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No. 2011-111 

AN ACT 
SB 1183 

Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses), 23 (Domestic Relations), 42 (Judiciary 
and Judicial Procedure), 44 (Law and Justice) and 61 (Prisons and Parole) of the 
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, extensively revising provisions relating to 
registration of sexual offenders pursuant to Federal mandate; and making editorial 
changes. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Sections 2901, 2902, 2903, 3122.1, 3124.2, 3130(a) introduc­
tory paragraph and (1) and (b ), 3141, 4302 and 4915 of Title 18 of the 
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read: 
§ 2901. Kidnapping. 

(a) Offense defined.-[A] Except as provided in subsection (a.I), a 
person is guilty of kidnapping if he unlawfully removes another a substantial 
distance under the circumstances from the place where he is found, or if he 
unlawfully confines another for a substantial period in a place of isolation, 
with any of the following intentions: 

(1) To hold for ransom or reward, or as a shield or hostage. 
(2) To facilitate commission of any felony or flight thereafter. 
(3) To inflict bodily injury on or to terrorize the victim or another. 
(4) To interfere with the performance by public officials of any 

governmental or political function. 
(a.I) Kidnapping of a minor.-A person is guilty of kidnapping of a 

minor if he unlawfully removes a person under I8 years of age a 
substantial distance under the circumstances from the place where he is 
found, or if he unlawfully confines a person under I 8 years of age for a 
substantial period in a place of isolation, with any of the following 
intentions: 

(1) To hold for ransom or reward, or as a shield or hostage. 
(2) To facilitate commission of any felony or flight thereafter. 
(3) To inflict bodily injury on or to terrorize the victim or another. 
(4) To interfere with the performance by public officials of any gov-

ernmental or political function. 
(b) Grading.-[Kidnapping is a felony) The following apply: 

(I) Kidnapping under subsection (a) is a felony of the first degree. 
A removal or confinement is unlawful within the meaning of [this 
section) subsection (a) if it is accomplished by force, threat or deception, 
or, in the case of (a person who is under the age of 14 years or] an 
incapacitated person, if it is accomplished without the consent of a parent, 
guardian or other person responsible for general supervision of his 
welfare. 

(2) Kidnapping under subsection (a.I) is a felony of the first degree. 
A removal or confinement is unlawful within the meaning of subsection 
(a.I) if it is accomplished by force, threat or deception, or, in the case of 
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a person under 14 years of age, if it is accomplished without consent of 
a parent, guardian or other person responsible for general supervision 
of his welfare. 

§ 2902. Unlawful restraint. 
(a) Offense defined.-(A person commits an offense] Except as 

provided under subsection (b) or (c), a person commits a misdemeanor of 
the first degree if he knowingly: 

( l) restrains another unlawfully in circumstances exposing him to 
risk of serious bodily injury; or 

(2) holds another in a condition of involuntary servitude. 
[(b) Grading.-

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), an offense under 
subsection (a) is a misdemeanor of the first degree. 

(2) If the victim of the offense is an individual under 18 years of 
age, an offense under subsection (a) is a felony of the second degree.] 
(b) Unlawful restraint of a minor where offender is not victim's 

parent.-!/ the victim is a person under 18 years of age, a person who is 
not the victim's parent commits a felony of the second degree if he 
knowingly: 

(1) restrains another unlawfully in circumstances exposing him to 
risk of serious bodily injury; or 

(2) holds another in a condition of involuntary servitude. 
(c) Unlawful restraint of minor where offender is victim's parent.-!/ 

the victim is a person under 18 years of age, a parent of the victim commits 
a felony of the second degree if he knowingly: 

(1) restrains another unlawfully in circumstances exposing him to 
risk of serious bodily injury; or 

(2) holds another in a condition of involuntary servitude. 
(d) Definition.-As used in this section the term "parent" means a 

natural parent, stepparent, adoptive parent or guardian of a minor. 
§ 2903. False imprisonment. 

(a) Offense defined.-[A person commits an offense] Except as 
provided under subsection (b) or (c), a person commits a misdemeanor of 
the second degree if he knowingly restrains another unlawfully so as to 
interfere substantially with his liberty. 

[(b) Grading.-
(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), an offense under 

subsection (a) is a misdemeanor of the second degree. 
(2) If the victim of the offense is an individual under 18 years of 

age, an offense under subsection (a) is a felony of the second degree.] 
(b) False imprisonment of a minor where offender is not victim's 

parent.-!/ the victim is a person under 18 years of age, a person who is 
not the victim's parent commits a felony of the second degree if he 
knowingly restrains another unlawfully so as to interfere substantially with 
his liberty. 

(c) False imprisonment of a minor where offender is victim's parent.­
If the victim is a person under 18 years of age, a parent of the victim 
commits a felony of the second degree if he knowingly restrains another 
unlawfully so as to interfere substantially with his liberty. 
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(d) Definition.-As used in this section the term ''parent" means a 
natural parent, stepparent, adoptive parent or guardian of a minor. 
§ 3122.1. Statutory sexual assault. 

(a) Felony of the second degree.-Except as provided in section 3121 
(relating to rape), a person commits a felony of the second degree when that 
person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant to whom the person 
is not married who is under the age of 16 years and that person is either: 

(1) four [or more] years older but less than eight years older than 
the complainant [and the complainant and the person are not married 
to each other.]; or 

(2) eight years older but less than 11 years older than the 
complainant. 
(b) Felony of the first degree.-A person commits a felony of the first 

degree when that person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant 
under the age of 16 years and that person is 11 or more years older than 
the complainant and the complainant and the person are not married to 
each other. 
§ 3124.2. Institutional sexual assault. 

(a) General rule.-Except as provided under subsection (a.1) and in 
sections 3121 (relating to rape), 3122.l (relating to statutory sexual assault), 
3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse), 3124.1 (relating to 
sexual assault} and 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault), a person 
who is an employee or agent of the Department of Corrections or a county 
correctional authority, youth development center, youth forestry camp, State 
or county juvenile detention facility, other licensed residential facility 
serving children and youth, or mental health or mental retardation facility or 
institution commits a felony of the third degree when that person engages in 
sexual intercourse, deviate sexual intercourse or indecent contact with an 
inmate, detainee, patient or resident. 

(a.1) Institutional sexual assault of a minor.-A person who is an 
employee or agent of the Department of Corrections or a county 
correctional authority, youth development center, youth forestry camp, 
State or county juvenile detention facility, other licensed residential facility 
serving children and youth or mental health or mental retardation facility 
or institution commits a felony of the third degree when that person 
engages in sexual intercourse, deviate sexual intercourse or indecent 
contact with an inmate, detainee, patient or resident who is under 18 years 
of age. 

(a.2) Schools.-
(1) Except as provided in sections 3121, 3122.1, 3123, 3124.1 and 

3125, a person who is a volunteer or an employee of a school or any 
other person who has direct contact with a student at a school commits 
a felony of the third degree when he engages in sexual intercourse, 
deviate sexual intercourse or indecent contact with a student of the 
school. 

(2) As used in this subsection, the following terms shall have the 
meanings given to them in this paragraph: 

(i) "Direct contact." Care, supervision, guidance or control. 
(ii) "Employee." 
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(A) Includes: 
(I) A teacher, a supervisor, a supervising principal, a 

principal, an assistant principal, a vice principal, a director 
of vocational education, a dental hygienist, a visiting 
teacher, a home and school visitor, a school counselor, a 
child nutrition program specialist, a school librarian, a 
school secretary the selection of whom is on the basis of 
merit as determined by eligibility lists, a school nurse, a 
substitute teacher, a janitor, a cafeteria worker, a bus driver, 
a teacher aide and any other employee who has direct 
contact with school students. 

(II) An independent contractor who has a contract with 
a school for the purpose of performing a service for the 
school, a coach, an athletic trainer, a coach hired as an 
independent contractor by the Pennsylvania Interscholastic 
Athletic Association or an athletic trainer hired as an 
independent contractor by the Pennsylvania Interscholastic 
Athletic Association. 
(B) The term does not include: 

(I) A student employed at the school. 
(II) An independent contractor or any employee of an 

independent contractor who has no direct contact with 
school students. 

(iii) "School." A public or private school, intermediate unit or 
area vocational-technical school. 

(iv) "Volunteer." The term does not include a school student. 
(a.3) Child care.-Except as provided in sections 3121, 3122.1, 3123, 

3124.1 and 3125, a person who is a volunteer or an employee of a center 
for children commits ·a felony of the third degree when he engages in 
sexual intercourse, deviate sexual intercourse or indecent contact with a 
child who is receiving services at the center. 

(b) [Definition.-As used in this section, the term "agent" means a 
person who is assigned to work in a State or county correctional or 
juvenile detention facility, a youth development center, youth forestry 
camp, other licensed residential facility serving children and youth, or 
mental health or mental retardation facility or institution who is 
employed by any State or county agency or any person employed by an 
entity providing contract services to the agency.] 

Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and phrases 
shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agent. " A person who is assigned to work in a State or county 
correctional or juvenile detention facility, a youth development center, 
youth forestry camp, other licensed residential facility serving children and 
youth or mental health or mental retardation facility or institution, who is 
employed by any State or county agency or any person employed by an 
entity providing contract services to the agency. 

"Center for children." Includes a child day-care center, group and 
family day-care home, boarding home for children, a center providing 

/ 
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early intervention and drug and alcohol services for children or other 
facility which provides child-care services which are subject to approval, 
licensure, registration or certification by the Department of Public Welfare 
or a county social services agency or which are provided pursuant to a 
contract with the department or a county social services agency. The term 
does not include a youth development center, youth forestry camp, State or 
county juvenile detention facility and other licensed residential facility 
serving children and youth. 
§ 3130. Conduct relating to sex offenders. 

(a) Offense defined.-A person commits a felony of the third degree if 
· the person has reason to believe that a sex offender is not complying with or 

has 'not complied with the requirements of the sex offender's probation or 
. , parole, imposed by statute or court order, or with the registration require-

. ments of 42 Pa.C.S. [§ 9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and 
applicability)] Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to registration of sexual 
offenders), and the person, with the intent to assist the sex offender in 
eluding a law enforcement agent or agency that is seeking to find the sex 
offender to question the sex offender about, or to arrest the sex offender for, 
noncompliance with the requirements of the sex offender's probation or 
parole or the requirements of 42 Pa.C.S. [§ 9795.2) Ch. 97 Subch. H: 

(1) withholds information from or does not notify the law enforce­
ment agent or agency about the sex offender's noncompliance with the 
requirements of parole, the requirements of 42 Pa.C.S. [§ 9795.2) Ch. 97 
Subch. Hor, if known, the sex offender's whereabouts; 

* * * 
(b) Definition.-As used in this section, the term "sex offender" means a 

person who is required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police 
pursuant to the provisions of 42 Pa.C.S. [§ 9795.1 (relating to registration)] 
Ch. 97 Subch. H. 
§ 3141. General rule. 

A person: 
(1) convicted under section 3121 (relating to rape), 3122.1 (relating 

to statutory sexual assault), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 
intercourse), 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault), 3125 (relating to 
aggravated indecent assault) or 3126 (relating to indecent assault); or 

(2) required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police under 42 
Pa.C.S. [§ 9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and applica­
bility)] Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to registration of sexual offenders); 

may be required to forfeit property rights in any property or assets used to 
implement or facilitate commission of the crime or crimes of which the 
person has been convicted. Such property may include, but is not limited to, 
a computer or computers, telephone equipment, firearms, licit or illicit 
prescription drugs or controlled substances, a motor vehicle or such other 
property or assets as determined by the court of common pleas to have 
facilitated the person's criminal misconduct. 
§ 4302. Incest. 

[A] (a) General rule.-Except as provided under subsection (b), a 
person is guilty of incest, a felony of the second degree, if that person 
knowingly marries or cohabits or has sexual intercourse with an ancestor or 
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descendant, a brother or sister of the whole or half blood or an uncle, aunt, 
nephew or niece of the whole blood. [The relationships referred to in this 
section include blood relationships without regard to legitimacy, and 
relationship of parent and child by adoption.) 

(b) Incest of a minor.-A person is guilty of incest of a minor, a felony 
of the second degree, if that person knowingly marries, cohabits with or 
has sexual intercourse with a complainant who is an ancestor or descend­
ant, a brother or sister of the whole or half blood or an uncle, aunt, 
nephew or niece of the whole blood and: 

(1) is under the age of 13 years; or 
(2) is 13 to IS years of age and the person is four or more years 

older than the complainant. 
(c) Relationships.-The relationships referred to in this section include 

blood relationships without regard to legitimacy, and relationship of parent 
and child by adoption. 
§ 4915. Failure to comply with registration of sexual offenders req1,1ire­

ments. 
(a) Offense defined.-An individual who is subject to registration under 

42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.l(a) or (a.I) (relating to registration) or an individual who 
is subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § [9795.l(b)(l), (2) or (3)) 
9795.I(b) or who was subject to registration under former 42 Pa.C.S § 
9793 (relating to registration of certain offenders for ten years) commits an 
offense ifhe knowingly fails to: 

(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as required under 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and applicability); 

(2) verify his [address] residence or be photographed as required 
under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9796 (relating to verification ofresidence); or · 

(3) provide accurate information when registering under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9795.2 or verifying [an address] a residence under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9796. 
(a.I) Counseling.-Thefollowing apply: 

(I) An individual who is designated as a sexually violent predator 
commits an offense if he knowingly fails to comply with 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.4 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators). 

(2) An individual who is subject to a counseling requirement under 
a sex offender registration statute following conviction in another 
jurisdiction commits an offense if he knowingly fails to comply with that 
requirement, as provided in 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.2(b)(4)(i). 
(b) Grading for offenders who must register for ten years.-

(2) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual subject to 
registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.l(a) or (a.I) or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9793 and required to register for a period of ten years who commits a 
violation of subsection (a)(I) or (2) commits a felony of the third degree. 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.l(a) 
or (a.I) or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 and required to register for a 
period of ten years who commits a violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) 
and who has previously been convicted of an offense under subsection . 
(a)(l) or (2) or a similar offense commits a felony of the second degree. 

(4) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.l(a) 
or (a.I) or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 and required to register for a 
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period often years who violates subsection (a)(3) commits a felony of the 
second degree. 
(c) Grading for sexually violent predators and others with lifetime 

registration.-
(2) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual subject to 

registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § [9795.l(b)(l), (2) or (3)) 9795.J(b) or 
former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 and who is subject to lifetime registration who 
commits a violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) commits a felony of the 
second degree. 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
[9795.l(b)(l), (2) or (3)) 9795.J(b) or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 and 
who is subject to lifetime registration who commits a violation of 
subsection (a)(l) or (2) and who has previously been convicted of an 
offense under subsection (a)(l) or (2) or a similar offense commits a 
felony of the first degree. 

