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No. 2009-49

AN ACT
HB 1607

Amending Titles 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure), 44 (Law and Justice) and 75
(Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, consolidating the law
relating to constables; in Title 42, further providing for deposits into the Judicial
System Augmentation Account and providing for surcharges; in Title 44,
repealing obsolete provisions on recidivism and revising provisions on second
and third class cities, on boroughs, on townships, on the Constables’ Education
and Training Board, on use of firearms, on the Constables’ Education and
Training Account and on statutory authority; making editorial changes; and
making related repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Subchapter C of Chapter 29 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania

Consolidated Statutes is repealed:
' [SUBCHAPTER C
CONSTABLES
2941. Definitions.
2942. Conduct and insurance.
2943. Board established.
2944. Program established.
2945. Program contents.
2946. Continuing education.
2947. Automatic certification.
2948. Use of firearms.
2949. Restricted account.
2950. Fees.
§ 2941. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall
have the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Account.” The Constables’ Education and Training Account
established in section 2949 (relating to restricted account).

“Board.” The Constables’ Education and Training Board
established in section 2943 (relating to board established).

“Commission.” The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and
Delinquency of the Commonwealth.

“Court.” The minor judiciary or any other court in this
Commonwealth.

“Judicial duties.” Those services specified in section 2950 (relating to
fees).
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“Term of office of a deputy constable.” The term of office of the
constable who appointed him.

§ 2942. Conduct and insurance. .

(a) Certification.—After the establishment, lmplementatlon and
administration of the Constables’ Education and Training Program
created under sections 2944 (relating to program established) and 2945
(relating to program contents), no constable or deputy constable shall
perform any judicial duties nor demand or receive any fee, surcharge or
mileage provided by this subchapter unless he has been certified under
this subchapter.

(b) Liability insurance.—Every constable and deputy constable must
file with the clerk of courts proof that he has, currently in force, a policy
of professional liability insurance covering each individual in the
performance of his judicial duties with a minimum coverage of $250,000
per incident and a minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year. However,
no constable or deputy constable shall be required to file such proof
until six months after the effective date of this act. The Constables’
Education and Training Board shall immediately investigate and
implement the most cost-effective method of achieving liability insurance
for constables and deputy constables under this subsection.

(c¢) Loss of certification.—Any constable or deputy constable who
fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current insurance policy as
required by subsection (b) or to file proof thereof with the clerk of
courts shall cease automatically to be certified to perform judicial duties
upon the expiration of the policy of which proof has been filed with the
clerk of courts.

(d) Recertification.——Any constable or deputy constable who ceases
to be certified to perform judicial duties as a result of the operation of
subsection (c) may later be recertified immediately by filing with the
clerk of courts proof that such insurance has been in force continuously
since the officer was last certified to perform judicial duties. In the case
of a violation of subsection (c), the individual may be recertified by
complying with subsection (b).

(e) Limitations on liability.—The provisions of this subchapter shall
not be deemed to impose respondeat superior liability on any county.

(f) Conduct.—While a constable or deputy constable is performing
duties other than judicial duties, regardless of whether or not he is
certified under this subchapter, he shall not in any manner hold himself
out to be active as an agent, employee or representative of any court,
magisterial district judge or judge. -

§ 2943. Board established.

(a) Board created.—There is hereby established. within the
commission an advisory board to be known as-the Constables’
Education and Training Board. i
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(b) Composition.—The board shall be composed of the Pennsylvania
State Police Commissioner or his designee and six other members
appointed by the Governor with the consent of a majority of the
members of the Senate:

(1) Three persons who shall be constables.

(2) One person who shall be a magisterial district
judge.

(3) One person who shall be a court administrator.

(4) One person who shall be a county commissioner.

(¢) Appointments and terms.—Members shall serve for three-year
terms and may be appointed for more than one additional consecutive
term. If a member who serves by virtue of public office ceases to
represent the class to which he was appointed, his membership in the
commission shall terminate immediately, and a new member shall be
appointed in the same manner as his predecessor to fill the unexpired
portion of the term. No constable may be appointed, be reappointed or
serve as a board member unless he is certified under this subchapter.

(d) Vacancy.—A member appointed to fill a vacancy created by any
reason other than expiration of a term shall be appointed for the
unexpired term of the member whom he is to succeed in the same
manner as the original appointment.

(e) Expenses.—The members of the board shall serve without
compensation but shall be reimbursed the necessary and actual expenses
incurred in attending meetings of the board and in the performance of
their duties under this subchapter.

() Removal.—Members of the board may be removed by the
appointing authority for good cause upon written notice from the
appointing authority specifically setting forth the cause for removal.

(g) Chairman elected.—The members of the board shall elect a
chairman from among the members to serve for a period of one year. A
chairman may be elected to serve successive terms. The Governor shall
designate the first chairman for organizational purposes only.

(h) Meetings.—The chairman shall summon the members of the
board to the first meeting within 30 days after his appointment or within
30 days after the appointment of a sufficient number of members to
constitute a quorum, whichever is later. The board shall meet as often as
it deems necessary but at least four times each year. Meetings may be
called by the chairman of the board or by any four members thereof, in
either case upon at least ten days’ written notice to all members of the
board. A quorum shall consist of four members.

§ 2944. Program established.

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, shall:

)] Establish, implement and administer the Constables’

Education and Training Program according to the minimum

requirements set forth in this subchapter.
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(2) Establish, implement and administer requirements for the
minimum courses of study and training for constables and deputy
constables.

(3) Establish, |mplement and administer requirements for courses
of study and in-service training for constables and deputy constables.

(4) Establish, implement and administer requirements for a
continuing education program for constables and deputy constables
concerning subjects the board may deem necessary and appropriate
for the continued education and training of constables and deputy
constables.

(5) Approve or revoke the approval of any school which may be
utilized for the educational and training requ1rements of this
subchapter.

(6) Establish the minimum qualifications for instructors and
certify instructors. :

(7) Consult, cooperate and contract with universities, colleges, law
schools, community colleges and institutes for the development of
basic and continuing education courses for constables and deputy
constables.

(8) Promote the most efficient and economical program for
constable and deputy constable training by utilizing existing facilities,
programs and qualified State and local personnel.

9) Certify constables and deputy constables who have
satisfactorily completed the basic and continuing education and
training requirements of this subchapter and issue appropriate
certificates to them.

(10) Make rules and regulations and perform other duties as may
be reasonably necessary or appropriate to administer the education
and training program for constables and deputy constables.

(11) 1In consultation with the Insurance Commissioner, monitor
the price and availability of the liability insurance required by section
2942(b) (relating to conduct and insurance) and, if deemed necessary
by the board, provide information and coordination to assure the
availability and competitive pricing of such insurance.

(12) Make an annual report to the Governor and to the General
Assembly concerning:

(i) The administration of the Constables’ Education and

Training Program.

(ii) The activities of the board.
(iii) The costs of the program.
(iv) Proposed changes, if any, in this subchapter.
§ 2945. Program contents. ‘
The Constables’ Education and Training Program shall include
training for a total of 80 hours, the content of which shall be determined
by regulation. The training shall include instruction in the interpretation
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and application of the fees provided for in section 2950 (relating to fees).
Any constable or deputy constable who is in office as of the effective
date of this subchapter shall be afforded one and only one opportunity
prior to the expiration of his current term to satisfactorily complete this
program by examination without the necessity of class attendance.

§ 2946. Continuing education.

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, shall
establish a mandatory continuing education program for constables and
deputy constables, which shall include no more than 40 hours per year,
concerning subjects the board may deem necessary and appropriate for
the continued education and training of constables and deputy
constables.

§ 2947. Automatic certification.

All constables and deputy constables who are in office as of the
effective date of this subchapter shall be deemed to be certified under
and in compliance with sections 2945 (relating to program contents) and
2946 (relating to continuing education) for the balance of their current
term of office or until the constables and deputy constables have been
provided an opportunity to complete the education and training in
accordance with section 2945 or 2946, whichever is sooner.

§ 2948. Use of firearms.

(a) Standards.—The Constables’ Education and Training Board,
with the review and approval of the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime
and Delinquency, shall establish standards for the certification or
qualification of constables and deputy constables to carry or use
firearms in the performance of any duties.

(b) Certification and qualification.—Until such time as the board
establishes the standards pursuant to subsection (a), no constable or
deputy constable shall carry or use a firearm in the performance of any
duties unless he is currently certified or qualified in firearms under at
least one of the following:

(1) The act of June 18, 1974 (P.L.359, No.120), referred to as the

Municipal Police Education and Training Law.

(2) The act of October 10, 1974 (P.L.705, No.235), known as the

Lethal Weapons Training Act.

(3) The act of February 9, 1984 (P.L.3, No.2), known as the

Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Act.

(¢) Availability.—In accordance with subsection (b), the firearms
portion of the education and training under the listed laws shall be made
available to constables and deputy constables.

§ 2949. Restricted account.

(a) Account established.—There is hereby established a special
restricted account within the General Fund, which shall be known as the
Constables’ Education and Training Account, for the purposes of
financing training program expenses, the costs of administering the
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program and all other costs associated with the activities of the board
and the implementation of this subchapter and as, provided under
subsection (f).

(b) Surcharge.—There is hereby assessed as a cost in each case
before a magisterial district judge a surcharge of $5 per docket number
in each criminal case and $5 per named defendant in each civil case in
which a constable or deputy constable performs a service provided in
this subchapter, except that no county shall be required to pay this
surcharge on behalf of any indigent or other defendant in a criminal
case.

(c) Disposition of funds.—The surcharges collected under subsection
(b), if collected by a constable or deputy constable shall be turned over
within one week to the issuing authority. The issuing authority shall
remit the same to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the
account,

(d) Disbursements.—Disbursements from the account shall be made
by the commission.

(e) Audit.—The Auditor General shall conduct an audit of the
account as he may deem necessary or advisable from time to time, but
not less than once every three years.

() Fund surplus.—If account moneys are sufficient to meet the
expenses and costs under subsection (a), the commission may allocate
any surplus funds in the account to assist constables and deputy
constables with costs associated with attendance at continuing education
programs under section 2946 (relating to continuing education).

§ 2950. Fees.

(a) Travel or mileage.—Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle
shall be reimbursed at a rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the
Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than motor vehicle,
reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered travel expenses.

(b) Apportionment.—If more than one defendant is transported
~ simultaneously, reimbursements shall be for actual miles traveled, and
the travel cost shall be divided between or among the defendants.

