or conspiracy to commit murder [or], murder of an unborn child
or murder of a law enforcement officer where serious bodily injury results
may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment which shall be fixed by the court
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at not more than 40 years. Where serious bodily injury does not result, the
person may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment which shall be fixed by
the court at not more than 20 years.

* ¥ %

Section 1.1. Title 18 is amended by adding sections to read:

§ 2507. Criminal homicide of law enforcement officer.

(a) Murder of a law enforcement officer of the first degree.—A person
commits murder of a law enforcement officer of the first degree who
intentionally kills a law enforcement officer while in the performance of
duty knowing the victim is a law enforcement officer.

(b) Murder of a law enforcement officer of the second degree.—A
person commits murder of a law enforcement officer of the second degree
who engages as a principal or an accomplice in the perpetration of a
felony during which a law enforcement officer is killed while in the
Dperformance of duty.

(c) Manslaughter of a law enforcement officer in the first degree.—A
person commits a felony in the first degree who does any of the follewing:

(1) Without lawful justification kills a law enforcement officer while

in the performance of duty and with knowledge that the victim was a

law enforcement officer, if at the time of the killing:

(i) the person is acting under a sudden and intense passion
resulting from serious provocation by the victim killed; or

(ii) the person is acting under a sudden and intense passion
resulting from serious provocation by another individual whom the
actor endeavors to kill, but the person negligently or accidentally
causes the death of the victim.
(2) Intentionally or knowingly kills a law enforcement officer while

in the performance of duty and with knowledge that the victim was a

law enforcement officer, if at the time of the killing the person believes

the circumstances to be such that, if they existed, would justify the
killing under Chapter 5 (relating to general principles of justification),
but his belief is unreasonable.

(d) Manslaughter of a law enforcement officer in the second
degree.—A person commits a felony of the second degree who, as a direct
result of the doing of an unlawful or lawful act in a reckless or grossly
negligent manner, causes the death of a law enforcement officer while in
the performance of duty and the person knew or should have known the
victim was a law enforcement officer.

(¢) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Law enforcement officer.” This term shall have the same meaning as
the term “peace officer” is given under section 501 (relating to
definitions).

“Perpetration of a felony.” As defined under section 2502(d) (relating
to murder).
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§2702.1. Assault of law enforcement officer.

(a) Assault of a law enforcement officer in the first degree.—A person
commits a felony of the first degree who attempts to cause or intentionally
or knowingly causes bodily injury to a law enforcement officer, while in
the performance of duty and with knowledge that the victim is a law
enforcement officer, by discharging a firearm.

(b) Penalties.—Notwithstanding section 1103(1) (relating to sentence
of imprisonment for felony), a person convicted under subsection (a) shall
be sentenced to a term of imprisonment fixed by the court at not more than
40 years.

(c) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
Phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Law enforcement officer.” The term shall have the same meaning as
the term “peace officer” is given under section 501 (relating to
definitions).

“Firearm.” As defined under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9712(e) (relating to
sentences for offenses committed with firearms).

Section 1.2. Sections 4906(c) and 6105(b) of Title 18 are amended to
read:

§ 4906. False reports to law enforcement authorities.

* %k k

(c) Grading.—

(1) If the violation of subsection (a) or (b) occurs during a declared
state of emergency and the false report causes the resources of the law
enforcement authority to be diverted from dealing with the declared state
of emergency, the offense shall be graded one step greater than that set
forth in the applicable subsection. ‘

(2) If the violation of subsection (a) or (b) relates to a false report of
the theft or loss of a firearm, as defined in section 5515 (relating to
prohibiting of paramilitary training), the offense shall be graded one
step greater than that set forth in the applicable subsection.

§ 6105. Persons not to possess, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer
firearms.

* kK

(b) Enumerated offenses.—The following offensés shall apply to
subsection (a):

Section 908 (relating to prohibited offensive weapons).

Section 911 (relating to corrupt organizations).

Section 912 (relating to possession of weapon on school property).