(4) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
(9795.l(b)(l), (2) or (3)) 9795.l(b) or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 and 
who is subject to lifetime registration who violates subsection (a)(3) 
commits a felony of the first degree. 
(c.l) Grading for failure to comply with counseling requirements.-An 

individual designated as a sexually violent predator or an individual who is 
subject to a counseling requirement under a sex offender registration 
statute following conviction in another jurisdiction who commits a 
violation of subsection (a.I) commits a misdemeanor of the first degree. 

(d) Effect of notice.-Neither failure on the part of the Pennsylvania 
State Police to send nor failure of a sexually violent predator or offender to 
receive any notice or information pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 9796(a.l) or (b.l) 
shall be a defense to a prosecution commenced against an individual arising 
from a violation of this section. The provisions of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9796(a.1) and 
(b. l) are not an element of an offense under this section. 

(e) Arrests for violation.-
(1) A police officer shall have the same right of arrest without a 

warrant as in a felony whenever the police officer has probable cause to 
believe an individual has committed a violation of this section regardless 
of whether the violation occurred in the presence of the police officer. 

(2) An individual arrested for a violation of this section shall be 
afforded a preliminary arraignment by the proper issuing authority 
without unnecessary delay. In no case may the individual be released 
from custody without first having appeared before the issuing authority. 

(3) Prior to admitting an individual arrested for a violation of this 
section to bail, the issuing authority shall require all of the following: 

(i) The individual must be fingerprinted and photographed in the 
manner required by 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to regis­
tration of sexual offenders). 

(ii) The individual must provide the Pennsylvania State Police 
with all current or intended residences, all information concerning 
current or intended employment, including all employment locations, 
and all information concerning current or intended enrollment as a 
student. If the individual has a residence as defined in paragraph (2) 
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of the definition of "residence" set forth in 42 Pa.C.S. § 97921 

(relating to definitions), the individual must provide the Pennsylva­
nia State Police with the information required under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9795.2(a)(2)(i)(A), (B) and (C). 

(iii) Law enforcement must make reasonable attempts to verify 
the information provided by the individual. 

(f) Definition.-As used in this section, the term "a similar offense" 
means an offense similar to an offense under either subsection (a)(l) or (2) 
under the laws of this Commonwealth, the United States or one of its 
territories or possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the 
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation. 

(g) Expiration.-This section shall expire one year after the effective 
date of this subsection. 

Section I. I. Title I 8 is amended by adding a section to read: 
§ 4915.1. Failure to comply with registration requirements. 

(a) Offense defined.-An individual who is subject to registration 
under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 (relating to applicability) commits an offense if 
he knowingly fails to: . 

(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as required under 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 9799.19 (relating 
to initial registration) or 9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual 
offenders and Pennsylvania State Police); 

(2) verify his address or be photographed as required under 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9799.15, 9799.19 or 9799.25; or 

(3) provide accurate information when registering under 42 Pa.C.S. 
§ 9799.15, 9799.19 or 9799.25. 
(a.1) Transients.-An individual set forth in 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 who 

is a transient commits an offense if he knowingly fails to: 
(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as required under 42 

Pa.C.S. §§ 9799.15, 9799.16(b)(6) (relating to registry) and 
9799.25(a)(7); 

(2) verify the information provided in 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9799.15 and 
9799.16(b)(6) or be photographed as required under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.15 or 9799.25; 

(3) provide accurate information when registering under 42 Pa.C.S. 
§ 9799.15, 9799.16(b)(6) or 9799.25. 
(a.2) Counseling.-Thefollowing apply: 

(1) An individual who is designated as a sexually violent predator 
or sexually violent delinquent child commits an offense if he knowingly 
fails to comply with 42 Pa.C.S. § 6404.2(g) (relating to duration of 
outpatient commitment and review) or 9799.36 (relating to counseling 
of sexually violent predators). 

(2) An individual who is subject to a counseling requirement under 
a sex offender registration statute following conviction in another 
jurisdiction commits an offense if he knowingly fails to comply with 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9799.36. 
(b) Grading for sexual offenders who must register for 15 years.-

'"section 9792" in enrolled bill. 
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(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual subject to 
registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 and required to register for a 
period of 15 years who commits a violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) 
commits a felony of the third degree. 

(2) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 
and required to register for a period of 15 years who commits a 
violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) and who has previously been 
convicted of an offense under subsection (a)(l) or (2) or (a.1)(1) or (2) 
or a similar offense commits a felony of the second degree. 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 
and required to register for a period of 15 years who violates subsection 
(a)(3) commits a felony of the second degree. 
(c) Grading for sexual offenders who must register for 25 years or 

life.-
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual subject to 

registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 and required to register for a 
period of 25 years or life who commits a violation of subsection (a)(l) or 
(2) commits a felony of the second degree. 

(2) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.CS.§ 9799.13 
and required to register for a period of 25 years or life who commits a 
violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) and who has previously been 
convicted of an offense under subsection (a)(l) or (2) or (a.1)(1) or (2) 
or a similar offense commits a felony of the first degree. 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.CS.§ 9799.13 
and required to register for a period of 25 years or life who violates 
subsection (a)(3) commits a felony of the first degree. 
(c.1) Grading for sexual offenders who are transients who must 

register for 15 years.-
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2) or (3), an individual subject 

to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 who is a transient who must 
register for 15 years commits a felony of the third degree if the individ­
ual violates subsection (a.1)(1) or (2). 

(2) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 
who is a transient who must register for 15 years commits a felony of 
the second degree if the individual violates subsection (a.1)(3). 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 
who is a transient who must register for a period of 15 years commits a 
felony of the second degree if the individual violates subsection (a.1)(1) 
or (2) and has been previously convicted of an offense under subsection 
(a)(l) or (2) or (a.1)(1) or (2) or a similar offense. 
(c.2) Grading for sexual offenders who are transients who must 

register for 25 years or life.-
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2) or (3), an individual subject 

to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 who is a transient who must 
register for a period of 25 years or life commits a felony of the second 
degree ifthe individual violates subsection (a.1)(1) or (2). 

(2) An individual who is subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.13 who is a transient who must register for a period of 25 years or 
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life commits a felony of the first degree if the individual violates 
subsection (a.1)(3). 

(3) An individual subject to registration under 42 Pa.CS. § 9799.13 
who is a transient who must register for a period of 25 years or life 
commits a felony of the first degree if the individual violates subsection 
(a.1)(1) or (2) and has been previously convicted of an offense under 
subsection (a)(l) or (2) or (a.1)(1) or (2) or a similar offense. 
(c.3) Grading for failure to comply with counseling requirements.-An 

individual designated as a sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child or an individual who is subject to a counseling require­
ment under a sex offender registration statute following conviction in 
another jurisdiction commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if the 
individual violates subsection (a.2). 

(d) Effect of notice.-Neither failure on the part of the Pennsylvania 
State Police to send nor failure of a sexually violent predator or offender to 
receive any notice or information pursuant to 42 Pa.CS. § 9799.25 shall 
be a defense to a prosecution commenced against an individual arising 
from a violation of this section. The provisions of 42 Pa. C.S. § 9799.2.5 are 
not an element of an offense under this section. 

(e) Arrests for violation.-
(1) A police officer shall have the same right of arrest without a 

warrant as in a felony whenever the police officer has probable cause to 
believe an individual has committed a violation of this section regard­
less of whether the violation occurred in the presence of the police 
officer. 

(2) An individual arrested for a violation of this section shall be 
afforded a preliminary arraignment by the proper issuing authority 
without unnecessary delay. In no case may the individual be released 
from custody without first having appeared before the issuing authority. 

(3) Prior to admitting an individual arrested for a violation of this 
section to bail, the issuing authority shall require all of the following: 

(i) The individual must be fingerprinted and photographed in 
the manner required by 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to 
registration of sexual offenders). 

(ii) The individual must provide the Pennsylvania State Police 
with all current or intended residences,· all information concerning 
current or intended employment, including all employment loca­
tions, and all information concerning current or intended enroll­
ment as a student. This subparagraph includes an individual who is 
a transient, in which case the individual must, in addition to other 
information required under this subparagraph, provide the informa­
tion set forth in 42 Pa.CS.§ 9799.16(b)(6). 

(iii) Law enforcement must make reasonable attempts to verify 
the information provided by the individual. 

(j) Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and 
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Sexually violent delinquent child." The term shall have the meaning 
given to it in 42 Pa.CS.§ 9799.12 (relating to definitions). 
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"Sexually violent predator." The term shall have the meaning given to 
it in 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.12 (relating to definitions). 

"Similar offense." An offense similar to an offense under either 
subsection (a)(l) or (2) under the laws of this Commonwealth, another 
jurisdiction or a foreign country or a military offense, as defined in 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9799.12 (relating to definitions). 

"Transient." The term shall have the meaning given to it in 42 Pa.C.S. 
§ 9799.12 (relating to definitions). 

Section 1.2. Sections 5902 and 5903(a)(3), (4) and (5), (b) and (e)(l) of 
Title 18 are amended to read: 
§ 5902. Prostitution and related offenses. 

(a) Prostitution.-A person is guilty of prostitution ifhe or she: 
( 1) is an inmate of a house of prostitution or otherwise engages in 

sexual activity as a business; or 
(2) loiters in or within view of any public place for the purpose of 

being hired to engage in sexual activity. 
(a. I) Grading of offenses under subsection (a).-An offense under 

subsection (a) constitutes a: 
(1) Misdemeanor of the third degree when the offense is a first or 

second offense. 
(2) Misdemeanor of the second degree when the offense is a third 

offense. 
(3) Misdemeanor of the first degree when the offense is a fourth or 

subsequent offense. 
(4) Felony of the third degree if the person who committed the 

offense knew that he or she was human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 
positive or manifesting acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). 
(b) Promoting prostitution.-A person who knowingly promotes 

prostitution of another commits a misdemeanor or felony as provided in 
subsection (c) of this section. The following acts shall, without limitation of 
the foregoing, constitute promoting prostitution: 

(1) owning, controlling, managing, supervising or otherwise keeping, 
alone or in association with others, a house of prostitution or a 
prostitution business; 

(2) procuring an inmate for a house of prostitution or a place in a 
house of prostitution for one who would be an inmate; 

(3) encouraging, inducing, or otherwise intentionally causing another 
to become or remain a prostitute; 

(4) soliciting a person to patronize a prostitute; 
(5) procuring a prostitute for a patron; 
(6) transporting a person into or within this Commonwealth with 

intent to promote the engaging in prostitution by that person, or procuring 
or paying for transportation with that intent; 

(7) leasing or otherwise permitting a place controlled by the actor, 
alone or in association with others, to be regularly used for prostitution or 
the promotion of prostitution, or failure to make reasonable effort to abate . 
such use by ejecting the tenant, notifying law enforcement authorities, or 
other legally available means; or 
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(8) soliciting, receiving, or agreeing to receive any benefit for doing 
or agreeing to do anything forbidden by this subsection. 
(b.J) Promoting prostitution of minor.-A person who knowingly 

promotes prostitution of a minor commits a felony of the third degree. The 
following acts shall, without limitation of the foregoing, constitute 
promoting prostitution of a minor: 

(1) owning, controlling, managing, supervising or otherwise keep­
ing, alone or in association with others, a house of prostitution or a 
prostitution business in which a victim is a minor; 

(2) procuring an inmate who is a minor for a house of prostitution 
or a place in a house of prostitution where a minor would be an inmate; 

(3) encouraging, inducing or otherwise intentionally causing a 
minor to become or remain a prostitute; 

(4) soliciting a minor to patronize a prostitute; 
(5) procuring a prostitute who is a minor for a patron; 
(6) transporting a minor into or within this Commonwealth with 

intent to promote the engaging in prostitution by that minor, or 
procuring or paying for transportation with that intent; 

(7) leasing or otherwise permitting a place controlled by the actor, 
alone or in association with others, to be regularly used for prostitution 
of a minor or the promotion of prostitution of a minor, or failure to 
make reasonable effort to abate such use by ejecting the tenant, 
notifying law enforcement authorities or other legally available means; 
or 

(8) soliciting, receiving or agreeing to receive any benefit for doing 
or agreeing to do anything forbidden by this subsection. 
(c) Grading ofoffenses under subsection (b).-

( 1) An offense under subsection (b) constitutes a felony of the third 
degree if: 

(i) the offense falls within paragraphs (b)(l), (b)(2) or (b)(3); 
(ii) the actor compels another to engage in or promote prostitu­

tion; 
[(iii) the actor promotes prostitution of a child under the age 

of 16 years, whether or not he is aware of the age of the child;) 
(iv) the actor promotes prostitution of his spouse, child, ward or 

any person for .whose care, protection or support he is responsible; or 
(v) the person knowingly promoted prostitution of another who 

was HIV positive or infected with the AIDS virus. 
(2) Otherwise the offense is a misdemeanor of the second degree. 

(d) Living off prostitutes.-A person, other than the prostitute or the 
prostitute's minor child or other legal dependent incapable of self-support, 
who is knowingly supported in whole or substantial part by the proceeds of 
prostitution is promoting prostitution in violation of subsection (b) of this 
section. 

(e) Patronizing prostitutes.-A person commits the offense of patronizing 
prostitutes if that person hires a prostitute or ariy other person to engage in 
sexual activity with him or her or if that person enters or remains in a house 
of prostitution for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity. 



458 Act 2011-111 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

( e.1) Grading of offenses under subsection ( e ).-An offense under 
subsection (e) constitutes a: 

( 1) Misdemeanor of the third degree when the offense is a first or 
second offense. 

(2) Misdemeanor of the second degree when the offense is a third 
offense. 

(3) Misdemeanor of the first degree when the offense is a fourth or 
subsequent offense. 

(4) Felony of the third degree if the person who committed the 
offense knew that he or she was human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 
positive or manifesting acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). 
(e.2) Publication of sentencing order.-A court imposing a sentence for a 

second or subsequent bffense committed under subsection (e) shall publish 
the sentencing order in a newspaper of general circulation in the judicial 
district in which the court sits, and the court costs imposed on the person 
sentenced shall include the cost of publishing the sentencing order. 

(t) Definitions.-As used in this section the following words and phrases 
shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: 

"House of prostitution." Any place where prostitution or promotion of 
prostitution is regularly carried on by one person under the control, 
management or supervision of another. 

"Inmate." A person who engages in prostitution in or through the agency 
of a house of prostitution. 

"Minor." An individual under 18 years of age. 
"Public place." Any place to which the public or any substantial group 

thereof has access. 
"Sexual activity." Includes homosexual and other deviate sexual 

relations. 
§ 5903. Obscene and other sexual materials and performances. 