(c) Additional persons.—A constable or deputy constable when he is
transporting a prisoner, serving a felony or misdemeanor warrant or
serving a warrant on a juvenile or a defendant of the opposite sex may,
at his discretion, be accompanied by a second constable or deputy
constable who is certified under section 2947 (relating to automatic
certification) to perform judicial duties. In such cases, each officer shall
receive the fee set out in this section. In all other civil, landlord-tenant
and summary criminal cases, the issuing authority may authorize
payment to a second officer. ‘

(d) Civil and landlord-tenant cases.—In civil and landlord-tenant
cases, constable fees must be paid in advance to the court for services
desired to be performed. These fees shall not be refundable to the
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plaintiff if a case is settled or a debt is satisfied less than 48 hours prior
to a scheduled sale or ejectment, in which latter case the constable or
deputy constable shall be paid for holding the sale or carrying out an
ejectment, respectively.

(¢) Payment.—All civil, landlord-tenant and criminal fees shall be
paid by the court to the constable as soon as possible and in no case not
more than 15 days in civil and landlord-tenant cases and 30 days in
criminal cases after the service is performed and a proper request for
payment is submitted, provided that, in criminal cases where the books
and accounts of the relevant county offices are payable on a monthly
basis, payment shall be made not more than 15 days after the close of the
month.

(f) Civil and landlord-tenant cases.—Fees in civil and landlord-
tenant cases shall be as follows: '

(1) For serving complaint, summons or notice on suitor or tenant,
either personally or by leaving a copy, $13, plus $5 for each
additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 for each return of
service, plus mileage.

(2) For levying goods, including schedule of property levied upon
and set aside, notice of levy and return of service, $75, plus mileage.

(3 For advertising personal property for public sale, $7 per
posting (maximum of $21), plus mileage, plus actual cost of
advertising,

(4) For selling goods levied, clerk, receipts and returns to court,
$85, plus mileage.

(5) For making return of not found, $13, plus mileage. Payment
shall be limited to three returns of not found.

(6) For executing order of possession, $13, plus $5 for each
additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 for each return of
service, plus mileage.

(7) For ejectment, $90, $2.50 for each return of service, plus
mileage.

(8) For making any return of service other than not found, $2.50
each. . '

(9) For providing courtroom security as ordered, $13 per hour,
assessed against one or more parties as determined by the court.

(10) Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be
reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the
Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than motor vehicle,
reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered travel expenses.

(g) Criminal cases.—Fees in criminal cases shall be as follows:

(1) For executing each warrant of arrest, or for effectuating the
payment of fines and costs by attempting to execute each warrant of
arrest, $25 for each docket number and $2.50 for each return of
service, plus mileage.
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(2) For taking custody of a defendant, $5 per defendant.

(3) For conveyance of defendant to or from court, $5 per
defendant.

(4) For attendance at arraignment or hearing, $13.

(5) For executing discharge, $5 per defendant.

(6) For executing commitment, $5 per defendant.

(7) For executing release, $5 per defendant.

(8) For making returns to the court, $2.50.

(9) Transporting each nonincarcerated defendant to jail, $17, plus
mileage; transporting an incarcerated prisoner, $38 per prisoner,
plus an hourly rate of $13 per hour, plus mileage. Computation of
hourly rate will apply after the expiration of the first hour per
prisoner per hour, not to exceed $26 per hour per constable.

(10) Receipt of the fees for transporting a nonincarcerated
defendant under paragraph (9) shall not exclude receipt of the fees
under paragraphs (6) and (8) for that transport.

(11) Receipt of the fees for transporting an incarcerated prisoner
under paragraph (9) shall exclude receipt of the fees under
paragraphs (2), (3), (4) and (7) for that transport.

(12)  Actual ‘mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be
reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the
Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than motor vehicle,
reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered travel expenses.

(13) For conveying defendants for fingerprinting, $17 per
defendant, plus $13 per hour beyond the first hour per defendant per
hour, not to exceed $26 per hour per constable, plus mileage.

(14) For holding one or more defendants at the office of a
magisterial district judge, $13 per hour per defendant beyond the
first half hour.

(15) For courtroom security as ordered, $13 per hour, assessed
against one or more parties as determined by the court.

(16) In all criminal cases wherein the defendant is discharged or
indigent or the case is otherwise dismissed, the court shall assess to
the county the fee provided in this section, except that in cases of
private criminal complaints wherein the defendant is discharged
prior to the indictment or the filing of any information or the case is
otherwise dismissed at the summary offense hearing, the court shall
assess the fee to the affiant.

(h) Subpoenas.—For serving district court-issued subpoenas for
civil, landlord-tenant or criminal matters, $13 for first witness, plus $5
for each additional witness at the same address, $2.50 return of service
for each subpoena, plus mileage. The same fee shall be payable for
attempting to serve a subpoena at a wrong address supplied by the party
requesting the service.
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(i) Similar fees.—For civil, landlord-tenant and criminal services not
specifically provided for, the court shall pay the same fees as it pays for
services that it determines to be similar to those performed.]

Section 1.1. Section 3733(a.l)(1)(iii), (iv) and (v) of Title 42 are
amended to read:

§ 3733. Deposits into account.

* % ¥

(a.1) Additional fees.—

(1) In addition to the court costs and filing fees authorized to be
collected by statute:

* %k %k

(ili) An additional fee of $10 shall be charged by the clerks of
courts of all courts of common pleas, or by any officials designated to
perform the functions thereof, for the initiation of any criminal
proceeding for which a fee, charge or cost is now authorized and a
conviction is obtained or guilty plea is entered. The additional fee
under this subparagraph shall also be charged and collected when a
defendant is granted entry into Accelerated Rehabilitative
Disposition or any other pretrial diversionary program.

(iv) An additional fee of $10 shall be charged and collected by the
minor judiciary, including magisterial district judges, Philadelphia
Municipal Court, Philadelphia Traffic Court and Pittsburgh
[Magistrates] Municipal Court, for the initiation of a legal proceeding
for which a fee or cost is now authorized, except that in criminal,
summary and traffic matters the fee shall be charged only when a
conviction is obtained or guilty plea is entered. The additional fee
under this subparagraph shall also be charged and collected when a
defendant is granted entry into Accelerated Rehabilitative
Disposition or any other pretrial diversionary program.

(v) Anadditional fee of $10 shall be charged and collected by the
recorders of deeds and clerks of court, or by any officials designated to
perform similar functions, for each filing of a deed, mortgage or
property transfer for which a fee, charge or cost is now authorized. The
Supreme Court shall designate by financial regulations which filings
meet the criteria of this subparagraph.

PEE

Section 1.2. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:
§3733.1. Surcharge.

(a) Imposition of surcharge.—In addition to each fee imposed under
section 3733(a.1) (relating to deposits into account), except as set forth in
subsection (b), the following apply:

(1) A surcharge of $11.25 shall be charged and collected for a
period of 25 months beginning on the effective date of this section.
(2) A permanent fee of $2.25 shall be charged and collected.
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(b) Exceptions.—Subsection (a) does not apply to a conviction or guilty
plea based on the filing of a traffic citation charging an offense under 75
Pa.C.S. (relating to vehicles) which is classified as summary under a State
statute or local ordinance as provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

(c) Allocation and appropriation.—

(1) The surcharge under subsection (a)(]) shall be allocated as

JSollows:

(i) One dollar shall be deposited into the Access to Justice

. Account.

(i) The remainder of money shall be deposited into a separate
reserve account within the Judicial Computer System Augmentation
Account. Notwithstanding section 3732 (relating to utilization of
Sunds in account), money deposited under this subparagraph is
hereby appropriated to the Supreme Court, upon compliance with
Article XV of the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.343, No.176), known as
the Fiscal Code, for the operation of the judicial department.

(2) The fee under subsection (a)(2) shall be deposited into the

Criminal Justice Enhancement Account.

Section 1.3. Chapter 53 of Title 44 is repealed:
[CHAPTER 53
RECIDIVISM RISK REDUCTION INCENTIVE

Sec.

5301. Scope of chapter.

5302. Purpose.

5303. Definitions.

5304. Recidivism risk reduction incentive programs.
5305. Sentencing.

5306. Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum,
5307. Authority of board.

5308. Written guidelines and regulations.

5309. Evaluation.

5310. Reports.

5311. Construction.

5312. Applicability.

§ 5301. Scope of chapter.

This chapter relates to recidivism risk reduction incentive.
§ 5302. Purpose.

This chapter seeks to create a program that ensures appropriate
punishment for persons who commit crimes, encourages prisoner
participation in evidence-based programs that reduce the risks of future
crime and ensures the openness and accountability of the criminal
Jjustice process while ensuring fairness to crime victims.

§ 5303. Definitions.
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The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall
have the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Board.” The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole.

“Commission.” The Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing.

“Court.,” The trial judge exercising sentencing jurisdiction over an
eligible offender under this chapter or the president judge or the
president judge’s designee if the original trial judge is no longer serving
as a judge of the sentencing court. '

“Defendant.” An individual charged with a criminal offense.

“Department.” The Department of Corrections of the
Commonwealth.

“Eligible offender.” A defendant or prisoner convicted of a criminal
offense who will be committed to the custody of the department and who
meets all of the following eligibility requirements:

(1) Does not demonstrate a history of present or past violent
behavior.

(2) Has not been subject to a sentence the calculation of which
includes an enhancement for the use of a deadly weapon as defined
under law or the sentencing guidelines promulgated by the
Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing or the attorney for the
Commonwealth has not demonstrated that the defendant has been
found guilty of or was convicted of an offense involving a deadly
weapon or offense under 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to firearms and
other dangerous articles) or the equivalent offense under the laws of
the United States or one of its territories or possessions, another state,
the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a
foreign nation.

(3) Has not been found guilty or previously: convicted or
adjudicated delinquent for or an attempt or conspiracy to commit a
personal injury crime as defined under section 103 of the act of
November 24, 1998 (P.L.882, No.111), known as the Crime Victims
Act, or an equivalent offense under the laws of the United States or
one of its territories or possessions, another state, the District of
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation.

(4) Has not been found guilty or previously convicted or
adjudicated delinquent for violating any of the following provisions
or an equivalent offense under the laws of the United States or one of
its territories or possessions, another state, the District of Columbia,
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation:

(i) 18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest).

(ii) 18 Pa.C.S. § 5901 (relating to open lewdness).

(iii) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).

(iv) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with minor).
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(v) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of
children).

(vi) 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 76 Subch. C (relating to Internet child
pornography).

(vii) Received a criminal sentence pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.

§ 9712.1 (relating to sentences for certain drug offenses committed

with firearms).

(viii) . Any offense listed under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.1 (relating to
registration).