Section 2502 (relating to murder).

Section 2503 (relating to voluntary manslaughter).

Section 2504 (relating to involuntary manslaughter) if the offense is
based on the reckless use of a firearm.

Section 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

Section 2703 (relating to assault by prisoner).
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Section 2704 (relating to assault by life prisoner).

Section 2709.1 (relating to stalking).

Section 2716 (relating to weapons of mass destruction).

Section 2901 (relating to kidnapping).

Section 2902 (relating to unlawful restraint).

Section 2910 (relating to luring a child into a motor vehicle or
structure).

Section 3121 (relating to rape).

Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse).

Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).

Section 3301 (relating to arson and related offenses).

Section 3302 (relating to causing or risking catastrophe).

Section 3502 (relating to burglary).

Section 3503 (relating to criminal trespass) if the offense is graded a
felony of the second degree or higher.

Section 3701 (relating to robbery).

Section 3702 (relating to robbery of motor vehicle).

Section 3921 (relating to theft by unlawful taking or disposition) upon
conviction of the second felony offense.

Section 3923 (relating to theft by extortion) when the offense is
accompanied by threats of violence.

Section 3925 (relating to receiving stolen property) upon conviction of
the second felony offense.

Section 4906 (relating to false reports to law enforcement
authorities) if the fictitious report involved the theft of a firearm as
provided in section 4906(c)(2).

Section 4912 (relating to impersonating a public servant) if the person
is impersonating a law enforcement officer.

Section 4952 (relating to intimidation of witnesses or victims).

Section 4953 (relating to retaliation against witness [or], victim or
pary). ’

Section 5121 (relating to escape).

Section 5122 (relating to weapons or implements for escape).

Section 5501(3) (relating to riot).

Section 5515 (relating to prohibiting of paramilitary training).

Section 5516 (relating to facsimile weapons of mass destruction).

Section 6110.1 (relating to possession of firearm by minor).

Section 6301 (relating to corruption of minors).

Section 6302 (relating to sale or lease of weapons and explosives).

Any offense equivalent to any of the above-enumerated offenses under
the prior laws of this Commonwealth or any offense equivalent to any of
the above-enumerated offenses under the statutes of any other state or of

the United States.
* % &
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Section 2. Section 6106(b) of Title 18 is amended by adding a paragraph
to read:
§ 6106. Firearms not to be carried without a license.

& ok ok
(b) Exceptions.—The provisions of subsection (a) shall not apply to:
* k¥
(16) Any person holding a license in accordance with section
610909 (3).
* % %

Section 3. Section 6107 of Title 18 is amended to read:
§ 6107. Prohibited conduct during emergency.

(@) General rule.—No person shall carry a firearm|, rifle or shotgun]
upon the public streets or upon any public property during an emergency
proclaimed by a State or municipal governmental executive unless that
person is:

(1) Actively engaged in a defense of that person’s life or property
from peril or threat.

(2) Licensed to carry firearms under section 6109 (relating to licenses)
or is exempt from licensing under section 6106(b) (relating to firearms not
to be carried without a license).

(b) Seizure, taking and confiscation.—Except as otherwise provided
under subsection (a) and notwithstanding the provisions of 35 Pa.C.S. Ch.
73 (relating to Commonwealth services) or any other provision of law to
the contrary, no firearm, accessory or ammunition may be seized, taken or
confiscated during an emergency unless the seizure, taking or confiscation
would be authorized absent the emergency.

(¢) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Accessory.” Any scope, sight, bipod, sling, light, magazine, clip or
other related item that is attached to or necessary for the operation of a
firearm.

“Firearm.” The term includes any weapon that is designed to or may
readily be converted to expel any projectile by the action of an explosive or
the frame or receiver of any weapon. ,

Section 4. Section 6109(f)(1) of Title 18 is amended, the subsection is
amended by adding paragraphs and the section is amended by adding
subsections to read:

§ 6109. Licenses.