(a) Offenses defined.-No person, knowing the obscene character of the 
materials or performances involved, shall: 

* * * 
(3) (i) design, copy, draw, photograph, print, utter, publish or in any 
manner manufacture or prepare any obscene materials; or 

(ii) design, copy, draw, photograph, print, utter, publish or in 
any manner manufacture or prepare any obscene materials in 
which a minor is depicted; 
(4) (i) write, print, publish, utter or cause to be written, printed, 
published or uttered any advertisement or notice of any kind giving 
information, directly or indirectly, stating or purporting to state 
where, how, from whom, or by what means any obscene materials can 
be purchased, obtained or had; or 

(ii) write, print, publish, utter or cause to be written, printed, 
published or uttered any advertisement or notice of any kind giving 
information, directly or indirectly, stating or purporting to state 
where, how, from whom or by what means any obscene materials 
can be purchased, obtained or had in which a minor is included; 
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(5) (i) produce, present or direct any obscene performance or 
participate in a portion thereof that is obscene or that contributes to its 
obscenity; or 

(ii) produce, present or direct any obscene performance or 
participate in a portion thereof that is obscene or that contributes to 
its obscenity if a minor is included; 
* * * 

(b) Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and 
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: 

"Community." For the purpose of applying the "contemporary 
community standards" in this section, community means the State. 

"Knowing." As used in subsections (a) and (a.I), knowing means having 
general knowledge of, or reason to know or a belief or ground for belief 
which warrants further inspection or inquiry of, the character and content of 
any material or performance described therein which is reasonably 
susceptible of examination by the defendant. 

"Material." Any literature, including any book, magazine, pamphlet, 
newspaper, storypaper, bumper sticker, comic book or writing; any figure, 
visual representation, or image, including any drawing, photograph, picture, 
videotape or motion picture. 

"Minor." An individual under 18 years of age. 
"Nude." Means showing the human male or female genitals, pubic area 

or buttocks with less than a fully opaque covering, or showing the female 
breast with less than a fully opaque covering of any portion thereof below 
the top of the nipple. 

"Obscene." Any material or performance, if: 
(1) the average person applying contemporary community standards 

would find that the subject matter taken as a whole appeals to the prurient 
interest; 

(2) the subject matter depicts or describes in a patently offensive 
way, sexual conduct of a type described in this section; and 

(3) the subject matter, taken as a whole, lacks serious literary, artistic, 
political, educational or scientific value. 
"Performance." Means any play, dance or other live exhibition performed 

before an audience. 
"Sadomasochistic abuse." Means, in a sexual context, flagellation or 

torture by or upon a person who is nude or clad in undergarments, a mask or 
in a bizarre costume or the condition of being fettered, bound or otherwise 
physically restrained on the part of one who is nude or so clothed. 

"Sexual conduct." Patently offensive representations or descriptions of 
ultimate sexual acts, normal or perverted, actual or simulated, including 
sexual intercourse, anal or oral sodomy and sexual bestiality; and patently 
offensive representations or descriptions of masturbation, excretory 
functions, sadomasochistic abuse and lewd exhibition of the genitals. 

"Subject line." The area of an electronic communication that contains a 
summary description of the content of the message. 

"Transportation facility." Any conveyance, premises or place used for or 
in connection with public passenger transportation, whether by air, rail, 
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motor vehicle or any other method, including aircraft, watercraft, railroad 
cars, buses, and air, boat, railroad and bus terminals and stations. 

* * * 
(e) Definitions.-As used in subsections (c) and (d) of this section: 

((1) "Minor" means any person under the age of 18 years.] 
* * * 

Section 2. Section 6707(2)(ii) of Title 23 is amended to read: 
§ 6707. Agency use of designated address. 

State and local government agencies shall accept the substitute address 
designated on a valid program participation card issued to the program 
participant by the Office of Victim Advocate as the program participant's 
address except as follows: 

* * * 
(2) when the program participant is any of the following: 

* * * 
(ii) a convicted sexual offender who has fulfilled the offender's 

sentence but must register the offender's community residence as 
required under 42 Pa.C.S. [§§ 9795.1 (relating to registration) and 
9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and applicability)] Ch. 
97 Subch. H (relating to registration of sexual offenders) or any 
similar registration requirement imposed by any other jurisdiction. 

Section 3. Sections 6358(a) and (b), 6403(a)(2), (b)(3) and (d) and 6404 
of Title 42 are amended to read: 
§ 6358. Assessment of delinquent children by the State Sexual Offenders 

Assessment Board. 
(a) General rule.-A child who has been found to be delinquent for an 

act of sexual violence which if committed by an adult would be a violation 
of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate 
sexual intercourse), 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault), 3125 (relating to 
aggravated indecent assault), 3126 (relating to indecent assault) or 4302 
(relating to incest) who is committed to an institution or other facility 
pursuant to section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) and who 
remains in any such institution or facility upon attaining 20 years of age 
shall be subject to an assessment by the board. 

(b) Duty of probation officer.-Ninety days prior to the 20th birthday of 
the child, the probation officer shall have the duty to notify the board of the 
status of the delinquent child and the institution or other facility where the 
child is presently committed. The probation officer shall assist the board in 
obtaining access to the child and any information required by the board to 
perform the assessment, including, but not limited to, the child's official 
court record and complete juvenile probation file. 

* * * 
§ 6403. Court-ordered involuntary treatment. 

(a) Persons subject to involuntary treatment-A person may be subject 
to court-ordered commitment for involuntary treatment under this chapter if 
the person: 

* * * 
(2) Has been committed to an institution or other facility pursuant to 

section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) and remains in 
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[the] any such institution or [other] facility upon attaining 20 years of 
age. 

* * * 
(b) Procedures for initiating court-ordered involuntary commitment.­

*** 
(3) The court shall set a date for the hearing which shall be held 

within 30 days of the filing of the petition pursuant to paragraph (1) and 
direct the person to appear for the hearing. A copy of the petition and 
notice of the hearing date shall be served on the person, the attorney who 
represented the person at the most recent dispositional review hearing 
pursuant to section 6358(e) and the county solicitor or a designee. A copy 
of the petition, the assessment and notice of the hearing date shall also 
be provided to the director of the facility operated by the department 
pursuant to section 6406(a) (relating to duty of Department of Public 
Welfare). The person and the attorney who represented the person shall, 
along with copies of the petition, also be provided with written notice 
advising that the person has the right to counsel and that, if he cannot 
afford one, counsel shall be appointed for the person. 

* * * 
(d) Determination and order.-Upon a finding by clear and convincing 

evidence that the person has a mental abnormality or personality disorder 
which results in serious difficulty in controlling sexually violent behavior 
that makes the person likely to engage in an act of sexual violence, an order 
shall be entered directing the immediate commitment of the person for 
[inpatient] involuntary inpatient treatment to a facility designated by the 
department. The order shall be in writing and shall be consistent with the 
protection of the public safety and the appropriate control, care and treatment 
of the person. An appeal shall not stay the execution of the order. If the 
court does not order the person to be committed for involuntary inpatient 
treatment by the department, the court shall order the director of the 
facility operated by the department pursuant to section 6406(a) to destroy 
the facility's copy of the petition and the assessment. 
§ 6404. Duration of inpatient commitment and review. 

(a) Initial period of commitment-The person shall be subject to a 
period of commitment for inpatient treatment for one y,ear. 

(b) Annual review.-
(1) Sixty days prior to the expiration of the one-year commitment 

period, the director of the facility or a designee shall submit an evaluation 
and the board shall submit an assessment of the person to the court. 

(2) The court shall schedule a review hearing which shall be 
conducted pursuant to section 6403( c) (relating to court-ordered in­
voluntary treatment) and which shall be held no later than 30 days after 
receipt of both the evaluation and the assessment under paragraph (1 ). 
Notice of the review hearing shall be provided to the person, the attorney 
who represented the person at the previous hearing held pursuant to this 
subsection or section 6403, the district attorney and the county solicitor or 
a designee. The person and the person's attorney shall also be provided 
with written notice advising that the person has the right to counsel and 
that, if he cannot afford one, counsel shall be appointed for the person. If 
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the court determines by clear and convincing evidence that the person 
continues to have serious difficulty controlling sexually violent behavior 
while committed for inpatient treatment due to a mental abnormality or 
personality disorder that makes the person likely to engage in an act of 
sexual violence, the court shall order an additional period of involuntary 
inpatient treatment of one year; otherwise, the court shall order the 
[discharge of] department, in consultation with the board, to develop an 
outpatient treatment plan for the person. The order shall be in writing 
and shall be consistent with the protection of the public safety and 
appropriate control, care and treatment of the person. 
(c) [Discharge] Outpatient treatment plan.-

(1) If at any time the director or a designee of the facility to which 
the person was committed concludes the person no longer has serious 
difficulty in controlling sexually violent behavior in an inpatient setting, 
the director shall petition the court for a hearing. Notice of the petition 
shall be given to the person, the attorney who represented the person at 
the previous hearing held pursuant to subsection (b) or section 6403, the 
board, the district attorney and the county solicitor. The person and the 
person's attorney shall also be provided with written notice advising that 
the person has the right to counsel and that, if he cannot afford one, 
counsel shall be appointed for the person. 

(2) Upon receipt of notice under paragraph ( 1 ), the board shall 
conduct a new assessment within 30 days and provide that assessment to 
the court. 

(3) Within 15 days after the receipt of the assessment from the board, 
the court shall hold a hearing pursuant to section 6403(c). If the court 
determines by clear and convincing evidence that the person continues to 
have serious difficulty controlling sexually violent behavior while 
committed for inpatient treatment due to a mental abnormality or 
personality disorder that makes the person likely to engage in an act of 
sexual violence, the court shall order that the person be subject to the 
remainder of the period of inpatient commitment. Otherwise, the court 
shall order the [discharge of] department, in consultation with the 
board, to develop an outpatient treatment plan for the person. 

(4) The deparJ:ment shall provide the person with notice of the 
person's right to petition the court for [discharge] transfer to involuntary 
outpatient treatment over the objection of the department. The court, 
after review of the petition, may schedule a hearing pursuant to section 
6403(c). 

(5) An outpatient treatment plan shall be in writing and shall 
identify the specific entity that will provide each clinical and support 
service identified in the plan. 

(6) The department shall provide a copy of the outpatient treatment 
plan to the court, the person, the attorney who represented the person at 
the most recent hearing pursuant to section 6403, the board, the district 
attorney and the county solicitor or a designee. 
(d) Prohibition on discharge.-The court shall not order discharge 

from involuntary treatment until the person has completed involuntary 
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outpatient treatment pursuant to section 6404.2 (relating to duration of 
outpatient commitment and review). 

Section 4. Title 42 is amended by adding sections to read: 
§ 6404.1. Transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment. 

The court may approve or disapprove an outpatient treatment plan. 
Upon approval of an outpatient treatment plan, the court shall order 
transfer of the person to involuntary outpatient treatment pursuant to 
section 6404.2 (relating to duration of outpatient commitment and review). 
§ 6404.2. Duration of outpatient commitment and review. 

(a) Terms and conditions.-If a court has ordered the transfer of the 
person to involuntary outpatient treatment pursuant to section 6404.1 
(relating to transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment), the court may, in 
its discretion, specify the terms and conditions of the outpatient 
commitment, including, but not limited to: 

(1) Absolute compliance with the outpatient treatment plan. 
(2) Restrictions and requirements regarding the location of the 

person's residence and the times the person must be physically present. 
(3) Restrictions and requirements regarding areas the person is not 

permitted to visit. 
(4) Restrictions and requirements regarding who the person may 

contact in any medium. 
(5) Periodic polygraph tests. 

(b) Duration.-The court shall order involuntary outpatient treatment 
for a period of one year. 

(c) Status reports.-An involuntary outpatient treatment provider shall 
submit a report on the person's status and clinical progress, on a form 
prescribed by the department, to the facility operated by the department 
pursuant to section 6406(a) (relating to duty of Department of Public 
Welfare), not less than every 30 days. 

(d) Failure to comply.-lf an involuntary outpatient treatment provider 
becomes aware that the person has violated any provision of the treatment 
plan or any term or condition specified pursuant to subsection (a) or the 
provider concludes that the person is having serious difficulty controlling 
sexually violent behavior in an outpatient setting due to a mental 
abnormality or personality disorder that makes the person likely to engage 
in an act of sexual violence, the provider shall immediately notify the 
facility operated by the department pursuant to section 6406(a). The 
facility shall notify the court by the close of the next business day. 

· (e) Revocation of transfer.-Upon receiving notice pursuant to 
subsection (d) that the person has violated a material term or condition of 
transfer specified pursuant to subsection (a) or that the person is having 
serious difficulty controlling sexually violent behavior in an outpatient 
setting due to a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes the 
person likely to engage in an act of sexual violence, the court shall revoke 
the transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment and order the immediate 
return to involuntary inpatient treatment without a prior hearing. The 
court may issue a warrant requiring any law enforcement officer or any 
person authorized by the court to take the person into custody and return 
the person to involuntary inpatient treatment. The person may file a 
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written request for a hearing after revocation of the transfer to involuntary 
treatment. The court shall conduct a hearing pursuant to section 6403(c) 
(relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment) within ten days of filing 
of the request. 

(j) Annual review and discharge.-
(!) Sixty days prior to the expiration of the one-year outpatient 

commitment period, the director of the facility or a designee shall 
submit an evaluation, and the board shall submit an assessment of the 
person to the court. 

(2) The court shall schedule a review hearing which shall be 
conducted pursuant to section 6403(c) and which shall be held no later 
than 30 days after receipt of both the evaluation and the assessment 
under paragraph (I). Notice of the review hearing shall be provided to 
the person, the attorney who represented the person at the previous 
hearing held pursuant to section 6403, the district attorney and the 
county solicitor or a designee. The person and the person's attorney 
shall also be provided with written notice advising that the person has 
the right to counsel and that, if the person cannot afford one, counsel 
shall be appointed for the person. If the court determines by clear and 
convincing evidence that the person has serious difficulty controlling 
sexually violent behavior due to a mental abnormality or personality 
disorder that makes the person likely to engage in an act of sexual 
violence, the court shall order an additional period of involuntary 
inpatient treatment of one year; otherwise, the court shall order the 
discharge of the person and inform the person on the record and in 
open court of the person's obligation to attend counseling under 
subsection (g), including the penalty for failing to attend counseling 
under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply with 
registration requirements). The order shall be in writing and shall be 
consistent with the protection of the public safety and appropriate 
control, care and treatment of the person. Upon discharge, the person 
shall attend counseling under subsection (g). 
(g) Counseling of sexually violent delinquent children.-For the time 

period under section 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), a sexually 
violent delinquent child shall attend at least monthly counseling sessions 
in a program approved by the board and shall be financially responsible 
for: all fees assessed from the counseling sessions. The board shall monitor 
compliance. If the sexually violent delinquent child can prove to the 
satisfaction of the court inability to afford to pay for the counseling 
sessions, the sexually violent delinquent child shall attend the counseling 
sessions; and the parole office shall pay the requisite fees. 