(5) Is not awaiting trial or sentencing for additional criminal
charges, if a conviction or sentence on the additional charges would
cause the defendant to become ineligible under this definition.

(6) Has not been found guilty or previously convicted of violating
section 13(a)(14), (30) or (37) of the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233,
No.64), known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and
Cosmetic Act, where the sentence was imposed pursuant to 18
Pa.C.S. § 7508(a)(1)(iii), (2)(iii), (3)(iii), (4)(iii), (7)(iii) or (8)(iii)
(relating to drug trafficking sentencing and penalties).

“Program plan.” An individualized plan recommended by the
Department of Corrections that contains approved treatment and other
approved programs designed to reduce recidivism risk of a specific
prisoner.

§ 5304. Recidivism risk reduction incentive programs.

(a) Authorization.—Subject to the provisions of this chapter, the
department is authorized to create or otherwise designate treatment or
other programs as recidivism risk reduction incentive programs.

(b) Intent.—This chapter is intended to encourage eligible offenders
committed to the custody of the department to participate in and
successfully complete evidence-based programs under this chapter that
reduce the likelihood of recidivism and improve public safety.

(¢) Program requirements.—In accordance with the provisions of
this chapter, the department may designate a treatment program or
other program as a recidivism risk reduction incentive program-if there
is appropriate scientific research that demonstrates that the proposed
program would likely reduce overall recidivism rates or serious crime
rates of program participants. A recidivism risk reduction incentive
program designed to provide treatment in the form of a therapeutic
community for drug abuse or addiction shall meet the requirements of
an institutional therapeutic community as defined under 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 9903 (relating to definitions). :

(d) Consultation.—The department shall consult with approprlate
research and technical assistance organizations, such as the National
Institute of Justice, the National Institute of Corrections and the
American Correctional Association, concerning evidence-based
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programs that reduce recidivism risks of prisoners and the scientific
research relating to those programs.

(e) Program approval process.—

(1) The department shall publish, in a manner reasonably
calculated to inform, a detailed description of the program, the types
of offenders who will be eligible to participate in the program, the
name and citation of research reports that demonstrate the
effectiveness of the proposed program and the name and address of a
department contact person responsible for receiving public
comments. On the same date as publication, the department shall also
deliver a copy of the list to the Judiciary Committee of the Senate, the
Judiciary Committee of the House of Representatives, the board, the
commission and the victim advocate.

(2) Upon consideration of the public comments and the expiration
of at least 60 days from the date of publication required under
paragraph (1), the department may designate any program published
as approved for inclusion in the recidivism risk reduction incentive
program.

§ 5305. Sentencing.

(a) Generally.—At the time of sentencing, the court shall make a
determination whether the defendant is an eligible offender.

(b) Waiver of eligibility requirements.—The prosecuting attorney, in
the prosecuting attorney’s sole discretion, may advise the court that the
Commonwealth has elected to waive the eligibility requirements of this
chapter if the victim has been given notice of the prosecuting attorney’s
intent to waive the eligibility requirements and an opportunity to be
heard on the issue. The court, after considering victim input, may refuse
to accept the prosecuting attorney’s waiver of the eligibility
requirements.

(¢) Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum sentence.—If the
court determines that the defendant is an eligible offender or the
prosecuting attorney has waived the eligibility requirements under
subsection (b), the court shall enter a sentencing order that does all of
the following:

(1) Imposes the minimum and maximum sentences as required
under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9752 (relating to sentencing proceeding
generally).

(2) Imposes the recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum
sentence. The recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum shall be
equal to three-fourths of the minimum sentence imposed when the
minimum sentence is three years or less. The recidivism risk
reduction incentive minimum shall be equal to five-sixths of the
minimum sentence if the minimum sentence is greater than three
years. For purposes of these calculations, partial days shall be
rounded to the nearest whole day. In determining the recidivism risk
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reduction incentive minimum sentence, the aggregation provisions of

42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9757 (relating to consecutive sentences of total

confinement for multiple offenses) and 9762(d) (relating to sentencing

proceeding; place of confinement) shall apply.

(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (2), if the defendant was
previously sentenced to two or more recidivism risk reduction
incentive minimum sentences, the court shall have the discretion, with
the approval of the prosecuting attorney, to impose the recidivism
risk reduction incentive minimum sentence as provided for in
paragraph (2).

(4) Complies with all other applicable sentencing provisions,
including provisions relating to victim notification and the
opportunity to be heard.

§ 5306. Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum.

(a) Generally.—The board or its designee shall issue a decision to
parole, without further review by the board, a prisoner who has been
sentenced to a recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum sentence at
the expiration of that recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum
sentence upon a determination that all of the following apply:

(1) The department certified that it has conducted an appropriate
assessment of the treatment needs and risks of the prisoner using
nationally recognized assessment tools that have been normed and
validated. :

(2) The department has certified that it developed a program plan
based on the assessment conducted under paragraph (1) that is
designed to reduce the risk of recidivism through the use of
recidivism risk reduction incentive programs authorized and
approved under this chapter that are appropriate for that particular
prisoner.

(3) The department advised the prisoner that the prisoner is
required to successfully complete the program plan.

(4) The prisoner has successfully completed all required
recidivism risk reduction incentive programs or other programs
designated in the program plan.

(5) The prisoner has maintained a good conduct record following
the imposition of the recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum
sentence.

(6) The reentry plan for the prisoner is adequate.

(7) Individual conditions and requirements for parole have been
established.

(8) Notice and opportunity to be heard was provided by the board
to the sentencing court and the prosecuting attorney in a manner
consistent with section 21(b.2) of the act of August 6, 1941 (P.L.861,
No0.323), referred to as the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole Law.
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(9) The department has certified that the prisoner continues to be
an eligible offender. In the event that a recidivism risk reduction
minimum sentence was imposed under section 5305(b) (relating to
sentencing), the department certifies that it has not received
additional information demonstrating a history of past or present
violent behavior which was not available at the time of sentencing
and the prosecuting attorney was unaware of that information at the
time of sentencing.

(10) There is no reasonable indication that the prisoner poses a
risk to public safety.

(b) Funding.—The department shall make all reasonable efforts to
seek appropriate funding and resources in order to implement the
recidivism risk reduction program.

(¢) Program content.—Nothing in this section shall do any of the
following: :

(1) Require the department to include recidivism risk reduction
programs in an individual program plan where the risk assessment
indicates that such a program is unhkely to reduce recidivisin for that
particular prisoner.

) Prohibit the department from 1nclud1ng appropriate
community works or public service projects as part of the program
plan.

(3) .Prohibit the department from making modifications to the
program plan at any time in order to ensure appropriate treatment
and recidivism risk reduction incentive program placement.

(d) Adjudication.—Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as
granting a right to be paroled to any person, and any decision by the
board and its designees or the department, under this section, shall not
be considered an adjudication under 2 Pa.C.S. Ch. 5§ Subch. A (relating
to practice and procedure of Commonwealth agencies) and Ch. 7 Subch.
A (relating to judicial review of Commonwealth agency action).-

§ 5307. Authority of board.

If a prisoner has been sentenced by a court to a recidivism risk
reduction incentive minimum sentence and the prisoner is not paroled
under this chapter, the board shall have exclusive authority to grant
parole. Except as otherwise provided under this chapter, the board shall
retain its power and authority to parole, commit and reparole prisoners
committed to the department.

§ 5308. Written guidelines and regulations.

The department, upon consultation with the board, shall develop
written interim guidelines to assist in the implementation of the
provisions of this chapter. The interim guidelines shall not be subject to
the requirements of the act of June 25, 1982 (P.L.633, No.181), known as
the Regulatory Review Act, and shall be effective for a period of two
years after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The interim
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guidelines shall be replaced by regulations promulgated by the
department consistent with the Regulatory Review Act on or before the
date of expiration of the interim guidelines.

§ 5309. Evaluation.

The department, the board and the commission shall monitor and
evaluate the recidivism risk reduction incentive programs. Evaluations
under this section should be scientifically rigorous and seek to determine
the effectiveness of the programs, including whether specific recidivism
risk reduction incentive programs have reduced the recidivism rates of
the program participants as compared to previously incarcerated and
similarly situated prisoners. The department, the board and the
commission shall make evaluations conducted under this section and
underlying data available to the public. The publicly available data and
evaluations shall comply with generally accepted practices of the
research community, including expectations relating to subject privacy
and identifying information.

§ 5310. Reports. B

(a) Recidivism risk reduction.—The department, the board and the
commission shall monitor and evaluate the recidivism risk reduction
incentive programs to ensure that the goals and objectives of this
chapter are met. Reports to the General Assembly shall be as follows:

(1) In odd-numbered years, the department shall present a report
of its evaluation to the Judiciary Committee of the Senate and the
Judiciary Committee of the House of Representatives no later than
February 1. The report shall include all of the following:

(i) The number of offenders determined by the department to
be eligible offenders under this chapter and the offenses for which
the offenders were committed to the custody of the department.

(ii) The number of prisoners committed to the custody of the
department who were subject to a recidivism risk reduction
incentive minimum sentence.

(iii)y The number of prisoners paroled at the recidivism risk
reduction incentive minimum date.

(iv) Any potential changes that would make the program more
effective.

(\2] The six-month, one-year, three-year and five-year
recidivism rates for prisoners released at the recidivism risk
reduction incentive minimum sentence.

(vi) Any other information the department deems relevant.

(2) In even-numbered years, the commission shall present a report
of its evaluation to the Judiciary Committee of the Senate and the
Judiciary Committee of the House of Representatives no later than
February 1. The report shall include all of the following:

(i) Whether the goals of this chapter could be achieved through

- amendments to parole or sentencing guidelines.
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(ii) The various options for parole or sentencing guidelines
under subparagraph (i).

(ili) The status of any proposed or implemented guidelines
designed to implement the provisions of this chapter.

(iv) Any potential changes to the program that would be likely
to reduce the risk of recidivism of prisoners and improve public
safety.

(v) Any other information the commission deems relevant.

(b) Educational plan.—The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and
Delinquency shall publish a report of a proposed educational program
plan within one year of the effective date of this section. The proposed
educational program plan shall be developed in consultation with the
department, commission, board, the Pennsylvania District Attorneys
Association, the victim advocate and representatives of the judiciary and
the criminal defense bar and other criminal justice stakeholders. The
plan shall seek to provide cost-effective training or information through
electronic means, publications or continuing educational programs that
address the following topics:

(1) The treatment programs available through the board and the
department.

(2) The availability of programs and eligibility requirements that
can reduce recidivism risk, including State intermediate punishment,
the motivational boot camp and recidivism risk reduction incentives
programs.