* %k k

(f) Term of license.—

(1) A license to carry a firearm issued under subsection (e) shall be
valid throughout this Commonwealth for a period of five years unless

extended under paragraph (3) or sooner revoked.
* % ¥
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(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (1) or any other provision of law to
the contrary, a license to carry a firearm that is held by a member of the
United States Armed Forces or the Pennsylvania National Guard on
Federal active duty and deployed overseas that is scheduled to expire
during the period of deployment shall be extended until 90 days after
the end of the deployment.

(4) Possession of a license, together with a copy of the person’s
military orders showing the dates of overseas deployment, including the
date that the overseas deployment ends, shall constitute, during the
extension period specified in paragraph (3), a defense to any charge
filed pursuant to section 6106 (relating to firearms not to be carried
without a license) or 6108 (relating to carrying firearms on public
streets or public property in Philadelphia).

* % *
(m.1) Temporary emergency licenses.—

(1) A person seeking a temporary emergency license to carry a
concealed firearm shall submit to the sheriff of the county in which the
person resides all of the following:

(i) Evidence of imminent danger to the person or the person’s
minor child. For purposes of this subparagraph, the term “minor”
shall have the same meaning as provided in 1 Pa.C.S. § 1991
(relating to definitions).

(ii)) A sworn affidavit that contains the information required on
an application for a license to carry a firearm and attesting that the
person is 21 years of age or older, is not prohibited from owning
firearms under section 6105 (relating to persons not to possess, use,
manufacture, control, sell or transfer firearms) or any other Federal
or State law and is not currently subject to a protection from abuse
order or a protection order issued by a court of another state.

(iii) In addition to the provisions of subsection (h), a temporary
emergency license fee established by the Commissioner of the
Pennsylvania State Police for an amount that does not exceed the
actual cost of conducting the criminal background check or $10,
whichever is less.

(iv) An application for a license to carry a firearm on the form
prescribed pursuant to subsection (c).

(2) Upon receipt of the items required under paragraph (1), the
sheriff immediately shall conduct a criminal history, juvenile
delinquency and mental health record check of the applicant pursuant
to section 6105. Immediately upon receipt of the results of the records
check, the sheriff shall review the information and shall determine
whether the applicant meets the criteria set forth in this subsection. If
the sheriff determines that the applicant has met all of the criteria, the
sheriff shall immediately issue the applicant a temporary emergency
license to carry a concealed firearm.
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(3) If the sheriff refuses to issue a temporary emergency license, the
sheriff shall specify the grounds for the denial in a written notice to the
applicant. The applicant may appeal the denial or challenge criminal
records check results that were the basis of the denial, if applicable, in
the same manner as a denial of a license to carry a firearm under this
section.

(4) A temporary emergency license issued under this subsection
shall be valid for 45 days and may not be renewed. A person who has
been issued a temporary emergency license under this subsection shall
not be issued another temporary emergency license unless at least five
years have expired since the issuance of the prior temporary emergency
license. During the 45 days the temporary emergency license is valid,
the sheriff shall conduct an additional investigation of the person for
the purposes of determining whether the person may be issued a license
pursuant to this section. If, during the course of this investigation, the
sheriff discovers any information that would have prohibited the
issuance of a license pursuant to this section, the sheriff shall be
authorized to revoke the temporary emergency license as provided in
subsection (i).

(5) The temporary emergency license issued pursuant to this section
shall be consistent with the form prescribed in subsection (e)(3), (4) and
(5). In addition to the information provided in those paragraphs, the
temporary emergency license shall be clearly marked “Temporary.”

(6) A person who holds a temporary emergency license to carry a
firearm shall have the same rights to carry a firearm as a person issued
a license to carry a firearm under this section. A licensee under this
subsection shall be subject to all other duties, restrictions and penalties
under this section, including revocation pursuant to subsection (i).

(7) A sheriff who issues a temporary emergency license to carry a
firearm shall retain, for the entire period during which the temporary
emergency license is in effect, the evidence of imminent danger that the
applicant submitted to the sheriff that was the basis for the license, or a
copy of the evidence, as appropriate.