Section 5. Sections 6406(a), 6409, 9718.l(a) introductory paragraph and 
(b)(2), 9718.2(a) and (d) and 9718.3(a) of Title 42 are amended to read: 
§ 6406. Duty of Department of Public Welfare. 

(a) General rule.-The department shall have the duty to provide a 
separate, secure State-owned facility or unit utilized solely for the control, 
care and treatment of persons committed pursuant to this chapter. The 
department shall be responsible for all costs relating to the control, care and 
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treatment of persons committed to [custody] involuntary treatment pursuant 
to this chapter. 

* * * 
§ 6409. Immunity for good faith conduct. 

The following entities shall be immune from liability for good faith 
conduct under this subchapter: 

(1) Members of the board and its agents and employees. 
(2) The department and its agents and employees. 
(3) County probation departments and their agents and employees. 
(4) Providers of involuntary outpatient treatment and their agents 

and employees. 
§ 9718.1. Sexual offender treatment. 

(a) General rule.-A person, including an offender designated as a 
"sexually violent predator" as defined in section [9792) 9799.12 (relating to 
definitions), shall attend and participate in a Department of Corrections 
program of counseling or therapy designed for incarcerated sex offenders if 
the person is incarcerated in a State institution for any of the following 
provisions under 18 Pa.C.S. (relating to crimes and offenses): 

* * * 
(b) Eligibility for parole.-For an offender required to participate in the 

program under subsection (a), all of the following apply: 
* * * 
(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (l)(iii), an offender who is a sexually 

violent predator is subject to section (9799.4) 9799.36 (relating to 
counseling of sexually violent predators). 
* * * 

§ 9718.2. Sentences for [sex) sexual offenders. 
(a) Mandatory sentence.-

(1) Any person who is convicted in any court of this Commonwealth 
of an offense set forth in section [9795.l(a) or (b) (relating to 
registration)] 9799.14 (relating to sexual offenses and tier system) shall, 
if at the time of the commission of the current offense the person had 
previously been convicted of an offense set forth in section [9795.l(a) or 
(b)] 9799.14 or an equivalent crime under the laws of this Commonwealth 
in effect at the time of the commission of that offense or an equivalent 
crime in another jurisdiction, be sentenced to a minimum sentence of at 
least 25 years of total confinement, notwithstanding any other provision 
of this title or other statute to the contrary. Upon such conviction, the 
court shall give the person oral and written notice of the penalties under 
paragraph (2) for a third conviction. Failure to provide such notice shall 
not render the offender ineligible to be sentenced under paragraph (2). 

(2) Where the person had at the time of the commission of the current 
offense previously been convicted of two or more offenses arising from 
separate criminal transactions set forth in section (9795.l(a) or (b)) 
9799.14 or equivalent crimes under the laws of this Commonwealth in 
effect at the time of the commission of the offense or equivalent crimes in 
another jurisdiction, the person shall be sentenced to a term of life 
imprisonment, notwithstanding any other provision of this title or other 
statute to the contrary. Proof that the offender received notice of or 
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otherwise knew or should have known of the penalties under this 
paragraph shall not be required. 

* * * 
(d) Authority of court in sentencing.-[Notice of the application of this 

section shall be provided to the defendant before trial. If the notice is 
given, there) There shall be no authority in any court to impose on an 
offender to which this section is applicable any lesser sentence than provided 
for in subsections (a) and (b) or to place the offender on probation or to 
suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall prevent the sentencing court 
from imposing a sentence greater than that provided in this section. 
Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the Pennsylvania Commission on 
Sentencing shall not supersede the mandatory sentences provided in this 
section. 

* * * 
§ 9718.3. Sentence for failure to comply with registration of sexual offend­

ers. 
(a) Mandatory sentence.-Mandatory sentencing shall be as follows: 

(1) Sentencing upon conviction for a first offense shall be as follows: 
(i) Not less than two years for an individual who: 

(A) was subject to section 9795.l(a) or (a.I) (relating to 
registration) or a similar provision from another jurisdiction or 
former section 9793 (relating to registration of certain offenders 
for ten years); and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915(a)(l) or (2) (relating to failure 
to comply with registration of sexual offenders requirements). 
(ii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 

(A) was subject to section 9795.l(a) or (a.I) or a similar 
provision from another jurisdiction or former section 9793; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915(a)(3). 
(iii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 

(A) was subject to section 9795.l(b) or a similar provision 
from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915(a)(l) or (2). 
(iv) Not less than five years for an individual who: 

(A) was subject to section 9795.l(b) or a similar provision 
from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 49 l 5(a)(3). 
(2) Sentencing upon conviction for a second or subsequent offense 

shall be as follows: 

* * * 

(i) Not less than five years for an individual who: 
(A) was subject to section 9795.1 or a similar provision from 

another jurisdiction or former section 9793; and 
(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915(a)(l) or (2). 

(ii) Not less than seven years for an individual who: 
(A) was subject to section 9795.1 or a similar provision from 

another jurisdiction or former section 9793; and 
(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 49 ! 5(a)(3). 

Section 6. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read: 
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§ 9718.4. Sentence for failure to comply with registration of sexual 
offenders. 

• (a) Mandatory sentence.-Mandatory sentencing shall be as follows: 
(I) Sentencing upon conviction for a first offense shall be as 

follows: 
(i) Not less than two years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) 
and must register for a period of 15 years under section 9 799.15 
(relating to period of registration) or a similar provision from 
another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.CS. § 4915.l(a)(l) or (2) (relating to. 
failure to comply with registration requirements). 
(ii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 years under section 9799.15 or a similar provision 
from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.CS.§ 4915.l(a)(3). 
(iii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a similar 
provision from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.CS.§ 4915.l(a)(l) or (2). 
(iv) Not less than five years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a similar 
provision from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.l(a)(3). 
(2) Sentencing upon conviction for a second or subsequent offense 

shall be as follows: 
(i) Not less than five years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 or 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a 
similar provision from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.l(a)(l) or (2). 
(ii) Not less than seven years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 or 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a 
similar provision from another jurisdiction; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.CS.§ 4915.l(a)(3). 
(a.1) Transients and mandatory sentence.-Mandatory sentencing 

shall be as follows: . 
(I) Sentencing upon conviction for a first offense shall be as 

follows: 
(i) Not less than two years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 years under section 9799.15 or a similar provision 
from another jurisdiction and is a transient; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.l(a.l)(l) or (2). 
(ii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 
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(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 years under section 9799.15 or a similar provision 
from another jurisdiction and is transient; and • 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a.1)(3). 
(iii) Not less than three years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a similar 
provision from another jurisdiction and is transient; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a.1)(1) or (2). 
(iv) Not less than five years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 25 years or life under $ection 9799.15 or a similar 
provision from another jurisdiction and is a transient; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a.1)(3). 
(2) Sentencing upon conviction for a second or subsequent offense 

shall be as follows: 
(i) Not less than five years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 or 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a 
similar provision from another jurisdiction and is transient; and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a.1)(1) or (2). 
(ii) Not less than seven years for an individual who: 

(A) is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a 
period of 15 or 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a 
similar provision from another jurisdiction and is a transient; 
and 

(B) violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a.1)(3). 
(b) Proof at sentencing.-The provisions of this section shall not be an 

element of the crime, and notice thereof to the defendant shall not be 
required prior to conviction, but reasonable notice of the Commonwealth's 
intention to proceed under this section shall be provided after conviction 
and before sentencing. The applicability of this section shall be determined 
at sentencing. The court shall consider any evidence presented at trial and 
shall afford the Commonwealth and the defendant an opportunity to 
present any necessary additional evidence and shall determine by a 
preponderance of the evidence if this section is applicable. 

(c) Authority of court in sentencing.-There shall be no authority in 
any court to impose on an offender to which this section is applicable any 
lesser sentence than provided for in subsection (a) or to place such 
offender on probation or to suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall 
prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater than that 
provided in this section. Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the 
Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall not supersede the 
mandatory sentences provided in this section. 

(d) Appeal by Commonwealth.-Jf a sentencing court refuses to apply 
this section where applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the right to 
appellate review of the action of the sentencing court. The appellate court 
shall vacate the sentence and remand the case to the sentencing court for 
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imposition of a sentence in accordance with this section if it finds that the 
sentence was imposed in violation of this section. 

Section 7. Section 9791 of Title 42 is amended to read: 
§ 9791. Legislative findings and declaration of policy. 

(a) Legislative findings.-lt is hereby determined and declared as a 
matter of legislative finding: 

(1) If the public is provided adequate notice and information about 
sexually violent predators and certain other offenders, including those 
sexually violent predators and offenders who do not have a ftxed place 
of habitation or abode, the community can develop constructive plans to 
prepare themselves and their children for the offender's release. This 
allows communities to meet with law enforcement to prepare and obtain 
information about the rights and responsibilities of the community and to 
provide education and counseling to their children. 

(2) These sexually violent predators pose a high risk of engaging in 
further offenses even after being released from incarceration or 
commitments and that protection of the public from this type of offender 
is a paramount governmental interest. 

(3) The penal and mental health components of our justice system are 
largely hidden from public view and lack of information from either may 
result in failure of both systems to meet this paramount concern of public 
safety. 

( 4) Overly restrictive confidentiality and liability laws governing the 
release of information about sexually violent predators have reduced the 
willingness to release information that could be appropriately released 
under the public disclosure laws and have increased risks to public safety. 

(5) Persons found to have committed such an offense have a reduced 
expectation of privacy because of the public's interest in public safety and 
in the effective operation of government. 

(6) Release of information about sexually violent predators to public 
agencies and the general public will further the governmental interests of 
public safety and public scrutiny of the criminal and mental health 
systems so long as the information released is rationally related to the 
furtherance of those goals. 
[(b) Declaration of policy.-It is hereby declared to be the intention 

of the General Assembly to protect the safety and general welfare of the 
people of this Commonwealth by providing for registration and commu­
nity notification regarding sexually violent predators who are about to 
be released from custody and will live in or near their neighborhood. It 
is further declared to be the policy of this Commonwealth to require the 
exchange of relevant information about sexually violent predators 
among public agencies and officials and to authorize the release of 
necessary and relevant information about sexually violent predators to 
members of the general public as a means of assuring public protection 
and shall not be construed as punitive.] 

(b) Declaration of policy.-lt is hereby declared to be the intention of 
the General Assembly to: 

(1) Protect the safety and general welfare of the people of this 
Commonwealth by providing for registration and community notijica-
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tion regarding sexually violent predators who are about to be released 
from custody and will live in or near their neighborhood. 

(2) Require the exchange of relevant information about sexually 
violent predators among public agencies and officials and to authorize 
the release of necessary and relevant information about sexually violent 
predators to members of the general public as a means of assuring 
public protection and shall not be construed as punitive. 

(3) Address the Superior Court's opinion in the case of Common­
wealth v. Wilgus, 975 A.2d 1183 (2009), by requiring offenders and 
sexually violent predators without a fixed place of habitation or abode 
to register under this subchapter. 
Section 8. The definitions of "passive notification" and "residence" m 

section 9792 of Title 42 are amended to read:. 
§ 9792. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have 
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

* * * 
"Passive notification." Notification pursuant to section 9798.1 (relating to 

information made available on the Internet and electronic notification) or 
any process whereby persons, pursuant to the laws of the United States or 
one of its territories or possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, 
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation, are able to access 
information pertaining to an individual as a result of the individual having 
been convicted or sentenced by a court for an offense similar to an offense 
listed in section 9795.1 (relating to registration). 

* * * 
"Residence." [A location where an individual resides or is domiciled 

or intends to be domiciled for 30 consecutive days or more during a 
calendar year.) With respect to an individual required to register under 
this subchapter, any of the following: 

(1) A location where an individual resides or is domiciled or intends 
to be domiciled for 30 consecutive days or more during a calendar year. 

(2) In the case of an individual who jails to establish a residence as 
set forth in paragraph (1), a temporary habitat or other temporary place 
of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or 
park, where the individual is lodged. 
* * * 
Section 9. Sections 9795.l(a) and (b) of Title 42 are amended and the 

section is amended by adding subsections to read: 
§ 9795.1. Registration. 

(a) Ten-year registration.-[The) Except as set forth in subsection (a.I) 
or (b), the following individuals shall be required to register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police for a period of ten years: 

(1) Individuals convicted of any of the following offenses: 
18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping) where the victim is a 

minor. 
18 Pa.C.S. § 2910 (relating to luring a child into a motor vehicle 

or structure). 
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18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2 (relating to institutional sexual assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3126 (relating to indecent assault) where the offense 

is graded as a misdemeanor of the first degree or higher. 
18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest) where the victim is 12 years 

of age or older but under 18 years of age. 
18 Pa.C.S. § 5902(b) or (b.J) (relating to prostitution and related 

offenses) where the actor promotes the prostitution of a minor. 
18 Pa.C.S. § 5903(a)(3), (4), (5) or (6) (relating to obscene and 

other sexual materials and performances) where the victim is a minor. 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with minor). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of children). 

(2) Individuals convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to 
commit any of the offenses under paragraph (I) or subsection (b)(2). 

(3) Individuals [currently residing] who currently have a residence 
in this Commonwealth who have been convicted of offenses similar to the 
crimes cited in paragraphs (1) and (2) under the laws of the United States 
or one of its territories or possessions, another state, the District of 
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation or under 
a former law of this Commonwealth. 
(a.I) Exception to ten-year registration.-Except as provided under 

subsection (b), an individual considered to be an offender pursuant to 
section 9795.2(b) (relating to registration procedures and applicability) 
shall be required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police for a period 
less than life, the duration of which is to be determined under section 
9795.2(b). 

(b) Lifetime registration.-The following individuals shall be subject to 
lifetime registration: 

( 1) An individual with two or more convictions of any of the offenses 
set forth in subsection (a). 

((2) Individuals convicted of any of the following offenses: 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 

intercourse). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest) when the victim is under 

12 years of age. 
(3) Sexually violent predators. 
(4) Individuals currently residing in this Commonwealth who 

have been convicted of offenses similar to the crimes cited in 
paragraph (2) under the laws of the United States or one of its 
territories or possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the 
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation or under a former 
law of this Commonwealth.) 

(2) Individuals convicted: 
(i) in this Commonwealth of the following offenses: 

18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape). 
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18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 
intercourse). 

18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest) when the victim is 

under 12 years of age. 
(ii) of offenses similar to the crimes cited in subparagraph (i) 

under the laws of the United States or one of its territories or 
possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the 
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation or under a 
former law of this Commonwealth who currently reside in this 
Commonwealth. 
(3) Sexually violent predators. 
(4) An individual who is considered to be a sexually violent 

predator under section 9795.2(b) or who is otherwise required to 
register for life under section 9795.2(b). 

* * * 
(d) Residents in group-based homes.-

(1) A group-based home may not provide concurrent residence in 
the group-based home to more than five individuals who are required to 
register under this chapter as sexually violent predators. 