(3) The calculation of sentencing credit and practices that could
inadvertently prevent an inmate from receiving sentence credit.

(4) Recent statutory changes relating to sentencing, place of
confinement, medical releases, transfer of inmates and parole.

§ 5311. Construction.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, this chapter shall not be
construed to do any of the following:

(1) Confer any legal right upon any individual, including an
individual participating in or seeking to participate in a recidivism
risk reduction incentive program, to do any of the following:

(i) Participate in a recidivism risk reduction incentive program.

(ii) Continue participation in a recidivism risk reduction
incentive program, :

(ili) Modify the contents of the recidivisin risk reduction
incentive program.

(iv) File any cause of action in any Federal or State court
challenging the department’s determination that a participant be
suspended or expelled from or that a 'participant has successfully
completed or failed to successfully complete any recidivism risk
reduction incentive program.
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(2) Confer any legal right on any individual to be released on
parole under this act.
(3) Enlarge or limit the right of a- participant to appeal the
participant’s sentence.
§ 5312. Applicability.
This chapter shall apply to persons incarcerated under the
supervision of the department.]
Section 2. Title 44 is amended by adding a part to read;

PART IV
OTHER OFFICERS
Chapter
71. Constables
CHAPTER 71
CONSTABLES
Subchapter
A. Preliminary Provisions
B. Election
C. Appointment
D. Conflicts
E. Training
F. Powers and Duties
G. Compensation
H. Penalties and Remedies
SUBCHAPTER A
PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS
Sec.

7101. Scope of chapter.
7102. Definitions.

7103. Cities of the first class.
§ 7101. Scope of chapter.

-This chapter relates to constables.
§ 7102. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have
the meanings given to them in this section .unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise: '

“Livestock.” Cattle, horses, sheep, goats and swine of every age and
sex.

§ 7103. Cities of the first class.
As of February 10, 1970, the office of constable is abolished in cities of
the first class, and the terms of office of incumbents are terminated.
SUBCHAPTER B
ELECTION
Sec.
7111. Term of office.
7112. Cities of the second and third classes.
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7113. Boroughs.
7114. Townships.
§7111. Term of office.

The term of a constable in a city of the second class, city of the second
class A, city of the third class, borough, incorporated town or township is
six years. :

§ 7112. Cities of the second and third classes.

The qualified voters of each ward in a city of the second or third class
shall elect a properly qualified person for constable in each-ward.
§ 7113. Boroughs.

(a) General rule—Except as provided in subsection (b), the qualified
voters of every borough shall vote for and elect a properly qualified person
Sfor constable. '

(b) Boroughs divided into wards.—The qualified voters of every
borough divided into wards shall vote for and elect a properly qualified
person for constable in each ward and a properly constable for high
constable in the borough.

§ 7114. Townships.

(a) Election.—The following shall apply:

(1) The qualified voters of every township shall vote for and elect a
properly qualified person for constable.

(2) The qualified electors of each township of the first class may
vote for and elect a properly qualified person to serve as constable, in
addition to the constable elected under paragraph (1).

(b) Procedure upon election; penalty.—Every person elected to the
office of constable in a township shall appear in court on the first day of
the next court of common pleas of the same county to accept or decline the
office. A person who neglects or refuses to appear, after having been duly
notified of the election, shall forfeit to the township the sum of 340 to be
levied by order of the court.

(¢) Bond.—The bond given by a constable in a township shall be in a
sum not less than $500 nor more than 33,000, as the court shall direct, and
shall be taken by the clerk of the court in the name of the Commonwealth,
with conditions for just and faithful discharge by the constable of the
duties of office. The bond shall be held in trust for the use and benefit of
persons who may sustain injury by reason of neglect of duty, and for the
same purposes and uses as a sheriff’s bond.

SUBCHAPTER C
APPOINTMENT
Sec.
7121. Constables.
7122. Deputy constables.
§ 7121. Constables.

When a vacancy occurs in the office of constable, regardless of the

reason for the vacancy, the.court of common pleas of the county of the
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vacancy, upon petition of not less than ten qualified electors residing in the
borough, city, ward or township of the vacancy, shall appoint a suitable
person, who, upon being qualified as required by law, shall serve as the
constable for the unexpired term of the vacancy.

§ 7122. Deputy constables. i

(a) General rule—Sole power to appoint deputy constables in a ward,
borough or township is vested in the constable of the ward, borough or
township, subject to approval of the court of common pleas under
subsection (b). No person shall be appointed as a deputy constable unless,
at the time of appointment, he is a bona fide resident of the ward, borough
or township for which he is appointed and he.continues to be a bona fide
resident for the duration of the appointment.

(b) Court approval and qualifications.—

(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2), no deputy shall be
appointed, either by general or partial deputization, without
approbation of the court of common pleas of the county, except for
special appointments in a civil suit or proceeding, at the request and
risk of the plaintiff or his agent. If a deputy no longer resides in, or
ceases to be a qualified elector of, the ward in which he was appointed
to serve, the court of common pleas may revoke the appointment of the
deputy upon petition of five duly qualified electors of the ward and
proof of facts requiring revocation. ;

(2) In the event of a deputy’s death or mabllnjy or refusal to act, the
constable of a township may, with approbation of the court of common
pleas of the county where the deputy served, appoint another deputy
who shall have full authority to act until the next regular session of
court. The constable and his surety shall be liable for acts of the deputy
as in other cases. The constable shall file a written copy of the
deputization in the office of the clerk of courts of the county where the
constable serves.

(c) Certain provisions relating to boroughs unaffected.—This section
does not affect the provisions of section 14 of the act of June 28, 1923
(P.L.903, No.348), entitled “A supplement to an act, approved the
Jfourteenth day of May, one thousand nine hundred and fifteen (Pamphlet
Laws, three hundred and twelve), entitled ‘An act providing a system for
government of boroughs, and revising, amending, and consolidating the
law relating to boroughs’; so as to provide a system of government where a
borough now has annexed or hereafter shall annex land in an adjoining
county, including assessment of property, levying and collection of taxes,
making municipal improvements, and filing and collecting of liens for the
same; the jurisdiction of courts for the enforcement of borough ordinances
and State laws, and primary, general, mumczpal and special elections; and
repealing inconsistent laws.”

SUBCHAPTER D
CONFLICTS
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Sec.

7131. Public office.

7132. Police officers.

§ 7131. Public office. :

(a) General rule—Except as set forth in subsection (b), it shall be
unlawful for a constable to hold or exercise the office of magisterial
district judge or alderman.

(b) Exceptions.—Nothing in this section or in any other law or court
rule shall be construed to prohibit a constable from:

(1) being an officer of a political body or political party as those
terms are defined in the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), known
as the Pennsylvania Election Code;

(2) holding the office of a national, State or county committee of a
political party;

(3) running for and holding an elective office; or

(4) participating in election-day activities.

§ 7132. Police officers.

(a) Constable employed as policeman not to accept other fees in
addition to salary.—Except for public rewards and legal mileage allowed
to a constable for traveling expenses, and except as provided in subsection
(b), it is unlawful for a constable who is also employed as a policeman to
charge or accept a fee or other compensation, other than his salary as a
policeman, for services rendered or performed pertaining to his office or
duties as a policeman or constable.

(b) Exception.—Unless prevented from doing so by the operation of the
civil service provisions of the act of February 1, 1966 (1965 P.L.1656,
No.581), known as The Borough Code, borough policemen who reside in
the borough may hold and exercise the office of constable in the borough,
or in any ward thereof, and receive all costs, fees and emoluments
pertaining to such office.

SUBCHAPTER E
TRAINING
Sec.
7141. Definitions.
7142. Conduct and insurance.
7143. Board established.
7144. Program established.
7145. Program contents.
7146. Continuing education.
7147. (Reserved).
7148. Use of firearms.
7149. Restricted account.
§ 7141. Definitions.
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. The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall
have the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise: :

“Account.”  The Constables’ Education and Training Account
established in section 7149 (relating to restricted account).

“Board.” The Constables’ Education and Training Board established
in section 7143 (relating to board established).

“Commission.”  The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and
Delinquency of the Commonwealth.

“Court.” The minor judiciary or any other court in this
Commonwealth.

“Judicial duties.” Those services specified in section 7161 (relating to
fees).

“Term of office of a deputy constable.” The term of office of the
constable who appointed him.

§ 7142. Conduct and insurance.

(a)  Certification.—After the establishment, implementation and
administration of the Constables’ Education and Training Program
created under sections 7144 (relating to program established) and 7145
(relating to program contents), no constable or deputy constable shall
perform any judicial duties nor demand or receive any fee, surcharge or
mileage provided by this subchapter unless he has been certified under this
subchapter.

(b) Liability insurance.—Every constable and deputy constable must
file with the clerk of courts proof that he has, currently in force, a policy of
professional liability insurance covering . each individual in the
performance of his judicial duties with a minimum coverage of 3250,000
per incident and a minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year. The
Constables’ Education and Training Board shall immediately investigate
and implement the most cost-effective method of achieving liability
insurance for constables and deputy constables under this subsection.

(c) Loss of certification.—Any constable or deputy constable who fails,
neglects or refuses to maintain a current insurance policy as required by
subsection (b) or to file proof thereof with the clerk of courts shall cease
automatically to be certified to perform judicial duties upon the expiration
of the policy of which proof has been filed with the clerk of courts.

(d) Recertification.—Any constable or deputy constable who ceases to
be certified to perform judicial duties as a result of the operation of
subsection (c) may later be recertified immediately by filing with the clerk
of courts proof that such insurance has been in force continuously since
the officer was last certified to perform judicial duties. In the case of a
violation of subsection (c), the individual may be recertified by complying
with subsection (b).

(e) Limitations on liability.—The provisions of this subchapter shall
not be deemed to impose respondeat superior liability on any-county.
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(® Conduct—While a constable or deputy. constable is performing
duties other than judicial duties, regardless of whether or not he-is certified
under this subchapter, he shall not in any manner hold himself out to be
active as an agent, employee or representative of any court, magisterial
district judge or judge.

§ 7143. Board established.

(a) Board created.—There is established within the commission an
advisory board to be known as the Constables Education and Training
Board.

(b) Composition.—The board shall be composed of the Pennsylvama
State Police Commissioner or his designee and six other members
appointed by the Governor with the consent of a majority of the members
of the Senate:

(1) Three persons who shall be constables.

(2) One person who shall be a magisterial district judge.
(3) One person who shall be a court administrator.

(4) One person who shall be a county commissioner.