(8) A person applying for a temporary emergency license shall
complete the application required pursuant to subsection (c) and shall
provide at the time of application the information required in
paragraph (1). )

(9) Prior to the expiration of a temporary emergency license, if the
sheriff has determined pursuant to investigation that the person issued
a temporary emergency license is not disqualified and if the temporary
emergency license has not been revoked pursuant to subsection (i), the
sheriff shall issue a license pursuant to this section that is effective for
the balance of the five-year period from the date of the issuance of the
temporary emergency license. Records and all other information, duties
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and obligations regarding such licenses shall be applicable as otherwise

provided in this section.

(10) As used in this subsection, the term “evidence of imminent
danger” means:

(i) a written document prepared by the Attorney General, a
district atforney, a chief law enforcement officer, judicial officer or
their designees describing the facts that give a person reasonable
cause to fear a criminal attack upon the person or the person’s
minor child. For the purposes of this subparagraph, the term “chief
law enforcement officer” shall have the same meaning as provided
in 42 Pa.C.S. § 8951 (relating to definitions) and “judicial officer”
shall have the same meaning as provided in 42 Pa.C.S. § 102
(relating to definitions).

(ii) a police report.

(m.2) Inconsistent provisions.—Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 7506 (relating to violation of rules regarding conduct on
Commonwealth property), 75 Pa.C.S. § 7727 (relating to additional
limitations on operation) or the act of June 28, 1995 (P.L.89, No.18),
known as the Conservation and Natural Resources Act, and regulations
promulgated under that act, a firearm may be carried as provided in
subsection (a) by:

(1) a law enforcement officer whose current identification as a law
enforcement officer shall be construed as a valid license to carry a
firearm; or

(2) any licensee.

(m.3) Construction.—Nothing in this section shall be construed to
permit the hunting or harvesting of any wildlife with a firearm or
ammunition not otherwise permitted by 34 Pa.C.S. (relating to game).

Section 5. Sections 6110.2 and 6111(b)(1), (g)(4) and (j) of Title 18 are
amended to read:

§ 6110.2. Possession of firearm with altered manufacturer’s number.

(a) General rule.—No person shall possess a firearm which has had the
manufacturer’s number integral to the frame or receiver altered, changed,
removed or obliterated. ,

(b)  Penalty.—A person who violates this section commits a
[misdemeanor] felony of the [first] second degree.

(¢) Definition.—As used in this section, the term “firearm” shall have the
same meaning as that term is defined in section 6105(i) (relating to persons
not to possess, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer firearms), except
that the term shall not include antique firearms as defined in section 6118
(relating to antique firearms).

§ 6111. Sale or transfer of firearms.

* %k %k

(b) Duty of seller—No licensed importer, licensed manufacturer or
licensed dealer shall sell or deliver any firearm to another person, other than
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a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer or licensed
collector, until the conditions of subsection (a) have been satisfied and until
he has:

(1) For purposes of a firearm as defined in section 6102 (relating to
definitions), obtained a completed application/record of sale from the
potential buyer or transferee to be filled out in triplicate, the original copy
to be sent to the Pennsylvania State Police, postmarked via first class
mail, within 14 days of the sale, one copy to be retained by the licensed
importer, licensed manufacturer or licensed dealer for a period of 20 years
and one copy to be provided to the purchaser or transferee. The form of
this application/record of sale shall be no more than one page in length
and shall be promulgated by the Pennsylvania State Police and provided
by the licensed importer, licensed manufacturer or licensed dealer. The
application/record of sale shall include the name, address, birthdate,
gender, race, physical description and Social Security number of the
purchaser or transferee, the date of the application and the caliber, length
of barrel, make, model and manufacturer’s number of the firearm to be
purchased or transferred. The application/record of sale shall also
contain the following question:

Are you the actual buyer of the firearm(s), as defined under 18

Pa.CS. § 6102 (relating to definitions), listed on this

application/record of sale? Warning: You are not the actual buyer if

you are acquiring the firearm(s) on behalf of another person, unless
you are legitimately acquiring the firearm as a gift for any of the

Sollowing individuals who are legally eligible to own a firearm:

(1) spouse;

(2) parent;

(3) child;

(4) grandparent; or
(5) grandchild.