(2) A group-based home that violates paragraph (I) shall be subject 
to a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500 for a first violation and in the 
amount of $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation. 

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police or local law enforcement agency 
of jurisdiction shall investigate compliance with this subsection, and the 
Attorney General or district attorney may commence a civil action in the 
court of common pleas of the county in which a group-based home is 
located to impose and collect from the group-based home the penalty 
under paragraph (2). 

(4) As used in this subsection, the term "group-based home" has 
the meaning given to it in 61 Pa.C.S. § 6124(c) (relating to certain 
offenders residing in group-based homes). 
Section 9.1. Sections 9795.2(a)(2)(i) and (3), (b )(4) introductory 

paragraph and (i) and (5) introductory paragraph and (c)(l) and (3), 
9795.3(2), (2.1) and (3) and 9795.5(a)(l) of Title 42 are amended to read: 
§ 9795.2. Registration procedures and applicability. 

(a) Registration.-

*** 
(2) Offenders and sexually violent predators shall inform the 

Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of: 
(i) Any change of residence or establishment of an additional 

residence or residences. In the case of an individual who has a 
residence as defined in paragraph (2) of the definition · of 
"residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to definitions), the 
individual shall inform the Pennsylvania State Police of the 
following: 
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(A) the location of a temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park, 
where the individual is lodged; 

(B) a list of places the individual eats, frequents and 
engages in leisure activities and any planned destinations, 
including those outside this Commonwealth; and 

(C) the place the individual receives mail, including a post 
office box. 

The duty to provide the information set forth in this subparagraph 
shall apply until the individual establishes a residence as defined in 
paragraph (1) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 
9792. If the individual who has a residence as defined in paragraph 
(2) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 changes 
or adds to the places listed in this subparagraph during a 30-day 
period, the individual shall list these when re-registering during the 
next 30-day period. 

* * * 
(3) The [ten-year) registration period required in section 9795.1 (a) 

and (a.I) (relating to registration) shall be tolled when an offender is 
recommitted for a parole violation or sentenced to an additional term of 
imprisonment. In such cases, the Department of Corrections or county 
correctional facility shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police of the 
admission of the offender. 

* * * 
(b) Individuals convicted or sentenced by a court or adjudicated 

delinquent in jurisdictions outside this Commonwealth or sentenced by court 
martial.-

(4) An individual who [resides) has a residence, is employed or is a 
student in this Commonwealth and who has been convicted of or 
sentenced by a court or court martialed for a sexually violent offense or a 
similar offense under the laws of the United States or one of its territories 
or possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the 
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation, or who was required 
to register under a sexual offender statute in the jurisdiction where 
convicted, sentenced or court martialed, shall register at an approved 
registration site within 48 hours of the individual's arrival in this 
Commonwealth. The provisions of this subchapter shall apply to the 
individual as follows: 

(i) If the individual has been classified as a sexually violent 
predator as defined in section 9792 (relating to definitions) or 
determined under the laws of the other jurisdiction or by reason of 
court martial to be subject to active notification and lifetime 
registration on the basis of a statutorily authorized administrative or 
judicial decision or on the basis of a statute or administrative rule 
requiring active notification and lifetime registration based solely on 
the offense for which the individual was convicted, sentenced or court 
martialed, the individual shall, notwithstanding section 9792, be 
considered a sexually violent predator and subject to lifetime 
registration pursuant to section 9795. I (b) (relating to registration). 
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The individual shall also be subject to the provisions of this section 
and sections 9796 (relating to verification of residence), 9798 
(relating to other notification) and 9798.1 (c)(l) (relating to 
information made available on the Internet and electronic notifi­
cation), except that the individual shall not be required to receive 
counseling unless required to do so by the other jurisdiction or by 
reason of court martial. 

* * * 
(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 63 (relating to juvenile 

matters) and except as provided in paragraph (4), an individual who 
[resides] has a residence, is employed or is a student in this Common­
wealth and who is required to register as a sex offender under the laws of 
the United States or one of its territories or possessions, another state, the 
District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign 
nation as a result of a juvenile adjudication shall register at an approved 
registration site within 48 hours of the individual's arrival in this 
Commonwealth. The provisions of this subchapter shall apply to the 
individual as follows: 

* * * 
(c) Registration information to local police.-

( 1) The Pennsylvania State Police shall provide the information 
obtained under this section and sections 9795.3 (relating to sentencing 
court information) and 9796 (relating to verification of residence) to the 
chief law enforcement officers of the police departments of the 
municipalities in which the individual will [reside,] establish a residence 
or be employed or enrolled as a student. In addition, the Pennsylvania 
State Police shall provide this officer with the address at which the 
individual will [reside,] establish a residence or be employed or enrolled 
as a student following his release from incarceration, parole or probation. 

* * * 
(3) The Pennsylvania State Police shall provide notice to the chief 

law enforcement officers of the police departments of the municipalities 
notified pursuant to paragraph (1) when they are in receipt of information 
indicating that the individual will no longer [reside,]' have a residence or 
be employed or be enrolled as a student in the municipality. 

* * * 
§ 9795.3. Sentencing court information. 

The sentencing court shall inform offenders and sexually violent 
predators at the time of sentencing of the provisions of this subchapter. The 
court shall: 

* * * 
(2) Specifically inform the offender or sexually violent predator of 

the duty to inform the Pennsylvania State Police within [ten days] 48 
hours if the offender or sexually violent predator changes residence or 
establishes an additional residence or residences, changes employer or 
employment location for a period of time that will exceed 14 days or for 
an aggregate period of time that will exceed 30 days during any calendar 

'"[reside]" in enrolled bill. 
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year or terminates employment or changes institution or location at which 
the person is enrolled as a student or terminates enrollment. In order to 
fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the sentencing court shall 
specifically inform the offender or sexually violent predator of the duty 
to inform the Pennsylvania State Police of: 

(i) the location of a temporary habitat or other temporary place 
of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park, where 
the individual is lodged; 

(ii) the places the individual eats, frequents and engages in 
leisure activities and any planned destinations, including those 
outside this Commonwealth; and 

(iii) the place the individual receives mail, including a post 
office box, 

if the individual fails to establish a residence as defined in paragraph 
(I) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to 
definitions). 

(2.1) Specifically inform the offender or sexually violent predator of 
the duty to inform the Pennsylvania State Police within [ten days] 48 
hours of becoming employed or enrolled as a student ifthe person has not 
previously provided that information to the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(3) Specifically inform the offender or sexually violent predator of 
the duty to register with a new law enforcement agency if the offender or 
sexually violent predator moves to another state no later than [ten days] 
48 hours after establishing residence in another state. 

* * * 
§ 9795.5. Exemption from certain notifications. 

(a) Lifetime registrants not classified as sexually violent predators.-
(1) An individual required to register under section 9795.l (relating 

to registration) who is not a sexually violent predator may petition the 
sentencing court to be exempt from the application of section 9798.1 
(relating to information made available on the Internet and electronic 
notification) provided no less than 20 years have passed since the 
individual has been convicted in this or any other jurisdiction of any 
offense punishable by imprisonment for more than one year, or the 
individual's release from custody following the individual's most recent 
conviction for any such offense, whichever is later. 

* * * 
Section 10. Section 9796(d) and (f) of Title 42 are amended and the 

section is amended by adding subsections to read: 
§ 9796. Verification ofresidence. 

* * * 
(b.2) Monthly verification by individuals with temporary habitats 

located within this Commonwealth.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall 
verify the residence of individuals required to register under this 
subchapter who have a residence as defined in paragraph (2) of the 
definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to definitions) 
every 30 days through the use of a nonforwardable verification form to the 
last reported location where the individual receives mail. The individual 
shall appear every 30 days at an approved registration site to complete a 
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verification form and to be photographed. The individual shall appear 
within 48 hours of the date designated by the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(b.3) Facilitation of monthly verification.-The Pennsylvania State 
Police shall facilitate and administer the verification process required by 
subsection (b.2) by: 

(1) sending a notice by first class United States mail to an 
individual required to register under this subchapter who has a 
residence as defined in paragraph (2) of the definition of "residence" 
set forth in section 9792 at the last reported location where the 
individual receives mail. This notice shall be sent not more than ten 
days nor less than five days prior to each of the monthly verification 
periods and shall remind the individual of the monthly verification 
requirement and provide a list of approved registration sites; and 

(2) providing verification and compliance forms as necessary to 
each approved registration site. 

* * * 
(d) Failure to provide verification.-Where an offender or sexually 

violent predator fails to provide verification of residence defined in 
paragraph (1) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 
within the ten-day period or the 48-hour period in the case of an offender 
or sexually violent predator who has a residence as defined in paragraph 
(2) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792, as set forth in 
this section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall immediately notify the 
municipal police department of the offender's or the sexually violent 
predator's last verified residence. The local municipal police shall locate the 
offender or sexually violent predator and arrest him for violating this section. 
The Pennsylvania State Police shall assume responsibility for locating the 
offender or sexually violent predator and arresting him in jurisdictions where 
no municipal police jurisdiction exists. The Pennsylvania State Police shall 
assist any municipal police department requesting assistance with locating 
and arresting an offender or sexually violent predator who fails to verify his 
residence. 

* * * 
(t) Effect ofnotice.-Neither failure on the part of the Pennsylvania State 

Police to send nor failure of a sexually violent predator or offender to receive 
any notice or information under subsection (a. l) [or (b.1)], (b.J) or (b.3) 
shall relieve that predator or offender from the requirements of this 
subchapter. 

Section 11. Sections 9797, 9798(a)(l)(ii) and (b), 9798.1 and 9799.1(2) 
and (4) of Title 42 are amended to read: 
§ 9797. Victim notification. 

(a) Duty to inform victim.-
(1) Where the individual is determined to be a sexually violent 

predator by a court under section 9795.4 (relating to assessments), the 
local municipal police department or the Pennsylvania State Police where 
no municipal police jurisdiction exists shall give written notice to the 
sexually violent predator's victim when the sexually violent predator 
registers initially and when he notifies the Pennsylvania State Police of 
any change ofresidence. [This] In the case of a sexually violent predator 



SESSION OF 2011 Act 2011-111 477 

who has a residence as defined in paragraph (1) of the definition of 
"residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to definitions), notice 
shall be given within 72 hours after the sexually violent predator registers 
or notifies the Pennsylvania State Police of a change of address. The 
notice shall contain the sexually violent predator's name and the address 
or addresses where [he resides.] the individual has a residence. In the 
case of a sexually violent predator who has a residence as defined in 
paragraph (2) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792, 
the notice shall contain the sexually violent predator's name and the 
information set forth in section 9795.2(a)(2)(i)(A) and (B) (relating to 
registration procedures and applicability). The notice shall be given to 
the victim within 72 hours after the sexually violent predator registers 
or notifies the Pennsylvania State Police of a change of residence. 

(2) A victim may terminate the duty to inform set forth in paragraph 
(1) by providing the local municipal police department or the 
Pennsylvania State Police where no local municipal police department 
exists with a written statement releasing that agency from the duty to 
comply with this section as it pertains to that victim. 
(b) Where an individual is not determined to be a sexually violent 

predator.-Where an individual is not determined to be a sexually violent 
predator by a court under section 9795.4, the victim shall be notified in 
accordance with section 201 of the act of November 24, 1998 (P.L.882, 
No.111 ), known as the Crime Victims Act. This subsection includes the 
circumstance of an offender having a residence as defined in paragraph 
(2) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792. 
§ 9798. Other notification. 

(a) Notice by municipality's chief law enforcement officer.­
Notwithstanding any of the provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to 
criminal history record information), the chieflaw enforcement officer of the 
full-time or part-time police department of the municipality where a sexually 
violent predator lives shall be responsible for providing written notice as 
required under this section. 

(1) The notice shall contain: 

* * * 
(ii) The address or addresses at which [he resides] the sexually 

violent predator has a residence. If, however, the sexually violent 
predator has a residence as defined in paragraph (2) of the 
definition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to 
definitions), the notice shall be limited to that set forth in section 
9795.2(a)(2)(i)(C) (relating to registration procedures and applica­
bility). 

* * * 
(b) To whom written notice is provided.-The chief law enforcement 

officer shall provide written notice, under subsection (a), to the following 
persons: 

(1) Neighbors of the sexually violent predator. As used in this 
paragraph, where the sexually violent predator lives in a common interest 
com·munity, the term "neighbor" includes the unit owners' association and 
residents of the common interest community. 
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(2) The director of the county children and youth service agency of 
the county where the sexually violent predator [resides] has a residence. 

(3) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for private and parochial schools enrolling students up through 
grade 12 in the municipality where the sexually violent predator [resides] 
has a residence. 

(3 .I) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for each private and parochial school located within a one-mile 
radius of where the sexually violent predator [resides] has a residence. 

(4) The licensee of each certified day care center and licensed 
preschool program and owner/operator of each registered family day care 
home in the municipality where the sexually violent predator [resides] 
has a residence. 

(5) The president of each college, university and community college 
located within 1,000 feet of a sexually violent predator's residence. 

* * * 
§ 9798.1. Information made available on the Internet and electronic 

notification. 
(a) Legislative findings.-It is hereby declared to be the finding of the 

General Assembly that public safety will be enhanced by making 
information about sexually violent predators, lifetime registrants and other 
sex offenders available to the public through the Internet and electronic 
notification. Knowledge of whether a person is a sexually violent predator, 
lifetime registrant or other sex offender could be a significant factor in 
protecting oneself and one's family members, or those in care of a group or 
community organization, from recidivist acts by sexually violent predators, 
lifetime registrants and other sex offenders. The technology afforded by the 
Internet and electronic notification would make this information readily 
accessible to parents and private entities, enabling them to undertake 
appropriate remedial precautions to prevent or avoid placing potential 
victims at risk. Public access to information about sexually violent predators, 
lifetime registrants and other sex offenders is intended solely as a means of 
public protection and shall not be construed as punitive. 

(b) Internet posting of sexually violent predators, lifetime registrants 
[and), other offenders and electronic notification.-The Commissioner of 
the Pennsylvania State Police shall, in the manner and form directed by the 
Governor: 

(1) Develop and maintain a system for making the information 
described in subsection (c) publicly available by electronic means so that 
the public may, without limitation, obtain access to the information via an 
Internet website to view an individual record or the records of all sexually 
violent predators, lifetime registrants and other offenders who are 
registered with the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(2) Ensure that the Internet website contains warnings that any person 
who uses the information contained therein to threaten, intimidate or 
harass another or who otherwise misuses that information may be 
criminally prosecuted. 

(3) Ensure that the Internet website contains an explanation of its 
limitations, including statements advising that a positive identification of 
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a sexually violent predator, lifetime registrant or other offender whose 
record has been made available may be confirmed only by fingerprints; 
that some information contained on the Internet website may be outdated 
or inaccurate; and that the Internet website is not a comprehensive listing 
of every person who has ever committed a sex offense in Pennsylvania. 