(¢) Appointments and terms.—Members shall serve for three-year
terms and may be appointed for more than one additional consecutive
term. If a member who serves by virtue of public office ceases to represent
the class to which he was appointed, his membership in the commission
shall terminate immediately, and a new member shall be appointed in the
same manner as his predecessor to fill the unexpired portion of the term.
No constable may be appointed, be reappointed or serve as a board
member unless he is certified under this subchapter.

(d) Vacancy.—A member appointed to fill a vacancy created by any
reason other than expiration of a term shall be appointed for the unexpired
term of the member whom he is to succeed in the same manner as the
original appointment. :

(e) Expenses.—The members - of the board shall serve without
compensation but shall be reimbursed the necessary and actual expenses
incurred in attending meetings of the board and in the performance of
their duties under this subchapter.

() Removal—Members of the board may be removed by. the
appointing authority for good cause upon written notice from the
appointing authority specifically setting forth the cause for removal.

(g¢) Chairman elected—The members of the board shall elect a
chairman from among the members to serve for a period of one year. A
chairman may be elected to serve successive terms.. The Governor shall
designate the first chairman for organizational purposes only.

(h) Meetings.—The board shall meet as often as it deems necessary but
at least four times each year. Meetings may be called by the chairman of
the board or by any four members thereof, in either case upon at least ten
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days’ written notice to all members of the board. A quorum shall consist of
JSour members.
§ 7144. Program established.

The board, with the review and approval of fhe commission, shall:

(1) Establish, implement and administer the Constables’ Education
and Training Program according to the minimum requirements set
Jorth in this subchapter.

(2)  Establish, implement and administer requtrements JSor the
minimum courses of study and training for constables and deputy
constables.

(3) Establish, implement and admtmster requirements for courses of
study and in-service training for constables and deputy constables.

(4)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for a
continuing education program for constables and deputy constables
concerning subjects the board may deem necessary and appropriate for
the continued education and training of constables and deputy
constables.

(5) Approve or revoke the approval of any school which may be
utilized for the educational and trammg requirements of this
subchapter.

(6) Establish the minimum qualifications for instructors and certify
instructors. S

(7) Consult, cooperate and contract with universities, colleges, law
schools, community colleges and institutes for the development of basic
and continuing education courses for constables and deputy-eonstables,

(8) Promote the most efficient and. economical program for
constable and deputy constable training by utilizing existing facilities,
programs and qualified State and local personnel.

(9) Certify constables and deputy constables who have satisfactorily
completed the basic and continuing . education and training
requirements of this subchapter and issue appropriate certificates to
them.

(10) Make rules and regulattons and perform other duttes as may be
reasonably necessary or appropriate to administer the education and
training program for constables and deputy constables.

(11) In consultation with the Insurance Commissioner, monitor the
price and availability of the liability. insurance required by section
7142(b) (relating to conduct and insurance) and, if deemed necessary
by the board, provide information -and coordination to assure the
availability and competitive pricing of such insurance.

(12) Make an annual report to the Governor and to the General
Assembly concerning: : :

(i) The administration of the Constables Education and Training

Program. i

(ii) The activities of the board.
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(iii) The costs of the program.
(iv) Proposed changes, if any, in this subchapter.
§ 7145. Program contents.

The Constables’ Education and Training Program shall include
training for a total of 80 hours, the content of which shall be determined
by regulation. The training shall include instruction in the interpretation
and application of the fees provided for in section 7161 (relating to fees).

§ 7146. Continuing education. '

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, shall
establish a mandatory continuing education program for constables and
deputy constables, which shall include no more than 40 hours per year,
concerning subjects the board may deem necessary and appropriate for the
continued education and training of constables and deputy constables.

§ 7147. (Reserved). -
§ 7148. Use of firearms.

The Constables’ Education and Training Board, with the review and
approval of the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency,
shall establish standards for the certification or qualification of constables
and deputy constables to carry or use firearms in the performance of any
duties.

§ 7149. Restricted account.

(a) Account established.—There is established a special restricted
account within the General Fund, which shall be known as the Constables’
Education and Training Account, for the purposes of financing training
program expenses, the costs of administering the program and all other
costs associated with the activities of the board and the implementation of
this subchapter and as provided under subsection (f). -

(b) Surcharge.—There is assessed as a cost in each case before a
magisterial district judge a surcharge of $5 per docket number in each
criminal case and $5 per named defendant in each civil case in which a
constable or deputy constable performs a service provided in Subchapter G
(relating to compensation), except that no county shall be required to pay
this surcharge on behalf of any indigent or other.defendant in a criminal
case. : '

(c) Disposition of funds.—The surcharges collected under subsection
(b), if collected by a constable or deputy constable, shall be turned over
within one week to the issuing authority. The issuing authority shall remit
the same to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the account.

(d) Disbursements.—Disbursements from the account shall be made by
the commission.

(e) Audit—The Auditor General shall conduct an audit of the account
as he may deem necessary or advisable, from time to time, but not less than
once every three years.

(®» Fund surplus.—If account money are sufficient to meet the
expenses and costs under subsection (a), the commission may allocate any
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surplus funds in the account to assist constables and deputy constables
with costs associated with attendance at continuing education programs
under section 7146 (relating to continuing education).

SUBCHAPTER F

POWERS AND DUTIES

Sec.
7151. General imposition of duties and grant of powers.
7152. Elections. ‘
7153. Service of process.
7154. Collection of taxes.
7155. Arrest of offenders against forest laws.
7156. Executions.
7157. Returns and appearance.
7158. Arrest in boroughs.
7159. Trespassing livestock.
7159.1. Sale of trespassing livestock.
§ 7151. General imposition of duties and grant of powers.

Constables shall perform all duties authorized or imposed on them by
statute. )
§ 7152. Elections.

The constable of a borough, township or ward, or his deputy, shall do
all of the following:

(1) Be present at the polling place in each election district of the
borough, township or ward at each election during the continuance of
each election and while the votes are being counted, for the purpose of
preserving the peace.

(2) Serve at all elections.

§ 7153. Service of process.

If no coroner is in commission to serve process in a suit instituted in a
court of this Commonwealth in which the sheriff of a county may be a
party, a constable in the county where the process has been issued may
serve as the coroner and perform the authorized duties of the coroner.

§ 7154. Collection of taxes.

(a) Bond.—It shall be unlawful for a tax collector to do any of the
Sfollowing:

(1) Give a warrant against delinquent tax payers to a constable
unless the constable has given security by bond and warrant, with two
sufficient sureties and to the satisfaction of the court of common pleas,
in the sum of 35,000.

(2) Give a constable, at any one time, warrants for a greater amount
of taxes than the amount of the bond required under paragraph (1).

(b) Report and payment.—A constable shall make a report and
payment of all collections on warrants under subsection (a) at least once in
every week after the warrants have been issued.
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(¢c) Interest—In addition to any commissions that may be imposed for
the collection of taxes, all taxes remaining unpaid on the first day of
January after the year for which they were assessed shall accrue interest
until they are paid.

§ 7155. Arrest of offenders against forest laws.

If a person is detected by a constable in the act of trespassing upon any
Jforest or timber land within this Commonwealth, under circumstances as
to warrant reasonable suspicion that the person has, is or may commit an
offense against any law for the protection of forests and timber land, the
constable may, without first procuring a warrant, arrest the person.

§ 7156. Executions. .

(a) Debt, interests and costs.—The debt, interest and costs of a writ of
execution delivered to a constable shall be entered into the docket of a
magisterial district court and on the back of the writ of execution. A
constable may not be discharged from the writ of execution unless he
provides to the magisterial district judge on or before the return day of the
writ of execution the receipt of the plaintiff or any other legally sufficient
return.

(b) Invalid returns.—If a constable makes a false return, does not
produce the plaintiff’s receipt on the return day or makes a return deemed
insufficient by the magisterial district judge, the magisterial district judge
shall issue a summons to the constable to appear on the designated day,
which may not be more than eight days from the date of issuance, to show
cause why a writ of execution should not be issued against the constable
for the amount of the writ of. execution under subsection (a). If the
constable does not appear or does not show sufficient cause why the writ of
execution should not be issued against him, the magisterial district judge
shall enter judgment against the constable for the amount of the writ of
execution under subsection (a) with costs. No stay may be entered upon the
writ of execution, and, upon application of the plaintiff or his agent, the
magisterial district judge shall issue an execution against the constable for
the amount of the judgment, which may be directed to an authorized
person. The summons under this subsection shall be issued to an
authorized person to serve. If the summons is not served, that person shall
pay a fine of $20. If an authorized person cannot be conveniently found to
serve the summons, the magisterial district judge shall direct it to the
supervisor of the highways of the township, ward or district where the
constable resides, who' shall serve the summons or pay a penalty of $20.

(¢) Insolvent debtors.—Nothing in this section shall affect proceedings
regarding insolvent debtors and their discharge on a full surrender of their
property.

§ 7157. Returns and appearance.

Leg,

whose” in enrolled bill.
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(a) Returns.—In a county of the sixth, seventh or eighth class, a
constable is not required to make a return, if required by law, to the court
of common pleas if the constable has no mformatwn to impart in the
return.

(b) Appearance.—A court may summon a constable to appear before it
and direct the constable to investigate a complaint of a violation of law or
of a condition which a constable is required to report to the court and to
make a report of his investigation.

§ 7158. Arrest in boroughs.

In addition to any other powers granted under law, a constable of a
borough shall, without warrant and upon view, arrest and commit for
hearing any person who:

(1) Is guilty of a breach of the peace, vagrancy, riotous or disorderly
conduct or drunkenness.

(2) May be engaged in the commission of any unlawful act tending
to imperil the personal security or endanger the property of thecitizens.

(3) Violates any ordinance of the borough for which a fine or
penalty is imposed. :

§ 7159. Trespassing livestock.

(a) In general—An owner or tenant of an enclosed or unenclosed,
improved land in this Commonwealth who discovers trespassing livestock
shall notify the constable of the township, borough or ward in which the
improved land lies. If the constable of the township, borough or ward is
unavailable or unable to assist, the owner or tenant shall notify the
constable of the county. The following shall apply:

(1) The constable shall impound the livestock either with the owner
or tenant of the land if the owner, and the tenant if one exists, agrees. or
with another individual or entity that the constable may deem best
situated to care for the livestock.

(2)- All reasonable costs of keeping the livestock shall be part of the
costs of care.

(b) Notification.—The owner of the livestock shall be notified in the
Sfollowing manner:

(1) If the owner is known and resides within the county where the
trespass has been committed, the constable shall give written notice to
the owner that the livestock has been impounded, the location of the
livestock and the name of the owner of the land where the livestock
trespassed. Notice shall be given within 24 hours of impounding in
accordance with the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure.