* %k ok

(g) Penalties.—
% %k ¥k
(4) Any person, purchaser or transferee [who] commits a felony of the
third degree if, in connection with the purchase, delivery or transfer of a
firearm under this chapter, he knowingly and intentionally:
(i) makes any materially false oral [or written statement or]
statement;
(i) makes any materially false written statement, including a
statement on any form promulgated by Federal or State agencies; or
(iij) willfully furnishes or exhibits any false identification intended
or likely to deceive the seller, licensed dealer or licensed manufacturer
[commits a felony of the third degree].
*® %k *k

(j) Exemption.—
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(1) The provisions of subsections (a) and (b) shall not apply to:

(i) sales between Federal firearms licensees[.]; or

(ii) the purchase of firearms by a chief law enforcement officer-or
his designee, for the official use of law enforcement officers.

(2) For the purposes of this subsection, the term “chief law
enforcement officer” shall include the Commissioner of the
Pennsylvania State Police, the chief or head of a police department, a
county sheriff or any equivalent law enforcement official.

Section 6. Section 6111.1(b)(4), (¢) and (f) of Title 18 are amended to
read:
§ 6111.1. Pennsylvania State Police.

* %k k

(b) Duty of Pennsylvania State Police.—

& %k %k

(4) The Pennsylvania State Police and any local law enforcement
agency shall make all reasonable efforts to determine the lawful owner of
any firearm confiscated or recovered by the Pennsylvania State Police or
any local law enforcement agency and return said firearm to its lawful
owner if the owner is not otherwise prohibited from possessing the
firearm. When a court of law has determined that the Pennsylvania State
Police or any local law enforcement agency have failed to exercise the
duty under this subsection, reasonable attorney fees shall be awarded to
any lawful owner of said firearm who has sought judicial enforcement of
this subsection.

* % %
(e) Challenge to records.—

(1) Any person who is denied the right to receive, sell, transfer,
possess, carry, manufacture or purchase a firearm as a result of the
procedures established by this section may challenge the accuracy of that
person’s criminal history, juvenile delinquency history or mental health
record pursuant to a denial by the instantaneous records check [in
accordance with procedures established by the Pennsylvania State
Police. The decision resulting from a challenge under this subsection
may be appealed to the Attorney General within 30 days of the
decision by the Pennsylvania State Police. The decision of the
Attorney General may be appealed to the Commonwealth Court in
accordance with court rule)] by submitting a challenge to the
Pennsylvania State Police within 30 days from the date of the denial.

(2) The Pennsylvania State Police shall conduct a review of the
accuracy of the information forming the basis for the denial and shall
have the burden of proving the accuracy of the record. Within 20 days
after receiving a challenge, the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify
the challenger of the basis for the denial, including, but not limited to,
the jurisdiction and docket number of any relevant court decision and
Dprovide the challenger an opportunity to provide additional information
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for the purposes of the review. The Pennsylvania State Police shall
communicate its final decision to the challenger within 60 days of the
receipt of the challenge. The decision of the Pennsylvania State Police
shall include all information which formed a basis for the decision.

(3) If the challenge is ruled invalid, the person shall have the right
to appeal the decision to the Attorney General within 30 days of the
decision. The Attorney General shall conduct a hearing de novo in
accordance with the Administrative Agency Law. The burden of proof
shall be upon the Commonwealth.

(4) The decision of the Attorney General may be appealed to the
Commonwealth Court by an aggrieved party.