(4) Strive to ensure that: 
(i) the information contained on the Internet website is accurate; 
(ii) the data therein is revised and updated as appropriate in a 

timely and efficient manner; and 
(iii) instructions are included on how to seek correction of 

information which a person contends is erroneous. 
(5) Provide on the Internet website general information designed to 

inform and educate the public about sex offenders and sexually violent 
predators and the operation of this subchapter as well as pertinent and 
appropriate information concerning crime prevention and personal safety, 
with appropriate links to other relevant Internet websites operated by the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

(6) Identify when the victim is a minor with a special designation. 
The identity of a victim of a sex offense shall not be published or posted 
on the Internet website. 

(7) Notwithstanding 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history 
record information), develop, implement and maintain a process which 
allows members of the public to receive electronic notification when an 
individual required to register under this subchapter moves into or out 
of a user-designated location. 
(c) Information permitted to be disclosed regarding individuals.­

Notwithstanding 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 [(relating to criminal history record 
information)], the Internet website shall contain the following information 
on each individual: 

(1) For sexually violent predators, the following information shall be 
posted on the Internet website: 

(i) name and all known aliases; 
(ii) year of birth; 
(iii) in the case of an individual who has a residence as defined 

in paragraph (1) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 
9792 (relating to definitions), the street address, municipality, county 
and zip code of all residences, including, where applicable, the name 
of the prison or other place of confinement; 

(iv) the street address, municipality, county, zip code and name 
of any institution or location at which the person is enrolled as a 
student; 

(v) the municipality, county and zip code of any employment 
location; 

(vi) a photograph of the offender, which shall be updated not less 
than annually; 

(vii) a physical description of the offender, including sex, height, 
weight, eye color, hair color and race; 

(viii) any identifying marks, including scars, birthmarks and 
tattoos; 
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(ix) the license plate number and description of any vehicle 
owned or registered to the offender; 

(x) whether the offender is currently compliant with registration 
requirements; 

(xi) whether the victim is a minor; 
(xii) a description of the offense or offenses which triggered the 

application of this subchapter; [and] 
(xiii) the date of the offense and conviction, if available; and 
(xiv) in the case of an individual who has a residence as defined 

in paragraph (2) of the definition of "residence" set forth in section 
9792, the information listed in section 9795.2(a)(2)(i)(C) (relating to 
registration procedures and applicability), including, where appli­
cable, the name of the prison or other place of confinement. 
(2) For all other lifetime registrants and offenders subject to 

registration, the information set forth in paragraph ( 1) shall be posted on 
the Internet website. 
(d) Duration of Internet posting.-

(!) The information listed in subsection (c) about a sexually violent 
predator shall be made available on the Internet for the lifetime of the 
sexually violent predator. 

(2) The information listed in subsection (c) about an offender who is 
subject to lifetime registration shall be made available on the Internet for 
the lifetime of the offender unless the offender is granted relief under 
section 9795.5 (relating to exemption from certain notifications). 

(3) The information listed in subsection (c) about any other offender 
subject to registration shall be made available on the Internet for the entire 
period during which the offender is required to register, including any 
extension of this period pursuant to 9795.2(a)(3) (relating to registration 
procedures and applicability). 

§ 9799 .1. Duties of Pennsylvania State Police. 
The Pennsylvania State Police shall: 

* * * 
(2) In consultation with the Department of Corrections, the Office of 

Attorney General, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and 
the chairman and the minority chairman of the Judiciary Committee of the 
Senate and the chairman and the minority chairman of the Judiciary 
Committee of the House of Representatives, promulgate guidelines 
necessary for the general administration of this subchapter. These 
guidelines shall establish procedures to allow an individual subject to the 
requirements of sections 9795.1 (relating to registration) and 9796 
(relating to verification of residence) to fulfill these requirements at 
approved registration sites throughout this Commonwealth. This 
paragraph includes the duty to establish procedures to allow an 
individual who has a residence as defined in paragraph (2) of the defi­
nition of "residence" set forth in section 9792 (relating to definitions) to 
fulfill the requirements regarding registration at approved registration 
sites throughout this Commonwealth. The Pennsylvania State Police 
shall publish a list of approved registration sites in the Pennsylvania 
Bulletin and provide a list of approved registration sites in any notices 
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sent to individuals required to register under section 9795.1. An approved 
registration site shall be capable of submitting fingerprints, photographs 
and any other information required electronically to the Pennsylvania 
State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall require that approved 
registration sites submit fingerprints utilizing the Integrated Automated 
Fingerprint Identification System or in another manner and in such form 
as the Pennsylvania State Police shall require. The Pennsylvania State 
Police shall require that approved registration sites submit photographs 
utilizing the Commonwealth Photo Imaging Network or in another 
manner and in such form as the Pennsylvania State Police shall require. 
Approved registration sites shall not be limited to sites managed by the 
Pennsylvania State Police and shall include sites managed by local law 
enforcement agencies that meet the criteria for approved registration sites 
set forth in this paragraph. 

* * * 
(4) Notify, within five business days of receiving the offender's or 

the sexually violent predator's registration, the chief law enforcement 
officers of the police departments having primary jurisdiction of the 
municipalities in which an offender or sexually violent predator (resides] 
has a residence, is employed or enrolled as a student of the fact that the 
offender or sexually violent predator has been registered with the 
Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to sections 9795 .2 (relating to 
registration procedures and applicability) and 9796 (relating to 
verification of residence). 

* * * 
Section 12. Title 42 is amended by adding sections to read: 

§ 9799.10. Purposes of subchapter. 
This subchapter shall be interpreted and construed to effectuate the 

following purposes: 
(1) To bring the Commonwealth into substantial compliance with 

the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 
109-248, 120 Stat. 587). 

(2) To require individuals convicted of certain sexual offenses to 
register with the Pennsylvania State Police and to otherwise comply 
with this subchapter if those individuals reside within this Common­
wealth, intend to reside within this Commonwealth, attend an definition 
institution within this Commonwealth or are employed or conduct 
volunteer work within this Commonwealth. 

(3) To require individuals convicted of certain sexual offenses who 
fail to maintain a residence and are therefore homeless but can still be 
found within the borders of this Commonwealth to register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police. 

(4) To require individuals who are currently subject to the criminal 
justice system of this Commonwealth as inmates, supervised with 
respect to probation or parole or registrants under this subchapter to 
register with the Pennsylvania State Police and to otherwise comply 
with this subchapter. To the extent practicable and consistent with the 
requirements of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 
2006, this subchapter shall be construed to maintain existing 
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procedures regarding registration of sexual offenders who are subject to 
the criminal justice system of this Commonwealth. 

(5) To provide a mechanism for members of the general public to 
obtain information about certain sexual offenders from a public 
Internet website and to include on that Internet website a feature which 
will allow a member of the public to enter a zip code or a geographic 
radius and determine whether a sexual offender resides within that zip 
code or radius. 

(6) To provide a mechanism/or law enforcement entities within this 
Commonwealth to obtain information about certain sexual offenders 
and to allow law enforcement entities outside this Commonwealth, 
including those within the Federal Government, to obtain current 
information about certain sexual offenders. 

§ 9799.11. Legislative findings and declaration of policy. 
(a) Legislativefindings.-The General Assembly finds as follows: 

(1) In 1995 the General Assembly enacted the act of October 24, 
1995 (1st Sp.Sess. P.L.1079, No.24), commonly referred to as Megan's 
Law. Through this enactment, the General Assembly intended to comply 
with legislation enacted by Congress requiring that states provide for 
the registration of sexual offenders. The Federal statute, the Jacob 
Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender 
Registration Act (Public Law 103-322, 42 U.S.C. 14071 et seq.), has 
been superseded by the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 
2006 (Public Law 109-248, 120 Stat. 587). 

(2) This Commonwealth's laws regarding registration of sexual 
offenders need to be strengthened. The Adam Walsh Child Protection 
and Safety Act of 2006 provides a mechanism for the Commonwealth to 
increase its regulation of sexual offenders in a manner which is 
nonpunitive but offers an increased measure of protection to the 
citizens of this Commonwealth. 

(3) If the public is provided adequate notice and information about 
sexual offenders, the community can develop constructive plans to 
prepare for the presence of sexual offenders in the community. This 
allows communities to meet with law enforcement to prepare and obtain 
information about the rights and responsibilities of the community and 
to provide education and counseling to residents, particularly children. 

(4) Sexual offenders pose a high risk of committing additional 
sexual offenses and protection of the public from this type of offender is 
a paramount governmental interest. 

(5) Sexual offenders have a reduced expectation of privacy because 
of the public's interest in public safety and in the effective operation of 
government. 

(6) Release of information about sexual offenders to public 
agencies and the general public will further the governmental interests 
of public safety and public scrutiny of the criminal and mental health 
systems so long as the information released is rationally related to the 
furtherance of those goals. 

(7) Knowledge of whether a person is a sexual offender could be a 
significant factor in protecting oneself and one's family members, or 
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those in care of a group or community organization, from recidivist acts 
by such offenders. 

(8) The technology afforded by the Internet and other modern 
electronic communication methods makes this information readily 
accessible to parents, minors and private entities, enabling them to 
undertake appropriate remedial precautions to prevent or avoid placing 
potential victims at risk. 
(b) Declaration ofpolicy.-The General Assembly declares as follows: 

(1) It is the intention of the General Assembly to substantially 
comply with the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 
and to further pro~ect the safety and general welfare of the citizens of 
this Commonwealth by providing for increased regulation of sexual 
offenders, specifically as that regulation relates to registration of sexual 
offenders and community notification about sexual offenders. 

(2) It is the policy of the Commonwealth to require the exchange of 
relevant information about sexual offenders among public agencies and 
officials and to authorize the release of necessary and relevant 
information about sexual offenders to members of the general public as 
a means of assuring public protection and shall not be construed as 
punitive. 

§ 9799.12. Definitions. 
The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall 

have the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Approved registration site." A site in this Commonwealth approved by 
the Pennsylvania State Police: 

(1) at which individuals subject to this subchapter may register, 
update and verify information or be fingerprinted and photographed as 
required by this subchapter; 

(2) which is capable of submitting fingerprints utilizing the 
Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System or in another 
manner and in the form as the Pennsylvania State Police shall require; 
and 

(3) which is capable of submitting photographs in the form as the 
Pennsylvania State Police shall require. 
"Board." The State Sexual Offenders Assessment Board. 
"Common interest community." Includes a cooperative, a 

condominium and a planned community where an individual by virtue of 
an ownership interest in any portion of real estate is or may become 
obligated by covenant, easement or agreement imposed upon the owner's 
interest to pay any amount for real property taxes, insurance, mainte­
nance, repair, improvement, management, administration or regulation of 
any part of the real estate other than the portion or interest owned solely by 
the individual. 

"Convicted." Includes conviction by entry of plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere, conviction after trial and a finding of not guilty due to insanity 
or of guilty but mentally ill. 

"Employed." Includes a vocation or employment that is full time or 
part time for a period of time exceeding four days during a seven-day 



484 Act 2011-111 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

period or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 14 days during any 
calendar year, whether self-employed, volunteered, financially compen­
sated, pursuant to a contract or for the purpose of governmental or 
educational benefit. 

"Foreign country." Includes Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, 
New Zealand and a foreign country where the United States Department of 
State in the Country Reports on Human Rights Practices has concluded 
that an independent judiciary enforced the right to a fair trial in that 
country during the calendar year in which the individual's conviction 
occurred. 

"IAFIS." The Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System. 
"Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System." The 

national fingerprint and criminal history system maintained by the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation providing automated fingerprint search 
capabilities, latent searching capability, electronic image storage and 
electronic exchange of fingerprints and responses. 

"Jurisdiction." A state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of 
Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, the 
United States Virgin Islands and a federally recognized Indian tribe as 
provided in section 127 of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety 
Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248, 42U.S.C.§16927). 

"Juvenile offender." One of the following: 
(1) An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the time the 

individual committed an offense which, if committed by an adult, would 
be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 
3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125 
(relating to aggravated indecent assault) or an attempt, solicitation or 
conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S § 3121, 3123 or 3125 
and either: 

(i) is adjudicated delinquent for such offense on or after the 
effective date of this section; or 

(ii) has been adjudicated delinquent for such offense and on the 
effective date of this section is subject to the jurisdiction of the 
court, including commitment to an institution or facility set forth in 
section 6352(a)(3) (relating to a disposition of delinquent child). 
(2) An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the time the 

individual committed an offense similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. 
§ 3121, 3123 or 3125 or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit 
an offense similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 
under the laws of the United States, another jurisdiction or a foreign 
country and was adjudicated delinquent for such an offense. 

The term does not include a sexually violent delinquent child. 
"Mental abnormality." A congenital or acquired condition of a person 

that affects the emotional or volitional capacity of the person in a manner 
that predisposes that person to the commission of criminal sexual acts to a 
degree that makes the person a menace to the health and safety of other 
persons. 
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"Military offense." An offense specified by the United States Secretary 
of Defense under JO U.S.C. § 951 (relating to establishment; organization; 
administration). 

"Minor. " Any individual under 18 years of age. 
"Municipality." A city, borough, incorporated town or township. 
"NCIC." The National Crime Information Center. 
"Penetration." Includes any penetration, however slight, of the 

genitals or anus or mouth of another person with a part of the person's 
body or a foreign object for any purpose other than good faith medical, 
hygienic or law enforcement procedures. 

"Predatory." An act directed at a stranger or at a person with whom a 
relationship has been initiated, established, maintained or promoted, in 
whole or in part, in order to facilitate or support victimization. 

"Registry." The Statewide Registry of Sexual Offenders established in 
section 9799.16(a) (relating to registry). 

"Residence." A location where an individual resides or is domiciled or 
intends to be domiciled for 30 consecutive days or more during a calendar 
year. The term includes a residence which is mobile, including a 
houseboat, mobile home, trailer or recreational vehicle. 

"Sexual offender." An individual required to register under this 
subchapter. 

"Sexually violent delinquent child." As defined in section 6402 
(relating to definitions). 

"Sexually violent offense." An offense specified in section 9799.14 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system) as a Tier I, Tier II or Tier III 
sexual offense. · 

"Sexually violent predator." An individual convicted of an offense 
specified in: 

(1) section 9799.14(b)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9) or (JO) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system) or an attempt, conspiracy or 
solicitation to commit any offense under section 9799.14(b)(l), (2), (3), 
(4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9) or (JO); 

(2) section 9799.14(c)(l), (1.1), (1.2), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6) or an 
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799.14(c)(l), (1.1), (1.2), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6); or 

(3) section 9799.14(d)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8) or (9) or an 
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799.14(d)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8) or (9) 

who is determined to be a sexually violent predator under section 9799.24 
(relating to assessments) due to a mental abnormality or personality 
disorder that makes the individual likely to engage in predatory sexually 
violent offenses. The term includes an individual determined to be a 
sexually violent predator where the determination occurred in another 
jurisdiction, a foreign country or by court martial. 