(2) Ifthe owner is known but does not reside in the county where the
trespass has been committed, the constable shall give written notice to
the owner that the livestock has been impounded, the location of the
livestock and the name of the owner of the land where the livestock
trespassed, Notice shall be served within 24 hours of impounding by
registered mail.
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(c) Payment.—If, within four days of receiving notice, the owner of the
trespassing livestock pays for the cost of the damage to the land, the costs
of care and the fee for the constable, the livestock shall be returned to the
owner within three days after receiving payment.

(d) Refusal—If the owner fails to pay the costs and fees w:thm Sour
days, the constable shall notify the magisterial district judge of the county
where the trespass was committed. The magisterial district judge shall then
direct three disinterested owners of land in the locale where the damage
occurred to inspect the trespass, value and appraise the damage. The three
shall then consider the appraisal, value and costs of care and make a
report to the magisterial district judge within five days
§ 7159.1. Sale of trespassing livestock.

(a) Process.—If the owner of the livestock fails to pay for the costs,
damages and fees within one day of the filing of the report of the
appraisers, the livestock shall be sold at a public sale. The followmg shall
apply:

(1) The livestock must be described with particularity-in a printed or
written advertisement. The following shall apply:

(i) The advertisement must be posted at six of the most public
places in the locale of the damaged property.

(ii} The advertisement must set forth a place and time of public
sale of the livestock.

(2) At the named time and place, the livestock shall be sold to the
highest bidder unless at any time prior to the sale the owner of the
livestock shall pay all costs, damages and fees or has begun an action
Jor replevin against the owner of the land.

(3) The constable shall remit a written report of the sale and all
money realized from the sale of the livestock to the magisterial district
judge. The following shall apply:

(i) The magisterial district judge shall pay the costs and damages
to the land owner.

(ii) Not less than three, nor more than four, months after the sale,
the magisterial district judge shall remit any surplus to the county
treasurer in the county where the damage occurred.

(iii} The owner of the livestock shall have the right to submit
proof of ownership to the magisterial district judge or the county
treasurer at any time within two years of the sale to claim any
surplus of the sale.

(4) 1If the sale results in a deficit, the payment shall be made as
Sfollows:

- (i) First, the costs shall be paid in full or divided pro rata among
the constable, magisterial district judge, the appraisers and the cost
of care.

(ii) After the costs are paid in full, the remaining amount shall be
paid to the owner of the land for any damage sustained.
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(b) Redemption.—The owner of livestock impounded under this section
shall have the right, at any time before the livestock are sold, te pay all the
costs accrued and the amount of damages awarded in the appraisement in
section 7159 (relating to trespassing livestock) and to recover the livestock.

(c) Replevin.—The owner may also recover the impounded livestock, at
any time before the livestock are sold, through a successful action of
replevin. The following shall apply:

(1) The action for replevin must be on the condition that the owner
of the livestock pay all damages and fees, including:

() Amount of damages sustained by the land owner.

(ii) Costs of care.

(iii) Fees to the constable, magisterial district judge and the three
disinterested appraisers.

(2) The damages and fees shall be itemized by costs, damages and
Jees. '

(3) If a jury or the appraisers determine that the harm to the owner
of the livestock was greater than the harm to the owner of the land, the
owner of the livestock must still pay the costs and fees, but not to the
attorney for the owner of the land.

(4) If a jury or the appraisers determine that the harm to the owner
of the land is greater than the harm to the owner of the livestock, the
court shall require the owner of the livestock to pay a reasonable fee to
the attorney for the owner of the land.

SUBCHAPTER G
COMPENSATION
Sec. .
7161. Fees.
7161.1. Specific fees.
7162. Returns.
7163. Election services.
7164. Impounding, selling and viewing fees.
7165. Seizure fees.
7166. Returns to court.
§7161. Fees.

(a) Travel or mileage.—Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle
shall be reimbursed at a rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the
Internal Revenue Service. If travel occurs by a mode other than motor
vehicle, reimbursement shall be for the vouchered travel expenses.

(b) Apportionment.—If more than one defendant is transported
simultaneously, reimbursements shall be for miles traveled, and the travel
cost shall be divided between or among the defendants.

(c) Additional persons.—A constable or deputy constable when he is
transporting a prisoner, serving a felony or misdemeanor warrant or
serving a warrant on a juvenile or a defendant of the opposite sex may, at
his discretion, be accompanied by a second constable or deputy constable
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who is certified under section 7147 (relating to automatic certification) to
perform judicial duties. In those cases, each officer shall receive the fee set
out in this section. In all other civil, landlord-tenant and summary
criminal cases, the issuing authority may authorize payment to a second
officer.

(d) Civil and landlord-tenant cases.—In civil and landlord-tenant
cases, constable fees must be paid in advance to the court for services
desired to be performed. These fees shall not be refundable to the plaintiff
if a case is settled or a debt is satisfied less than 48 hours prior to a
scheduled sale or ejectment. In the latter case, the constable or deputy
constable shall be paid for holding the sale or carrying out an ejectment,
respectively.

(e) Payment.—All civil, landlord-tenant and criminal fees shall be paid
by the court to the constable as soon as possible and in no case not more
than 15 days in civil and landlord-tenant cases and 30 days in criminal
cases after the service is performed and a proper request for payment is
submitted, provided that, in criminal cases where the books and accounts
of the relevant county offices are payable on a monthly basis, payment
shall be made not more than 15 days after the close of the month.

() Civil and landlord-tenant cases.—Fees in civil and landlord-tenant
cases shall be as follows:

(1) For serving complaint, summons or notice on suitor or tenant,
either personally or by leaving a copy, 313, plus 85 for each additional
defendant at the same address, 82.50 for each return of service, plus
mileage.

(2) For levying goods, including schedule of property levied upon
and set aside, notice of levy and return of service, 375, plus mileage.

(3) For advertising personal property for public sale, $7 per posting,
with a maximum 321 fee, plus mileage, plus the cost of advertising.

(4) For selling goods levied, receipts and returns to court, 385, plus
mileage.

(5) For making return of not found, $13, plus mileage. Payment
shall be limited to three returns of not found.

(6) For executing order of possession, 313, plus $5 for each
additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 for each return of
service, plus mileage.

(7) For ejectment, 390, 32.50 for each return of service, plus
mileage.

(8) For making any return of service other than not found, $2.50
each.

(9) For providing courtroom security as ordered, 313 per hour,
assessed against one or more parties as determined by the court.

(10) Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be reimbursed
at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the Internal Revenue
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Service. If travel is by other than motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be
Jor vouchered travel expenses. '
(g) Criminal cases.—Fees in criminal cases shall be as follows:

(1) For executing each warrant of arrest or for effectuating the
payment of fines and costs by attempting to execute each warrant of
arrest, 325 for each docket number and 32.50 for each return of
service, plus mileage.

(2) For taking custody of a defendant, 35 per defendant.

(3) For conveyance of defendant to or from court, $5 per defendant.

(4) For attendance at arraignment or hearing, $13.

(5) For executing discharge, 85 per defendant.

(6) For executing commitment, $5 per defendant.

(7) For executing release, $5 per defendant.

(8) For making returns to the court, 32.50.

(9) Transporting each nonincarcerated defendant to jail, $17, plus
mileage; transporting an incarcerated prisoner, 838 per prisoner, plus
an hourly rate of 313 per hour, plus mileage. Computation of hourly
rate will apply after the expiration of the first hour per prisoner per
hour, not to exceed $26 per hour per constable.

(10)  Receipt of the fees for transporting a nonincarcerated
defendant under paragraph (9) shall not exclude receipt of the fees
under paragraphs (6) and (8) for that transport.

(11) Receipt of the fees for transporting an incarcerated prisoner
under paragraph (9) shall exclude receipt of the fees under paragraphs
(2), (3), (4) and (7) for the transport.

(12) Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be reimbursed
at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by the Internal Revenue
Service. If travel is by other than motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be
Jfor vouchered travel expenses.

(13)  For conveying defendants for fingerprinting, 317 per
defendant, plus $13 per hour beyond the. first hour per defendant per
hour, not to exceed 326 per hour per constable, plus mileage.

(14) For holding one or more defendants at the office of a
magisterial district judge, 313 per hour per defendant beyond the first
half hour.

(15) For courtroom security as ordered, $13 per hour, assessed
against one or more parties as determined by the court.

(16) In all criminal cases wherein the defendant is discharged or
indigent or the case is otherwise dismissed, the court shall assess to the
county the fee provided in this section, except that, in cases of private
criminal complaints where the defendant is discharged prior to the
indictment or the filing of any information or the case is otherwise
dismissed at the summary offense hearing, the court shall assess the fee
to the affiant.
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(h) Subpoenas.—For serving district court-issued subpoenas for civil,
landlord-tenant or criminal matters, $13 for first witness, plus $5 for each
additional witness at the same address, $32.50 return of service for each
subpoena, plus mileage. The same fee shall be payable for attempting to
serve a subpoena at a wrong address supplied by the party requesting the
service.

(i) Similar fees.—For civil, landlord-tenant and criminal services not
specifically provided for, the court shall pay the same fees as it pays for
services that it determines to be similar to those performed.

§ 7161.1. Specific fees.

(a) Court appearances and returns.—For attendance on court and
making returns, the fees to be received by constables shall be $2.50 per
day.

(b) Notices of election.—For serving notices of their election upon
township or borough officers, the fees to be received by constables shall be
30.15 for each service.

(¢) Juvenile matters.—Constables shall .receive the same fees for
serving writs in juvenile cases as they receive for similar services in
criminal cases.

§ 7162. Returns. ‘

The returns required by law to be made by constables to the court of
common pleas may, at the discretion of the court, be abolished, or be made
at times and relating to subjects as the court may require. No constable
shall be entitled to fees or mileage for making a return, except as required
by the court.

§ 7163. Election services.

For services performed under section 7152 (relating to elections), the
constables and deputies performing the services shall receive the same
compensation payable to inspectors and clerks under section 412.2(a) of
the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), known as the Pennsylvania
Election Code. The compensation shall be paid by the county, and the sum
shall include pay for serving notices in writing to persons elected at the
election. :

§ 7164. Impounding, selling and viewing fees.

(a) Impounding and selling.—The fees collected by the constable for
impounding an animal shall be $1 and $2 for each animal sold, provided
that' the fees of the constable for impounding and selling amount to not
more than $4. The fees of the magisterial district judge shall be 31 for each
case, without regard to the number of animals impounded, for all cases
where no sale is made and 33 for all cases where a sale is made.

