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No. 2011-81 

AN ACT 
HB9 

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further 
providing for junior driver's license, for learners' permits, for suspension of 
operating privilege, for department to compile, tabulate and analyze accident 
reports and for restraint systems. 

RESOLVED, That the part of this act that limits the number of passengers 
a junior driver may transport in a motor vehicle at one time may be referred 
to as Lacey's Law in honor of Lacey Gallagher. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Sections 1503(c) and 1505(e) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania 
Consolidated Statutes are amended to read: 
§ 1503. Persons ineligible for licensing; license issuance to minors; junior 

driver's license. 

* * * 
(c) Junior driver's license.-The department may issue a junior driver's 

license to a person 16 or I 7 years of age under rules and regulations adopted 
by the department and subject to the provisions of this section. A junior 
driver's license shall automatically become a regular driver's license when 
the junior driver attains 18 years of age. 

(I) Except as provided in paragraph (2), no licensed junior driver 
shall drive a vehicle upon a public highway between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. 
unless accompanied by a spouse I 8 years of age or older, a parent or a 
person in loco parentis. 

(2) A licensed junior driver conforming to the requirements of 
section 1507 (relating to application for driver's license or learner's permit 
by minor) may drive a vehicle upon a public highway between 11 p.m. 
and 5 a.m. between the junior driver's home and activity or employment 
or in the course of the junior driver's activity or employment if the junior 
driver is a member of a volunteer fire company authorized by the fire 
chief to engage in fighting· fires, is engaged in public or charitable service 
or is employed and is carrying an affidavit or certificate of authorization 
signed by the junior driver's fire chief, supervisor or employer indicating 
the probable schedule of the junior driver's activities. Upon termination of 
the junior driver's activity or employment, the junior driver shall 
surrender the affidavit or certificate to the fire chief, supervisor or 
employer. If the junior driver shall fail to surrender the affidavit or 
certificate, the employer, fire chief or supervisor shall immediately notify 
the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(2.1) For the first six months after issuance of the junior driver's 
license, a junior driver shall not drive a vehicle with more than one 
passenger under 18 years of age who is not a member of the driver's 
immediate family unless the junior driver is accompanied by a parent or 
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legal guardian. After the expiration of the first six months, a junior 
driver shall not drive a vehicle with more than three passengers under 
18 years of age who are not members of the driver's immediate family 
unless the junior driver is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. A 
junior driver shall not drive a vehicle with more than one passenger 
under 18 years of age who is not a member of the driver's immediate 
family unless the junior driver is accompanied by a parent or legal 
guardian if the junior driver has been involved in an accident 
reportable under section 3746(a) for which the junior driver is partially 
or fully responsible in the opinion of the department or has been 
convicted of any violation of this title. For purposes of this paragraph, 1 

a junior driver's immediate family shall include brothers, sisters, 
stepbrothers or stepsisters of the driver, including adopted or foster 
children residing in the same household as the junior driver. 

(3) In addition to the other provisions of this title relating to the 
suspension or revocation of operating privileges, in the event that a 
licensed junior driver is involved in an accident reportable under section 
3746(a) for which the junior driver is partially or fully responsible in the 
opinion of the department or is convicted of any violation of this title, the 
department may suspend the operating privileges of the junior driver until 
the junior driver attains 18 years of age or for a period of time not 
exceeding 90 days. 

(4) Any junior driver or other person violating any provision of this 
subsection is guilty of a summary offense. 

§ 1505. Learners' permits. 

* * * 
(e) Authorization to test for driver's license and junior driver's license.­

A person with a learner's permit is authorized to take the examination for a 
regular or junior driver's license for the class of vehicle for which a permit is 
held. Before a person under the age of 18 years may take the examination for 
a junior driver's license, the minor must: 

(1) Have held a learner's permit for that class of vehicle for a period 
of six months. 

(2) Present to the department a certification form signed by the 
father, mother, guardian, person in loco parentis or spouse of a married 
minor stating that the minor applicant has completed [50) 65 hours of 
practical driving experience, including no less than ten hours of 
nighttime driving and five hours of inclement weather driving, 
accompanied as required under subsection (b). Submission of a 
certification shall not subject the parent, guardian, person in loco parentis 
or spouse of a married minor to any liability based upon the certification. 

(3) Have the certification form completed when the minor is ready 
for the licensing examination. The certification form shall be developed 
by the department and will be provided by the department when the 
original application for a learner's permit is processed. The department 
will make this form readily available through the mail or electronic 
means. 

1"this subsection," in enrolled bill. 
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* * * 
Section 2. Section 3753 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subsection to 

read: 
§ 3753. Department to compile, tabulate and analyze accident reports. 

* * * 
(b.l) Certain reports.-The department shall biannually compile and 

make available to the public information submitted on an accident report 
concerning junior drivers with multiple passengers under 18 years of age 
and the use of seat belts by drivers and passengers under 18 years of age in 
motor vehicles involved in traffic accidents. The report shall note the 
number of passengers under 18 years of age if the driver involved in the 
accident was a junior driver and whether drivers and passengers under 18 
years of age utilized a safety belt system. The data shall be included in a 
report submitted to the Transportation Committee of the Senate and the 
Transportation Committee of the House of Representatives. 