(f) Notification of mental health adjudication, treatment, commitment,
drug use or addiction.—

(1) Notwithstanding any statute to the contrary, judges of the courts of
common pleas shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police, on a form
developed by the Pennsylvania State Police, of:

(i) the identity of any individual who has been adjudicated as an
incompetent or as a mental defective or who has been involuntarily
committed to a mental institution {for inpatient care and treatment]
under the act of July 9, 1976 (P.L.817, No.143), known as the Mental
Health Procedures Act, or who has been involuntarily treated as
described in section 6105(c)(4) (relating to persons not to possess, use,
manufacture, control, sell or transfer firearms)[.] or as described in 18
US.C. § 922(g)(4) (relating to unlawful acts) and its implementing
Federal regulations; and

(i) any finding of fact or court ovder related to any person
described in 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3).

(2) The notification shall be transmitted by the judge to the
Pennsylvania State Police within seven days of the adjudication,
commitment or treatment.

(3) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the Pennsylvania State
Police may disclose, electronically or otherwise, to the United States
Attorney General or a designee, any record relevant to a determination
of whether a person is disqualified from possessing or receiving a
firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(3) or (4) or an applicable state

Statute.
* & ¥

Section 7. Sections 6117 and 6127(a) of Title 18 are amended to read:
§ 6117. Altering or obliterating marks of identification.

(a) Offense defined.—No person shall change, alter, remove, or obliterate
the manufacturer’s number integral to the frame or receiver of any firearm
which shall have the same meaning as provided in section 6105 (relating to
persons not to possess, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer firearms).

[(b) Presumption.—Possession of any firearm upon which any such
mark shall have been changed, altered, removed or obliterated shall be




SESSION OF 2008 Act 2008-131 1639

prima facie evidence that the possessor has changed, altered, removed or
obliterated the same.]

(c) Penalty.—A violation of this section constitutes a felony of the second
degree.

[(d) Appellate review.—If a sentencing court refuses to apply this
section where applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the right to
appellate review of the action of the sentencing court. The appellate
court shall vacate the sentence and remand the case to the sentencing
court for imposition of a sentence in accordance with this section if it
finds that the sentence was imposed in violation of this section.]

§ 6127. Firearm tracing.

(a) Illegal possession.—Upon confiscating or recovering a firearm from
the possession of anyone [under 21 years of age] who is not permitted by
Federal or State law to possess a firearm, a local law enforcement agency
shall use the best available information, including a firearms trace where
necessary, to determine how and from where the person [under 21 years of
age] gained possession of the firearm.

* %k ¥k

Section 8. Chapter 61 of Title 18 is amended by adding a subchapter to
read:

SUBCHAPTER D
STRAW PURCHASE PREVENTION
EDUCATION PROGRAM

Sec.

6181. Scope of subchapter.

6182. Legislative findings and declarations.

6183. Definitions.

6184. Straw Purchase Prevention Education Program.
6185. Powers and duties of Attorney General.

6186. Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund.
6187. Transfer for initial funding.

§ 6181. Scope of subchapter.

This subchapter provides for the establishment of the Straw Purchase
Prevention Education Program within the Office of Attorney General,
§ 6182. Legislative findings and declarations.

The General Assembly finds and declares that:

(1) The illegal purchase of firearms throughout this Commonwealth
is a threat to public safety and security.

(2) Urban areas are experiencing increased violence as a result of
criminal misuse of firearms. Stemming the flow of these illegal firearms
through straw purchases will help to curb the crime rate throughout
this Commonwealth and increase public safety.

(3) Educating the public that illegally purchasing a ﬁrearmA Sfor
someone otherwise prohibited from possessing one is a serious crime
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and punishable under Federal law by ten years’ imprisonment advances

public safety.

(4) Committed to educating firearms dealers and the general public,
the National Shooting Sports Foundation, in partnership with the
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, in July 2000
created the “Don’t Lie for the Other Guy Program.”

(5) The “Don’t Lie for the Other Guy Program” was developed to
raise public awareness that it is a serious crime to purchase a firearm
Jfor someone who cannot legally do so and to educate firearms dealers
on how to better detect and deter potential straw purchases. The
campaign delivers the message that anyone attempting an illegal
firearm purchase faces a stiff Federal penalty.