"Student." An individual who is enrolled in or attends a public or 
private educational institution within this Commonwealth on a full-time or 
part-time basis, including a secondary school, trade or professional 
institution or institution of higher education. The term does not include an 
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individual enrolled in an educational institution exclusively through the 
Internet or via correspondence courses. 

"Temporary lodging." The specific location, including street address, 
where a sexual offender is staying when away from the sexual offender's 
residence for seven or more days. 

"Tier I sexual offense." An offense specified in section 9799.14(b) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system). 

"Tier II sexual offense." An offense specified in section 9799.14(c) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system). 

"Tier III sexual offense." An offense specified in section 9799.14(d) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system). 

"Transient." An individual required to register under this subchapter 
who does not have a residence but nevertheless resides in this 
Commonwealth in a temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode 
or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. 
§ 9799.13. Applicability. 

The following individuals shall register with the Pennsylvania State 
Police as provided in sections 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) and 9799.25 (relating to 
verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police) and 
otherwise comply with the provisions of this subchapter: 

(1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
has been convicted of a sexually violent offense and who has a 
residence within this Commonwealth or is a transient. 

(1.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, has been convicted of a sexually violent offense in this 
Commonwealth and does not have a residence in this Commonwealth 
and: 

(i) is employed in this Commonwealth; or 
(ii) is a student in this Commonwealth. 

(2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is an inmate in a State or county correctional institution of this 
Commonwealth, including a community corrections center or a 
community contract facility, is being supervised by the Pennsylvania 
Board of Probation and Parole or county probation or parole or is 
subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment and has been 
convicted of a sexually violent offense. 

(2.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, is an inmate in a Federal correctional institution or is 
supervised by Federal probation authorities and has committed a 
sexually violent offense. · 

(3) An individual who is required to register with the Pennsylvania 
State Police under this subchapter prior to the effective date of this 
section who has not fulfilled the period of registration as of the effective 
date of this section. 

(4) An individual who was required to register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to former section 9795.1 (relating to 
registration) and: 
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(i) has fulfilled the period of registration provided in former 
section 9795.l(a) or has been removed from the registry under 
former section 9795.5 (relating to exemption from certain notifi­
cations); and 

(ii) on or after the effective date of this section, is convicted of a 
sexually violent offense or convicted of an offense graded as a 
felony. 
(4.1) An individual who was required to register under this 

subchapter and has fulfilled the period of registration provided in this 
subchapter and who, on or after the effective date of this section, is 
convicted of a sexually violent offense or of an offense graded as a 
felony. 

(5) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
was required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to 
this subchapter and: 

(i) has fulfilled the period of registration provided in this 
subchapter; and 

(ii) on or after the effective date of this section, is convicted of 
an offense graded as a felony. 
(6) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 

was required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to 
this subchapter and: 

(i) has been removed from the registry pursuant to section 
9799.17 (relating to termination of period of registration for 
juvenile offenders); and 

(ii) is subsequently convicted of an offense graded as a felony. 
(7) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 

is required to register in a sexual offender registry in another 
jurisdiction or in a foreign country based upon a conviction for a 
sexually violent offense or under a sexual offender statute in the 
jurisdiction where the individual is convicted and: 

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a transient; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(7.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, is required to register in a sexual offender registry in another 
jurisdiction or foreign country based upon a conviction of a sexual 
offense which is not classified as a sexually violent offense and: 

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(8) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is a juvenile offender who was adjudicated delinquent within this 
Commonwealth or was adjudicated delinquent in another jurisdiction 
or a foreign country and: 

(i) has a residence within this Commonwealth; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 
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(9) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is a sexually violent delinquent child who is committed for involuntary 
treatment or, on the effective date of this section, is under commitment 
receiving involuntary treatment in the State-owned facility or unit as set 
forth in Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of 
certain sexually violent persons). 

§ 9799.14. Sexual offenses and tier system. 
(a) Tier system established.-Sexual offenses shall be classified in a 

three-tiered system composed of Tier I sexual offenses, Tier II sexual 
offenses and Tier III sexual offenses. 

(b) Tier I sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified 
as Tier I sexual offenses: 

(1) 18 Pa.CS.§ 2902(b) (relating to unlawful restraint). 
(2) 18 Pa.CS.§ 2903(b) (relating to false imprisonment). 
(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2904 (relating to interference with custody of 

children). 
(4) 18 Pa.CS.§ 2910 (relating to luring a child into a motor vehicle 

or structure). 
(5) 18 Pa.CS.§ 3124.2(a) (relating to institutional sexual assault). 
(6) 18 Pa.CS.§ 3126(a)(J) (relating to indecent assault). 
(7) (Reserved). 
(8) 18 Pa.CS.§ 630J(a)(J)(ii) (relating to corruption of minors). 
(9) 18 Pa.CS. § 6312(d) (relating to sexual abuse of children). 
(JO) 18 Pa.CS.§ 7507.1. (relating to invasion of privacy). 
(11) 18 U.S.C. § 1801 (relating to video voyeurism). 
(12) 18 U.S.C. § 2252 (relating to certain activities relating to 

material involving the sexual exploitation of minors). 
(13) 18 U.S.C. § 2252A (relating to certain activities relating to 

material constituting or containing child pornography). 
(14) 18 U.S.C. § 2252B (relating to misleading domain names on 

the Internet). 
(15) 18 U.S.C. § 2252C (relating to misleading words or digital 

images on the Internet). 
(16) 18 U.S.C. § 2422(a) (relating to coercion and enticement). 
(17) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(b) (relating to transportation of minors). 
(18) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(c). 
(19) 18 U.S.C. § 2424 (relating to filing factual statement about 

alien individual). 
(20) 18 U.S.C. § 2425 (relating to use of interstate facilities to 

transmit information about a minor). 
(21) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the 

laws of another jurisdiction or foreign country. 
(22) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense 

listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (JO), (11), (12), 
(J~(J~(J~(J~(J~(J~(J~~~M~~ 
(c) Tier II sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified 

as Tier II sexual offenses: 
(1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3122.l(a)(2) (relating to statutory sexual assault). 
(1.1) 18 Pa.CS.§ 3124.2(a.2) and (a.3). 
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(1.2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126(a)(2), (3), (4), (5), (6) or (8). 
(2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 5902(b.1) (relating to prostitution and related 

offenses). 
(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 5903(a)(3)(ii), (4)(ii), (5)(ii) or (6) (relating to 

obscene and other sexual materials and performances). 
(4) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6312(b) and (c). 
(5) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with minor). 
(6) 18 Pa. C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of children). 
(7) 18 U.S.C. § 1591 (relating to sex trafficking of children by 

force, fraud, or coercion)~ 
(8) 18 U.S. C. § 2243 (relating to sexual abuse of a minor or ward). 
(9) 18 U.S.C. § 2244 (relating to abusive sexual contact). 
(10) 18 U.S. C. § 2251 (relating to sexual exploitation of children). 
(11) 18 U.S.C. § 2251A (relating to selling or buying of children). 
(12) 18 u.s.c. § 2252. 
(13) 18 U.S.C. § 2260 (relating to production of sexually explicit 

depictions of a minor for importation into the United States). 
(14) 18 U.S.C. § 2421 (relating to transportation generally). 
(15) 18 u.s.c. § 2422(b). 
(16) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(a). 
(17) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the 

laws of another jurisdiction or foreign country. 
(18) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense 

listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12), 
(13), (14), (15), (16) or (17). 
(d) Tier III sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified 

as Tier III sexual offenses: 
(1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2901(a.1) (relating to kidnapping). 
(2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape). 
(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3122.l(b) (relating to statutory sexual assault). 
(4) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 

intercourse). 
(5) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault). 
(6) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2(a.1). 
(7) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault). 
(8) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126(a)(7). 
(9) 18 Pa.C.S. § 4302(b) (relating to incest). 
(10) 18 U.S.C. § 2241 (relating to aggravated sexual abuse). 
(11) 18 U.S.C. § 2242 (relating to sexual abuse). 
(12) 18 u.s.c. § 2244. 
(13) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the 

laws of another jurisdiction or country. 
(14) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense 

listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12) 
or (13). 

(15) An offense listed as a Tier II sexual offense where there is a 
subsequent conviction for an offense graded as a felony. 

(16) Two or more convictions of offenses listed as Tier I or Tier II 
sexual offenses. 
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§ 9799.15. Period of registration. 
(a) Period of registration.-Subject to subsection (c), an individual 

specified in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) shall register with 
the Pennsylvania State Police as follows: 

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense shall register 
for a period of 15 years. 

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier II sexual offense shall register 
for a period of 25 years. 

(3) An individual convicted of a Tier III sexual offense shall 
register for the life of the individual. 

(4) A juvenile offender shall register for the life of the individual. 
(5) A sexually violent delinquent child shall register for the life of 

the individual. 
(6) A sexually violent predator shall register for the life of the 

individual. 
(7) An individual subject to registration under section 9799.13 shall 

register for the period of time equal to the time for which the individual 
was required to register in another jurisdiction or foreign country. 
(b) Commencement of registration.-The following apply: 

(1) The period of registration set forth in subsection (a) shall 
commence as follows: 

(i) For an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense in 
this Commonwealth, the period of registration shall commence 
upon: 

(A) release from incarceration in a State or county 
correctional facility, including release to a community 
correction center or community contract facility; 

(B) parole or a sentence of probation; or 
(C) a sentence of State or county intermediate punishment 

in which the person is not sentenced to a period of 
incarceration. 
(ii) For an individual who is a juvenile offender, the period of 

registration shall commence upon: 
(A) release from an institution or facility set forth in section 

6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition of delinquent child), if the 
juvenile offender is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
subject to the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to a disposition 
entered under section 6352 and is under court-ordered 
placement in an institution or facility set forth in section 
6352(a)(3); or 

(B) disposition, if the juvenile offender is, on or after the 
effective date of this section, subject to the jurisdiction of a court 
pursuant to a disposition entered under section 6352 and is 
placed on probation or is otherwise subject to jurisdiction of a 
court pursuant to a disposition under section 6352 that did not 
involve out-of-home placement. 
(iii) For a sexually violent delinquent child, the period of 

registration shall commence upon transfer to involuntary outpatient 
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treatment pursuant to section 6404.1' (relating to transfer to invol­
untary outpatient treatment). 

(iv) For an individual who is convicted of a sexually violent 
offense in another jurisdiction or foreign country or a comparable 
military offense, the period of registration shall commence upon 
establishment of a residence or commencement of employment or 
enrollment as a student within this Commonwealth. This subpara­
graph shall apply to an individual convicted of a sexually violent 
offense in another jurisdiction or foreign country or comparable 
military offense and who is a transient. 
(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1), an individual 

specified in section 9799.13 shall initially register with the Pennsylvania 
State Police as set forth in section 9799.19 (relating to initial registra­
tion). 
(c) Period of registration tolled.-Thefollowing shall apply: 

(1) The period of registration set forth in subsection (a) shall be 
tolled for the period of time in which the individual specified in section 
9799.13 is: 

(i) incarcerated in a State or county correctional institution, 
excluding a community contract facility or community corrections 
center; 

(ii) subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment which is 
restrictive and where the individual is sentenced to a period of 
incarceration; 

(iii) committed to an institution or facility set forth in section 
6352(a)(3); or 

(iv) committed to and receiving involuntary inpatient treatment 
in the State-owned facility or unit set forth in Chapter 64 (relating 
to court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually violent 
persons). 
(2) This subsection shall apply to an individual specified in section 

9799.13 who is recommitted to a State or county correctional institution 
for a parole violation or who has been sentenced to an additional term 
of imprisonment. In the case of recommitment, the Department of 
Corrections or the county correctional facility shall notify the Pennsyl­
vania State Police of the admission of the individual. 
(d) Sexually violent predators.-An individual convicted of a Tier I 

sexual offense, a Tier II sexual offense or a Tier Ill sexual offense who is 
determined to be a sexually violent predator under section 9799.24 
(relating to assessments) shall register for the life of the individual. 

(e) Periodic in-person appearance required.-Except as provided in 
subsection (/) and subject to subsections (g) and (h), an individual specifi­
ed in section 9799.13 shall appear in person at an approved registration 
site to provide or verify the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) 
(relating to registry) and to be photographed as follows: 

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense shall appear 
annually. 

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier II sexual offense shall appear 
semiannually. 

1"6401.1" in enrolled bill. 
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(3) An individual convicted of a Tier III sexual offense shall appear 
quarterly. 

(4) An individual required to register pursuant to section 
9799.13(7.1) shall appear annually. 
(j) Sexually violent predators.-An individual convicted of a Tier I 

sexual offense, a Tier II sexual offense or a Tier III sexual offense who is 
determined to be a sexually violent predator under section 9799.24 shall 
appear in person at an approved registration site to provide or verify the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be photographed 
quarterly. 

(g) In-person appearance to update information.-In addition to the 
periodic in-person appearance required in subsection (e), an individual 
specified in section 9799.13 shall appear in person at an approved 
registration site within three business days to provide current information 
relating to: 

(1) A change in name, including an alias. 
(2) A commencement of residence, change in residence, termina­

tion of residence or failure to maintain a residence, thus making the 
individual a transient. 

(3) Commencement of employment, a change in the location or 
entity in which the individual is employed or a termination of 
employment. 

(4) Initial enrollment as a student, a change in enrollment as a 
student or termination as a student. 

(5) An addition and a change in telephone number, including a cell 
phone number, or a termination of telephone number, including a cell 
phone number. · 

(6) An addition, a change in and termination of a motor vehicle 
owned or operated, including watercraft or aircraft. In order to fulfill 
the requirements of this paragraph, the individual must provide any 
license plate numbers and registration numbers and other identifiers 
and an addition to or change in the address of the place the vehicle is 
stored. 

(7) A commencement of temporary lodging, a change in temporary 
lodging or a termination of temporary lodging. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the individual must provide the specific 
length of time and the dates during which the individual will be 
temporarily lodged. 

(8) A change in or termination of e-mail address, instant message 
address or any other designations used in Internet communications or 
postings. 

(9) An addition, change in or termination of information related to 
occupational and professional licensing, including type of license held 
and license number. 
(h) Transients, juvenile offenders and sexually violent delinquent 

children.-If the individual specified in section 9799.13 is a transient, a 
juvenile offender or a sexually violent delinquent child, the following 
apply: 
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(1) If the individual is a transient, the individual shall appear in 
person at an approved registration site to provide or to verify the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be photographed 
monthly. The duty to appear in person monthly and to be photographed 
shall apply until a transient establishes a residence. In the event a 
transient establishes a residence, the requirement of periodic in-person 
appearances set forth in subsection (e)' shall apply. 