* * * 
Section 3. Section 4581(a) and (b) of Title 75 are amended to read: 

§ 4581. Restraint systems. 
(a) Occupant protection.-

(1) Any person who is operating a passenger car, Class I truck, Class 
II truck, classic motor vehicle, antique motor vehicle or motor home and 
who transports a child under four years of age anywhere in the motor 
vehicle, including the cargo area, shall fasten such child securely in a 
child passenger restraint system, as defined in subsection (d). This 
subsection shall apply to all persons while they are operators of motor 
vehicles where a seating position is available which is equipped with a 
seat safety belt or other means to secure the systems or where the seating 
position was originally equipped with seat safety belts. 

(1.1) Any person who is operating a passenger car, Class I truck, 
Class II truck, classic motor vehicle, antique motor vehicle or motor home 
and who transports a child four years of age or older but under eight years 
of age anywhere in the motor vehicle, including the cargo area, shall 
fasten such child securely in a fastened safety seat belt system and in an 
appropriately fitting child booster seat, as defined in subsection (d). This 
paragraph shall apply to all persons while they are operators of motor 
vehicles where a seating position is available which is equipped with a 
seat safety belt or other means to secure the systems or where the seating 
position was originally equipped with seat safety belts. [A conviction 
under this paragraph by State or local law enforcement agencies shall 
occur only as a secondary action when a driver of a motor vehicle has 
been convicted of violating any other provision of this title.] 

(2) [Except for children under eight years of age and except as 
provided in paragraphs (1) and (1.1), each] (i) The driver [and 
front seat occupant] of a passenger car, Class I truck, Class II truck 
or motor home operated in this Commonwealth shall [wear] secure 
or cause to be secured in a properly adjusted and fastened safety seat 
belt system the 1 driver, if under 18 years of age, and every vehicle 

1"system on the" in enrolled bill. 
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occupant eight years of age or older but under 18 years of age. [A 
conviction under this paragraph by State or local law 
enforcement agencies shall occur only as a secondary action when 
a driver of a motor vehicle has been convicted of any other 
provision of this title. The driver of a passenger automobile shall 
secure or cause to be secured in a properly adjusted and fastened 
safety seat belt system any occupant who is eight years of age or 
older and less than 18 years of age.] 

(ii) Except for children under 18 years of age and except as 
provided in paragraphs (1) and (1.1) and subparagraph (i), each 
driver and front seat occupant of a passenger car, Class I truck, 
Class II truck, classic motor vehicle, antique motor vehicle or motor 
home operated in this Commonwealth shall wear a properly 
adjusted and fastened safety seat belt system. 

(iii) This paragraph shall not apply to: 
[(i)) (A) A driver or front seat occupant of any vehicle 

manufactured before July 1, 1966. 
[(ii)) (B) A driver or front seat occupant who possesses a 

written verification from a physician that he is unable to wear a 
safety seat belt system for physical or medical reasons, or from a 
psychiatrist or other specialist qualified to make an informed 
judgment that he is unable to wear a safety seat belt system for 
psychological reasons. 

[(iii)] (C) A rural letter carrier while operating any motor 
vehicle during the performance of his duties as a United States 
postal service rural letter carrier only between the first and last 
delivery points. 

[(iv)] (D) A driver who makes frequent stops and is traveling 
less than 15 miles per hour for the purpose of delivering goods or 
services while in the performance of his duties and only between 
the first and last delivery points. 
(iv) A violation of this paragraph shall not be subject to the 

assessment of any points under section 1535 (relating to schedule of 
convictions and points). 
(3) [A] Notwithstanding the provisions of section 1503(c)(2.1) 

(relating to persons ineligible for licensing; license issuance to minors; 
junior driver's license), a driver who is under 18 years of age may not 
operate a motor vehicle in which the number of passengers exceeds the 
number of available safety seat belts in the vehicle. 
(b) Offense.-Anyone who fails to comply with the provisions of 

subsection (a)(l) or (1.1) [shall be guilty of] commits a summary offense 
[with a maximum fine of $100] and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced 
to pay a fine of $75. The court imposing and collecting any such fines shall 
transfer the fines thus collected to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Child 
Passenger Restraint Fund, pursuant to section 4582 (relating to Child 
Passenger Restraint Fund). Anyone who violates subsection (a)(2) or (3) 
commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay 
a fine of $10. No person shall be convicted of a violation of subsection 
((a)(2)] (a)(2)(ii) unless the person is also convicted of another violation of 



338 Act 2011-81 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

this title which occurred at the same time. No costs as described in 42 
Pa.C.S. § 1725.1 (relating to costs) shall be imposed for summary conviction 
of subsection (a)(2) or (3). Conviction under this subsection shall not 
constitute a moving violation. 

* * * 
Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The 25th day of October, A.D. 2011 

TOM CORBETT 