(b) Viewing.—The fees for each viewer appointed to assess the
damages shall be $1 for the first hour and 3.50 per hour for each hour
necessarily engaged after the first hour.

'“provided the” in enrolled bill.
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§ 7165. Seizure fees.

(a) Registration plates and cards.—If constables and deputy constables
are delegated authority to seize registration plates and registration cards
under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1376(b)(5) (relating to surrender of registration plates
and cards upon suspension or revocation), they shall be compensated by
the department at the rate of 315 for each registration plate and card
Jointly seized, plus mileage.- The department shall pay a constable or
deputy constable within 30 days after a documented request for payment is
submitted to it.

(b) Drivers’ licenses.—If constables and deputy constables are
delegated authority to seize drivers’ licenses. under 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1540(c)(1)(v) (relating to surrender of license), they shall be
compensated by the department at the rate of $15 for each driver’s license
seized, plus mileage. The department shall pay a constable or deputy
constable within 30 days after a documented request is submitted to it.

§ 7166. Returns to court.

(a) Scope of section.—This section shall apply to counties of the sixth,
seventh and eighth class.

(b) Requirements.—No compensation for making a return to court
shall be paid to a constable unless he has appeared in court and presented
his return containing information required by the court, at the regular time
fixed by law for making the return.

SUBCHAPTER H
PENALTIES AND REMEDIES
Sec.
7171, Election notice in certain areas.
7172. Incompetence.
7173. Taxes.
7174. Action against security.
7175. Criminal penalty.
7176. Compensation violation.
7177. Failure to execute process.
7178. Failure to serve in a township.
§ 7171. Election notice in certain areas.

(a)  Scope of section.—This section applies to wards, townships and
districts. .

(b) Acting constables.—The acting constable shall, within six days
after the election for a constable, give notice in writing to the elected
individual of election to the office. An acting constable who violates this
subsection shall pay a civil penalty of $16 to the Commonwealth.

(c) Elected constables.—An individual elected and notified under
subsection (b) shall appear on the next day that the court of common pleas
of the applicable judicial district is in session and either decline or accept
the office. A constable elect who violates this subsection shall pay a civil
penalty of $16 to the Commonwealth.
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(d) Court.—The applicable court of common pleas has the authority to
“levy the penalty under subsection (b) or (c).
§ 7172. Incompetence.

(@) Inquiry.—A court of common pleas with competent jurisdiction
may inquire into the official conduct of the constable if any of the
Sfollowing apply:

(1) A surety of the constable files a verified petition alleging that the
constable is incompetent to discharge official duties because of
intemperance or neglect of duty.

(2) Any person files a verified petition alleging that the constable is
incompetent to discharge official duties for a reason other than
intemperance or neglect of duty. This paragraph includes an act of
oppression of a litigant or a witness. '

(b) Determination.—If the court determines that the constable is
incompetent to discharge official duties, the following apply:

(1) The court may:

(i) require additional security from the constable; or
(ii) remove the constable from office.

(2) Upon removal under paragraph (1)(ii), the court may appoint a
suitable individual to fill the vacancy until a successor is elected and
qualified. The appointed individual must have a freehold estate with at
least $1,000 beyond incumbrance or furnish security.

§ 7173. Taxes.

If a constable defaults on remittance of collected tax pursuant to law,
all of the following apply:

(1) The constable is no longer authorized to receive tax.

(2) The person that was entitled to the remittance shall publish,
three times in three daily newspapers, notice of the loss of authority
under paragraph (1).

(3) The constable may not draw compensation until the default is
cured.

§ 7174. Action against security.

(a) Scope of section.—This section applies to a constable subject to all
of the following:

(1) The constable has furnished security for the faithful
performance of the duties of office.

(2) The constable fails to perform the duties of office.

(3) One of the following subparagraphs applies:

(i) The constable leaves the country before a judgment is entered

on the failure under paragraph (2).

(ii) A judgment is entered against the constable for failure under
paragraph (2), and the judgment cannot be paid.

(b) Procedure.—A court of competent jurisdiction may issue a writ of
scire facias and proceed against the security.
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(¢) Appeal.—A surety and a constable may appeal from a judgment on
a writ under subsection (b).

§ 7175. Criminal penalty.

A constable who neglects or refuses to perform the duties under the act
of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), known as the Pennsylvania Election
Code, commits a misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, upon
conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of 83500 or to imprisonment for not
less than one month nor more than one year, or both.

§ 7176. Compensation violation.

A constable who violates the act of July 14, 1897 (P.L.206, No.209),
entitled “An act to regulate the remuneration of policemen and constables
employed as policemen throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
and prohibiting them from charging or accepting any fee or other
compensation, in addition to their salary, except as public rewards and
mileage for traveling expenses,” commits a misdemeanor of the third
degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $50 or to
imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both.

§ 7177. Failure to execute process.

(a) Scope of section.—This section applies to a constable subject to all
of the following:

(1) The constable is entrusted with the' execution of a process for
the collection of money.

(2) The constable, by neglect of duty, fails to collect the money.

(3) The constable’s security is used to pay the money.

() Equitable interest—The person that pays the security under

subsection (a)(3):
(1) has an equitable interest in the judgment; and
(2) may collect the judgment in the name of the party that won the
Jjudgment.
§ 7178. Failure to serve in a township.
(a) Scope of section.—This section applies to an individual in a
township if all of the following circumstances exist:
(1) The individual is elected or appointed a constable.
(2) The individual has a freehold estate worth at least $1,000.
(3) The individual fails to:
(i) serve; or
(ii) appoint a deputy to serve.

(b) Fine.—FExcept as set forth in subsection (c), an individual under
subsection (a) shall be fined $40 for the use of the appropriate township.

(c) Exception.—Subsection (b) shall not apply to an individual who:

(1) has served personally or by deputy in the office of constable of
the same township within 15 years of election or appointment; or

“with a the” in enrolled bill.
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(2) has paid a fine under subsection (b) within 15 years of election
or appointment.

Section 3. Sections 1376(b)(5) and 1540(c)(1)(v) of Title 75 are amended
to read:

§ 1376. Surrender of registration plates and cards upon suspension or
revocation.

* & %

(b) Delegation of authority.—If after 30 days from the mail date of a
notice of suspension or revocation, the registration plates and cards are not
surrendered under subsection (a), the department may delegate authority to
the following persons to seize a registration plate and registration card which
are required to be surrendered under subsection (a):

* ok k

(5) Constables or deputy constables. {If constables and deputy
constables are delegated authority to seize registration plates and
registration cards under this section, they shall be compensated by
the department at the rate of $15 for each registration plate and card
jointly seized, plus mileage. The department shall pay a constable or
deputy constable within 30 days after a documented request for
payment is submitted to it.}

% % %

§ 1540. Surrender of license.
* %k ok
(c) Seizure of revoked, suspended, canceled or disqualified licenses.—
(1) The department may delegate authority to the following persons to
seize the driver’s license of any person whose driver’s license has been
ordered to be surrendered by a court or district attorney or by the
department:
% %k Kk
(v) Constables or deputy constables. [If constables and deputy
constables are delegated authority to seize drivers’ licenses under
this subsection, they shall be compensated by the department at
the rate of $15 for each driver’s license seized, plus mileage. The
department shall pay a constable or deputy constable within 30
days after a documented request is submitted to it.]
sk ok ok

Section 4. Repeals are as follows:

(1) The General Assembly declares that the repeals under paragraph (2)
are necessary to effectuate the addition of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. A, B, C,
D, F, G and H. :

(2) The following acts and parts of acts are repealed to the extent
specified:

(i) Section 1 of the act of 1799 (3 Sm.L.2012 Ch.6), entitled “A
supplement to the act, entitled ‘An act to extend the powers of the justices
of the peace of this state,”” absolutely.
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(ii) Sections 12 and 19 of the act of March 20, 1810 (P.L.208,
No.132), entitled “An act to amend and consolidate with its Supplements,
the Act entitled ‘An act for the recovery,of debts and demands, not
exceeding one hundred dollars, before a Justice of the Peace, and for the
election of Constables, and for other purposes,” absolutely.

(iit) Section 3 of the act of April 24, 1829 (P.L.369, No.216), entitled
“A further supplement to the act entitled An act to amend and consolidate
with its supplements, the act entitled An act for the recovery of debts and
demands not exceeding one hundred dollars before a justice of the peace,
and for the election of constables, and for other purposes,” absolutely. -

(iv) Sections 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113 and 114 of the act of
April 15, 1834 (P.L.537, No.247), entitled: “An act relating to counties
and townships, and county and township officers,” absolutely.

(v) Section 12 of the act of October 13, 1840 (Special Session 1,
P.L.1, No.258).

(vi) Section 14 of the act of May 27 1841 (P.L. 400 No.141), entitled
“An act relatmg to the Election of County Treasurers, and for other
purposes,” absolutely.

(vii) Section 19 of the act of April 22 1850 (P.L.549, No.342),
entitled “A supplement to an-act, entitled ‘An Act to prevent waste in
certain cases within this commonwealth,” passed the twenty-ninth day of
March, one thousand eight hundred and twenty-two; to land and building
associations; giving the court of Susquehanna county jurisdiction in a
certain case; relative to the service of process in certain cases; to party
walls in West Philadelphia; to the proof of a certain will; to the sale and
purchase of certain burial grounds in Philadelphia; to the laying of gas
pipes in the district of Moyamensing; to the release of certain sureties in
Erie county; to the State Lunatic hospital; relative to the service of
process against sheriffs; to the rights of married women; to ground rents;
and relating to foreign insurance companies,” absolutely. .

(viii) Section 15 of the act of April 21, 1855 (P.L.264, No.281),
entitled “A supplement to the act Consolidating the city of Philadelphia,”
absolutely.

(ix) Section 17 of the act of April 21, 1855 (P.L.264, No.281), as to
constables. .

(x) Section 1 of the act of May 3, 1876 (P L.99, No.67), entitled “An
act regulating procedure for violation of ordmances of cities of the first
class,” as to constables.

(xi) Section 1 of the act of February 12 1889 (P.L.3, No.1), entitled
“An act to provide for the commencement of the terms of office of
councilmen, constables and school directors in new wards, when erected
in cities of the first class under existing laws and where the several wards
constitute separate school districts, to provide for the supervision of the
public schools in such new wards until the: organization of the board of
school directors of the new school section, and to provide for the term of



532 Act 2009-49 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

councilmen and constables already elected by the voters of the old ward,”
as to constables.

(xii) Section 1 of the act of February 14, 1889 (P.L.6, No.5), entitled
“An act to authorize the election of constables for three years,” absolutely.