(6) The “Don’t Lie for the Other Guy Program?” is vital to educating
Jederally licensed firearms dealers and their employees on how to
recognize and deter the illegal purchase of firearms through straw
purchases. This program is an important tool for the Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives to pursue its mission of
preventing terrorism, reducing violent crime and protecting the public.

(7) The nationally recognized “Don’t Lie for the Other Guy
Program” has been endorsed by United States attorneys throughout the
nation, various law enforcement agencies, the Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives and the Department of Justice.

(8) It is in the best interest of this Commonwealth to establish a
straw purchase prevention education program within the Office of
Attorney General to provide resources and direct grant money to the
“Don’t Lie for the Other Guy Program” and similar programs that
offer straw purchase prevention education.

§ 6183. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall
have the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Fund.” The Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund established
in section 6186 (relating to Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund).

“Program.” The Straw Purchase Prevention Education Program
established in section 6184 (relating to Straw Purchase Prevention
Education Program).

§ 6184. Straw Purchase Prevention Education Program.

(a)  Establishment—The Straw Purchase Prevention Education
Program is established and shall provide resources and direct grant money
to underwrite the cost of implementing an educational and public service
outreach program in the community.

(b) Outreach.—The educational and public service outreach program
shall inform individuals of the illegal nature of purchasing a firearm for
an individual prohibited from owning firearms. The outreach program
shall be developed by a not-for-profit organization which:
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(1) Is a national trade association representing the shooting,
hunting and firearm industry.

(2) Has a membership consisting of firearm manufacturers, firearm
distributors, firearm retailers, publishers and sportsmen’s
organizations.

(3) Has been in existence for at least 45 years prior to the effective
date of this section.

(¢) Priority of grants.—Grants shall be prioritized based on the highest
incidence of firearm violence in a county of this Commonwealth.

§ 6185. Powers and duties of Attorney General.

In addition to any other powers and duties, the Attorney General of the
Commonwealth shall: ’ ’

(1) Establish a grant program to provide moneys from the fund
pursuant to section 6184 (relating to Straw Purchase Prevention
Education Program).

(2) Promulgate rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of
this subchapter.

§ 6186. Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund.

(a) Establishment.—The Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund
is hereby established in the State Treasury as a restricted account. The
JSund shall consist of funds appropriated by the General Assembly.

(b) Continuing appropriation.—All moneys in the fund and the interest
accruing thereon are hereby appropriated to the Office of Attorney
General on a continuing basis to carry out the provisions of this
subchapter.

§ 6187. Transfer for initial funding.

The sum of $100,000 is hereby transferred from the General Fund to
the Straw Purchase Prevention Education Fund for expenditure during the
fiscal year July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2010, to carry out the provisions of
this subchapter.

Section 8.1. Section 9152(d) and (¢) of Title 18 are amended to read:
§ 9152. Procedure.

s %k k .

(d) Review of challenge.—All criminal justice agencies shall have 60
days to conduct a review of any challenge and shall have the burden of
proving the accuracy of the record. The decision on the challenge shall
include all information, including, but not limited to, the jurisdiction and
docket number of any relevant court decision which formed a basis for the
decision. If the challenge is deemed valid, the appropriate officials must
ensure that: .

(1) The criminal history record information is corrected.
(2) A certified and corrected copy of the criminal history record
information is provided to the individual.
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(3) Prior erroneous criminal history record information disseminated
to criminal justice agencies shall be destroyed or returned and replaced
with corrected information.

(4) The individual is supplied with the names of those noncriminal
justice agencies and individuals which have received erroneous criminal
history record information.

(e) Appeals.—

(1) If the challenge is ruled invalid, an individual has the right to
appeal the decision to the Attorney General within 30 days of notification
of the decision by the criminal justice agency.

(2) The Attorney General shall [have the authority to conduct
administrative appeal hearings] conduct a hearing de novo in
accordance with the Administrative Agency Law. The burden of proof
shall be upon the party bearing the burden of proof on the challenge.

(3) The decision of the Attorney General may be appealed to the
Commonwealth Court by an aggrieved individual.

Section 9. Section 5552(b)(1) of Title 42 is amended and subsection (c)
is amended by adding a paragraph to read:
§ 5552. Other offenses.

* &k

(b) Major offenses.—A prosecution for any of the following offenses
must be commenced within five years after it is committed:

(1) Under the following provisions of Title 18 (relating to crimes and
offenses):

Section 901 (relating to criminal attempt) involving attempt to
commit murder where no murder occurs.

Section 902 (relating to criminal solicitation) involving solicitation
to commit murder where no murder occurs.

Section 903 (relating to criminal conspiracy) involving conspiracy
to commit murder where no murder occurs.

Section 911 (relating to corrupt organizations).

Section 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

Section 2706 (relating to terroristic threats).

“Section 2713 (relating to neglect of care-dependent person).

Section 2901 (relating to kidnapping).

Section 3301 (relating to arson and related offenses).

Section 3502 (relating to burglary).

Section 3701 (relating to robbery).

Section 3921 (relating to theft by unlawful taking or disposition)
through section 3933 (relating to unlawful use of computer).

Section 4101 (relating to forgery).

Section 4107 (relating to deceptive or fraudulent business
practices).

Section 4108 (relating to commercial bribery and breach of duty to
act disinterestedly).
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Section 4109 (relating to rigging publicly exhibited contest).

Section 4117 (relating to insurance fraud).

Section 4701 (relating to bribery in official and political matters)
through section 4703 (relating to retaliation for past official action).

Section 4902 (relating to perjury) through section 4912 (relating to
impersonating a public servant).

Section 4952 (relating to intimidation of witnesses or victims).

Section 4953 (relating to retaliation against witness [or victim],
victim or party).

Section 5101 (relating to obstructing administration of law or other
governmental function).

Section 5111 (relating to dealing in proceeds of unlawful activities).

Section 5512 (relating to lotteries, etc.) through section 5514
(relating to pool selling and bookmaking).

Section 5902(b) (relating to prostitution and related offenses).

Section 6111(g)(2) and (4) (relating to sale or transfer of
firearms).
* % k

(c¢) Exceptions.—If the period prescribed in subsection (a), (b) or (b.1)

has expired, a prosecution may nevertheless be commenced for:
¥ % ¥
(4) An offense in violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 6111(c) or (g), within one
year of its discovery by State or local law enforcement, but in no case
shall this paragraph extend the period of limitation otherwise-applicable
by more than eight years.

* % k

Section 9.1. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 9719.1. Sentences for offenses committed against law enforcement
officer.

(a) Mandatory sentence.—A person convicted of the following offense
shall be sentenced to a mandatory term of imprisonment as follows:

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702.1(a) (relating to assault of law enforcement
officer) - not less than 20 years.

(b) Authority of court in sentencing.—There shall be no authority in
any court to impose on an offender to which this section is applicable any
lesser sentence than provided for in subsection (a) or to place such
offender on probation or to suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall
prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater than that
provided in this section. Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the
Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall not supersede the
mandatory sentences provided in this section.

(c) Appeal by Commonwealth.—If a sentencing court refuses to apply
this section where applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the right to
appellate review of the action of the sentencing court. The appellate court
shall vacate the sentence and remand the case to the sentencing court for
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imposition of a sentence in accordance with this section if it finds that the
sentence was imposed in violation of this section.

(d) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Law enforcement officer.” The term shall have the same meaning as
the term “peace officer” is given under 18 Pa.C.S. § 501 (relating to
definitions). A '

Section 10. The provisions of 17 Pa. Code § 11.215 (relating to weapons
and hunting) are abrogated to the extent they apply to any person identified
under 18 Pa.C.S. § 6109(m.2).

Section 11. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The amendment of 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 6111.1(e) and 9152(d) and (e)
shall take effect immediately.

(2) This section shall take effect immediately.

(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 17th day of October, A.D. 2008.
EDWARD G. RENDELL