(xii1) Section 1 of the act of May 4, 1889 (P.L.83, No.79), entitled
“An act to authorize the election of constables for three years in cities of
the second and third class,” absolutely.

(xiv) Section 1 of the act of April 29, 1897 (P.L.29, No.25), entitled

. “An act to authorize constables and other peace officers, without first
procuring a warrant, to arrest persons reasonably suspected by them of
offending against the laws protecting timber lands,” absolutely.

(xv) Section 1 of the act of June 4, 1897 (P.L.121, No.101), entitled
“An act relating to boroughs, providing a method of procedure for
violations of law and borough ordinances, and for the collection of the
fines and penalties imposed for said violations,” as to constables.

(xvi) Section 2 of the act of July 14, 1897 (P.L.266, No0.209), entitled
“An act to regulate the remuneration of policemen and constables
employed as policemen throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
and prohibiting them from charging.or accepting any fee or other
compensation, in addition to their salary, except as public rewards and
mileage for traveling expenses,” absolutely.

(xvii) Section 3 of the act of July 14, 1897 (P. L 266, No. 209) as to
constables.

(xviii) Section 1 of the act of Aprl] 25, 1905 (P.L.309, No.214),
entitled “An act authorizing policemen to hold and exercise the office of
constables,” absolutely.

(xix) Section 1 of the act of April 23, 1909 (P.L.151, No.104), entitled
“An act fixing the fees to be received by constables in this
Commonwealth,” absolutely.

(xx) Section 1 of the act of June 9, 1911 (P.L.727, No 299), entitled
“An act authorizing.the election in first class townships of an additional
constable, and fixing his term,” absolutely.

(xxi) Section 1 of the act of June 19, 1913 (P.L.534, No. 342) entitled
“An act relating to appointment of deputy constables,” absolutely.

(xxii) Sections 1, 2 and 3 of the act of May 31, 1919 (P.L.357,
No.171), entitled “An act relating to the duties of constables in certain
counties; prohibiting them from making returns to the court. of quarter
sessions in certain cases; authorizing the court to direct investigations and

- reports by constables, and fixing their compensation in such cases,”
absolutely.

(xxiii) Section 14 of the act of June 28, 1923 (P.L.903, No.348),
entitled “A supplement to an act, approved the fourteenth day of May, one
thousand nine hundred and fifteen (Pamphlet Laws, three hundred and
twelve), entitled ‘An act providing a system for government of boroughs,
and revising, amending, and consolidating the law relating to boroughs’;
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so as to provide a system of government where a borough now has

annexed or hereafter shall annex land in an adjoining county, including

assessment of property, levying and collection of taxes, making municipal -
improvements, and filing and collecting of liens for the same; the

jurisdiction of courts for the enforcement of borough ordinances and State

laws, and primary, general, municipal, and special elections; and repealing

inconsistent laws,” absolutely.

(xxiv) Section 1 of the act of April 6, 1925 (P.L.155, No.113), entitled
“An act providing constables’ fees for service of writs in juvenile cases,”
absolutely.

(xxv) Section 1 of the act of March 20, 1929 (P.L.32, No.32), entitled
“An act providing for the filling of vacancies in the office of constable in
any borough, town, ward of any city, borough, or town or township of this
Commonwealth,” absolutely.

(xxvi) Sections 1, 2,3,4,5,6,7, 8 and 9 of the act of June 10, 1931
(P.L.492, No.156), entltled “An act relating to the trespassing of live
stock on improved lands; providing for the taking up, impounding and
sale thereof; imposing duties on and fixing the fees of constables, justices
of the peace, and viewers appointed in connection therewith; prescribing
the procedure for repossession by the owner thereof, providing for the
fixing and taxing of costs, including attorneys’ fees; and repealing
inconsistent legislation,” absolutely.

(xxvii) Section | of the act of February 28, 1933 (P.L.5, No.3),
entitled “An act relating to constables’ returns to the court of quarter
sessions,” absolutely.

(xxviii) Section 412.2(g) of the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333,
No.320), entitled “An act concerning elections, including general,
municipal, special and primary elections, the nomination of candidates,
primary and election expenses and election contests; creating and defining
membership of county boards of elections; imposing duties upon the
Secretary of the Commonwealth, courts, county boards of elections,
county commissioners; imposing penalties for violation of the act, and
codifying, revising and consolidating the laws relating thereto; and
repealing certain acts and parts of acts relating to elections,” absolutely.

(xxix) The first two sentences of section 1207 of the act of June 3,
1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), absolutely.

(xxx) Section 1822 of the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320),
absolutely.

(xxxi) Section | of the act of May 26, 1943 (P.L.637, No.280),
entitled “An act providing that the terms of constables hereafter elected in
cities of the second, second class A and third classes, boroughs and
townships, shall be for six years,” absolutely.

(xxxii) Section | of the act of April 3, 1955 (1956 P.L.1382, No.441),
entitled “An act making the offices of constable and justice of the peace
or alderman incompatible,” absolutely.
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(xxxiii) Section 1126 of the act of February 1, 1966 (1965 P.L.1656,
No.581), entitled “An act concerning boroughs, and revising, amending
and consolidating the law relating to boroughs,” absolutely.

(xxxiv) Section 1 of the act of February 2, 1970 (P.L.2, No.2), entitled
“An act abolishing the office of constable in the City of Philadelphia and
providing for the performance of duties under The Landlord and Tenant
Act of 1951,” absolutely.

(xxxv) Sections 1 and 2 of the act of June 29, 1976 (P.L.475, No.121),
entitled “An act clarifying the powers of constables, county detectives,
sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, waterways patrolmen and game protectors as to
constables.

(xxxvi) Section 10 of the act of October 4, 1978 (P.L.883, No.170),
entitled “An act relating to conflicts of interest involving certain public
officials serving in State or State agencies and local political subdivision
positions and prohibiting certain public employees from engaging in
certain conflict of interest activities requiring certain disclosures and
providing penalties,” absolutely.

(3) All acts and parts of acts are repealed insofar as they are inconsistent
with this act.
Section 5. The General Assembly finds and declares as follows:

(1) This act consolidates a major title of the Pennsylvama
Consolidated Statutes.

- (2) In order to further the process of statutory consolidation, it is
necessary to eliminate obsolete - provisions in every title of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes.

(3) The repeal of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 is necessary because the chapter
became obsolete when it was replaced by 61 Pa.C.S. Ch. 45 in the act of
August 11, 2009 (P.L.147, No.33), entitled “An act amending Title 42
(Judiciary ‘and Judicial Procedure) and codifying Title 61 (Penal and
Correctional Institutions) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
further providing for adoption of guidelines for resentencing, for adoption -
of guidelines for parole and for adoption of recommitment ranges
following revocation of parole by board; providing for temporary release
from county correctional institution; further providing for sentence of total
confinement; providing for parole without board supervision, for judicial
power to release inmates and for transfers of inmates in need of medical
treatment; further providing for State intermediate punishment; providing
for other criminal provisions; amending the heading of Title 61; adding
definitions, provisions relating to general -administration of correctional
institutions, State correctional institutions, county correctional institutions,
house of detention for untried inmates and witnesses, inmate labor,
medical services, visitation, inmate prerelease plans, motivational boot
camp, execution procedure and method, . recidivism risk reduction
incentive, miscellaneous matters relating thereto, probation and parole
generally, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation- and Parole, County
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Probation and Parole Officers’ Firearm Education and Training and
correctional institution interstate compacts; and making conforming
amendments, editorial changes and repeals relating to codification.”

(4) The addition of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. A, B, C, D, F, Gand H
is a continuation of the statutory provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this
act. The following apply:

(i) Except as otherwise provided in 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71, all activities
initiated under the statutory provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this
act shall continue and remain in full force and effect and may be
completed under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71. Orders, regulations, rules and
decisions which were made under the statutory provisions set forth in
section 4(2) of this act and which are in effect on the effective date of
4(2) of this act shall remain in full force and effect until revoked,
vacated or modified under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71. Contracts, obligations
and collective bargaining agreements entered into under the statutory
provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this act are not affected nor
impaired by the repeal in section 4(2) of this act.

(i) Except as set forth in subparagraph (iii), any difference in
language between 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. A, B, C, D, F and G and
the statutory provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this act is intended
only to conform to the style of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
and is not intended to change or affect the legislative intent, judicial
construction or administration and implementation of the statutory
provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this act.

(iii) Subparagraph (ii) does not apply to any of the following
provisions of Title 44:

(A) Section 7112.
(B) Section 7113.
(C) Section 7114(a).
(D) Section 7143(h).
(E) Section 7148(b).
(F) Section 7149(b).
(G) Section 7151.

(5) The provisions on constable training have been transferred from
former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 to 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E.
Revisions have been made in 44 Pa.C.S. §§ 7143(h), 7148(b) and
7149(b). Except as otherwise provided in 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71, all activities
initiated under former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 shall continue
and remain in full force and effect and may be completed under 44
Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E. Orders, regulations, rules and decisions which
were made under former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 and which are
in effect on the effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through
2949) of this act shall remain in full force and effect until revoked,
vacated or modified under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E. Contracts,
obligations and collective bargaining agreements entered into under
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former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 and which are in effect on the
effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949) of this act
are not affected nor impaired by section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through
2949) of this act.

(6) Provisions on constable fees have been transferred from 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 2950 to 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161. Except as otherwise provided in 44 Pa.C.S.
§ 7161, all activities initiated under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 shall
continue and remain in full force and effect and may be completed under
44 Pa.C.S. § 7161. Orders, regulations, rules and decisions which were
made under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 and which are in effect on the

- effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. § 2950) of this act shall remain in
full force and effect until revoked, vacated or modified under 44 Pa.C.S.
§ 7161. Contracts, obligations and collective bargaining agreements
entered into under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 and which are in effect on
the effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. § 2950) of this act are not
affected nor impaired by section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. § 2950) of this act.

(7) This act deals with fees and funds affecting the judicial branch of
State government, including fees which may be charged by constables in
civil and criminal cases and additional fees and surcharges on the
initiation of legal proceedings and on the filing of legal documents. In
order to further the process of statutory consolidation, it is necessary to
maintain and continue the coordination of fees and funding affecting any
branch of State government.

Section 6. If this section takes effect after October 13, 2009, the repeal of
44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 shall apply retroactively to October 13, 2009.
Section 7. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The repeal of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 shall take effect October 13, 2009,
or immediately, whichever is later.

(2) The following provisions shall take effect immediately:

(I) Sections 5(1), (2) and (3) and 6 of this act.
(I) This section.
(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 9th day of October, A.D. 2009.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