(2) If the individual is a juvenile offender, the individual shall 
appear at an approved registration site to provide or verify the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be photographed 
quarterly. 

(3) If the individual is a sexually violent delinquent child, the 
individual shall appear at an approved registration site to provide or 
verify the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be 
photographed quarterly. 
(i) International travel.-In addition to the periodic in-person 

appearance required in subsection (e)', an individual specified in section 
9799.13 shall appear in person at an approved registration site no less than 
21 days in advance of traveling outside of the United States. The 
individual shall provide the following information: 

(1) Dates of travel, including date of return to the United States. 
(2) Destinations. 
(3) Temporary lodging. 

§ 9799.16. Registry. 
(a) Establishment.-There is established a Statewide registry of sexual 

offenders in order to carry out the provisions of this subchapter. The 
Pennsylvania State Police shall create and maintain the registry. The 
registry shall maintain a complete and systematic index of all records 
required regarding sexual offenders in order to comply with the Adam 
Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248, 120 
Stat. 587). The registry shall: 

(1) Be composed of an electronic database and digitized records. 
(2) Be able to communicate with the Sex Offender Registration and 

Notification Act Exchange Portal developed by the United States 
Department of Justice, the National Sex Offender Registry or any 
successor database which is maintained by the Department of Justice 
and the Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Internet Website 
maintained by the Department of Justice. 

(3) Be able to communicate with sexual offender registries 
established in other jurisdictions. 
(b) Information provided by sexual offender.-An individual specified 

in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) shall provide the following 
information which shall be included in the registry: 

(1) Primary or given name, including an alias used by the 
individual, nickname, pseudonym, ethnic or tribal name, regardless of 
the context used and any designations or monikers used for self­
identification in Internet communications or postings. 

1"(c)" in enrolled bill. 
2
"( c )" in enrolled bill. 
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(2) Designation used by the individual for purposes of routing or 
self-identification in Internet communications or postings. 

(3) Telephone number, including cell phone number, and any other 
designation used by the individual for purposes of routing or self­
identification in telephonic communications. 

(4) Valid Social Security number issued to the individual by the 
Federal Government and purported Social Security number. 

(5) Address of each residence or intended residence. If the 
individual enters this Commonwealth and fails to maintain a residence 
and is therefore a transient, the individual shall provide information for 
the registry as set forth in paragraph (6). 

(6) If the individual is a transient, the individual shall provide 
information about the transient's temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless 
shelter or park. In addition, the transient shall provide a list of places 
the transient eats, frequents and engages in leisure activities and any 
planned destinations, including those outside this Commonwealth. If 
the transient changes or adds to the places listed under this paragraph 
during a 30-day period, the transient shall list these when registering as 
a transient during the next 30-day period. In addition, the transient 
shall provide the place the transient receives mail, including a post 
office box. If the transient has been designated as a sexually violent 
predator, the transient shall state whether he is in compliance with 
section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators). 
The duty to provide the information set forth in this paragraph shall 
apply until the transient establishes a residence. In the event a transient 
establishes a residence, the requirements of section 9799.1 S(e) (relating 
to period of registration) shall apply. 

(7) Temporary lodging. In order to fulfill the requirements of this 
paragraph, the individual must provide the specific length of time and 
the dates during which the individual will be temporarily lodged. 

(8) A passport and documents establishing immigration status, 
which shall be copied in a digitized format for inclusion in the registry. 

(9) Name and address where the individual is employed or will be 
employed. In order to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, if the 
individual is not employed in a fvced workplace, the individual shall 
provide information regarding general travel routes and general areas 
where the individual works. 

(10) Information relating to occupational and professional 
licensing, including type of license held and the license number. 

(11) Name and address where the individual is a student or will be 
a student. 

(12) Information relating to motor vehicles owned or operated by 
the individual, including watercraft and aircraft. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the individual shall provide a 
description of each motor vehicle, watercraft or aircraft. The individual 
shall provide a license plate number, registration number or other 
identification number and the address of the place where a vehicle is 
stored. In addition, the individual shall provide the individual's license 
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to operate a motor vehicle or other identification card issued by the 
Commonwealth, another jurisdiction or a foreign country so that the 
Pennsylvania State Police can fulfill its responsibilities under 
subsection (c)(7). 

(13) Actual date of birth and purported date of birth. 
(14) Form signed by the individual acknowledging the individual's 

obligations under this subchapter provided in accordance with section 
9799.23 (relating to court notification and classification requirements). 
(c) Criminal justice information.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall 

ensure that the following information is included in the registry: 
(1) Physical description of the individual, including a general 

physical description and tattoos, scars and other identifying marks. 
(2) Text of the statute defining the criminal offense for which the 

individual is registered. 
(3) Criminal history record information of the individual, includ­

ing: 
(i) Dates of arrests and convictions. 
(ii) Status of probation, parole or supervised release. 
(iii) Whether the individual is in compliance with requirements 

regarding this subchapter or has absconded. 
(iv) Existence of any outstanding warrants. 

(4) Current photograph of the individual. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, in addition to the taking of photographs 
pursuant to section 9799.JS(e), the Pennsylvania State Police shall 
ensure that additional photographs are taken as needed when there is a 
significant change in appearance of the individual, including the taking 
of a current photograph before the individual is released from a State or 
county correctional institution or an institution or facility set forth in 
section 6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition of delinquent child) or 
discharged from the State-owned facility or unit set forth in Chapter 64 
(relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually 
violent persons) due to: 

(i) the expiration of sentence, period of commitment or 
involuntary treatment; 

(ii) parole or other supervised release, including release to a 
community corrections center or a community contract facility; 

(iii) commencement of a sentence of intermediate punishment; 
or 

(iv) any other form of supervised release. 
(5) Set of fingerprints and palm prints of the individual. In order to 

fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the palm prints shall be taken 
for the purpose of submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
Central Database. The palm prints shall be submitted for entry into the 
database. 

(6) DNA sample of the individual. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the sample shall be taken for the 
purpose of analysis and entry into the Combined DNA Index System 
(CODIS). In addition, the sample shall be analyzed and submitted for 
entry into CODIS. 
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(7) Photocopy of valid driver's license or identification card issued 
to the individual by the Commonwealth, another jurisdiction or a 
foreign country. 
(d) Cooperation.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall cooperate with 

State and county correctional institutions, the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole, the county office of probation and parole, any court 
with jurisdiction over a sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation 
officer of the court, juvenile probation and parole and the Department of 
Public Welfare to ensure that the information set forth in subsections (b) 
and (c) is provided and placed in the registry. 
§ 9799.17. Termination of period of registration/or juvenile offenders. 

(a) Juvenile offender.-An individual who is a juvenile offender shall 
have the requirement to register terminated if all of the following apply: 

(1) At least 25 years have elapsed since the individual was: 
(i) adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if committed by 

an adult, would be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 
(relating to rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 
intercourse) or 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault) or an 
attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 
Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125, excluding time spent under the 
supervision of the court, including commitment to an institution or 
facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to deposition of 
delinquent child); or 

(ii) adjudicated delinquent for an offense in another 
jurisdiction which is similar to that which if committed by an adult 
in this Commonwealth would be classified as an offense under 18 
Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 or an attempt, solicitation or 
conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 
3125. 
(2) For a period of 25 years prior to the filing of the petition, the 

individual has not been convicted of a subsequent sexually violent 
offense or a subsequent offense: 

(i) graded as a misdemeanor of the second degree or higher; or 
(ii) which is punishable by a term of imprisonment greater than 

one year. 
(3) The individual successfully completed court-ordered supervision 

without revocation. 
(4) The individual successfully completed a treatment program for 

sexual offenders recognized by the juvenile court in this Commonwealth 
or another jurisdiction or the United States Attorney General under 
section 115(b)(l) of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 
2006 (Public Law 109-248,' 42U.S.C.§16915(b)(J)). 
(b) Procedure.-An individual who seeks to terminate the obligation to 

register pursuant to subsection (a) may petition the court of common pleas 
of the county in which the individual was adjudicated delinquent/or termi­
nation. The court shall: 

1"Public Law 109-248," omitted in enrolled bill. 
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(1) Within 120 days of the filing of the petition under this 
subsection, hold' a hearing to determine whether to terminate the 
obligation to register. The petitioner and the district attorney shall be 
given notice of the hearing and an opportunity to be heard, the right to 
call witnesses, the right to call expert witnesses and the right to cross­
examine witnesses. The petitioner shall have the right to counsel and to 
have a lawyer appointed if the petitioner cannot afford one. 

(2) Terminate the obligation to register only upon a finding of clear 
and convincing evidence that the petitioner has satisfied the criteria in2 

subsection (a) and that allowing the petitioner to terminate the 
obligation to register is not likely to pose a threat to the safety of any 
other person. The burden of proof shall be on the petitioner. 
(c) Notice.-A court granting relief under this section shall notify the 

Pennsylvania State Police in writing within ten days from the date relief is 
granted. 

(d) Right to appeal.-The petitioner and the Commonwealth shall have 
the right to appellate review of the actions of the court taken under this 
section. An appeal by the Commonwealth shall stay the order of the court. 

(e) Prohibition.-This section shall not apply to an individual who: 
(1) Has been designated as a sexually violent predator. 
(2) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who is required 

to register for a period of 15 years or a period of 25 years. 
(3) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who is required 

to register for a period of life. 
(4) Is a sexually violent delinquent child. 

§ 9799.18. Information sharing. 
(a) General rule.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall, within three 

business days, transfer information provided by an individual set forth in 
section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) under sections 9799.15(g) and (i) 
(relating to period of registration), 9799.16(b) (relating to registry) and 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) to: 

(1) A jurisdiction in which the individual is required to register the 
individual's residence, employment or enrollment as a student. 

(2) A jurisdiction. in which the individual has terminated the 
individual's residence, employment or enrollment as a student. 

(3) The United States Attorney General, the Department of Justice 
and the United States Marshals Service for inclusion in the National 
Sex Offender Registry, NCIC and any other database established by 
such Federal agencies. 

(4) The district attorney of the county in which the individual: 
(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence; 
(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 
(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 

(5) The chief law enforcement officer of the police department of 
the municipality in which the individual: 

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence; 
(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 

1 
", the court shall hold" in enrolled bill. 

2"criteria is" in enrolled bill. 
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(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 
(6) The county office of probation and parole for the county in 

which the individual: 
(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence; 
(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 
(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 

(b) When sexual offender fails to appear.-When another jurisdiction 
notifies this Commonwealth that a sexual offender has terminated his 
residence, employment or enrollment as a student in that jurisdiction and 
intends to establish a residence in this Commonwealth, commence 
employment in this Commonwealth or commence enrollment as a student 
in this Commonwealth and that sexual offender fails to appear in this 
Commonwealth to register, the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the 
other jurisdiction that the sexual offender failed to appear. 

(c) International residence.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall, 
within three business days, transfer information that a sexual offender 
intends to establish residence in another country to: 

(1) A jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is required to 
register residence, employment or enrollment as a student. 

(2) The United States Marshals Service. 
(3) The Department of Justice for inclusion in the National Sex 

Offender Registry and NCIC. 
(d) International travel.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall, within 

three business days, transfer information about international travel 
provided by the sexual offender under section 9799.15(i) to: 

(1) A jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is required to 
register the sexual offender's residence, employment or enrollment as a 
student. 

(2) The United States Marshals Service. 
(3) The Department of Justice for inclusion in the National Sex 

Offender Registry and NCIC. 
(e) National Child Protection Act agencies.-The Pennsylvania State 

Police shall, within three business days, transfer such criminal history 
record information about a sexual offender in the registry necessary to 
enable an agency responsible for conducting employment-related 
background checks under section 3 of the National Child Protection Act of 
1993 (Public Law 103-209, 42 U.S.C. 5119a) to conduct the background 
checks. 
§ 9799.19. Initial registration. 

(a) General rule.-An individual set forth in section 9799.13 (relating 
to applicability) shall initially register with the Pennsylvania State Police 
as set forth in this section. 

(b) Initial registration if incarcerated within Commonwealth on 
effective date ofsection.-Thefollowing apply: 

(1) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, 
incarcerated in a State or county correctional facility, the individual 
shall provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) (relating to 
registry) to the appropriate official of the State or county correctional 
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facility or the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole for 
inclusion in the registry before being released due to: 

(i) the expiration of sentence, in which case the information 
shall be collected no later than ten days prior to the maximum 
expiration date; 

(ii) parole; 
(iii) State or county intermediate punishment where the 

sentence is restrictive and the individual is sentenced to a period of 
incarceration in a State or county correctional institution or a work 
release facility; or 

(iv) special probation supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole. 
(2) For individuals set forth in paragraph (1), the appropriate 

official of the State or county correctional facility or the Pennsylvania 
Board of Probation and Parole shall collect and forward the 
information in section 9799.16(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police. The 
appropriate official shall, in addition, ensure that the information set 
forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected and forwarded to the 
Pennsylvania State Police. The informatio'n in section 9799.16(b) and 
(c) shall be included in the registry. With respect to individuals released 
under paragraph (l)(ii), (iii) or (iv), the State or county correctional 
facility shall not release the individual until it receives verification from 
the Pennsylvania State Police that it has received the information set 
forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c). Verification may take place by 
electronic means. With respect to individuals released under paragraph 
(l)(i), if the individual refuses to provide the information set forth in 
section 9799.16(b), the State or county correctional institution shall 
notify the Pennsylvania State Police or the municipal police department 
with jurisdiction over the facility of the failure to provide the 
information and of the expected date, time and location of the release of 
the individual. 
(b.J) Initial registration if sentenced to a county or State correctional 

facility after effective date of section.-If the individual is, after the 
effective date of this section, sentenced to a period of incarceration in a 
county or State correctional facility, the individual shall provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) as follows: 

(1) At the time of sentencing, the court shall require the individual 
to immediately report to the Office of Probation and Parole serving that 
county to register under this subchapter. The appropriate office of 
probation and parole shall collect the information set forth in section 
9799.16(b) from the individual and forward the information to the 
Pennsylvania State Police. The appropriate office of probation and 
parole shall, in addition, ensure the information set forth in 9799.16(c) 
is collected and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police. The 
information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) .shall be included in the 
registry. 

(2) If the individual is incarcerated in a State correctional facility 
or county correctional facility, the correctional facility shall notify the 
Pennsylvania State Police, not more than 30 days in advance of, but not 
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later than ten days prior to, the individual's release from the 
correctional facility. The following apply: 

(i) The correctional facility shall ensure that the information set 
forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) for the individual has been 
submitted to the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(ii) If the information has not been submitted to the 
Pennsylvania State Police, the correctional facility shall collect the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) from the individual and 
forward the information to the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(iii) The correctional facility shall also report any changes to 
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) on file with 
the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(iv) In the case of parole, State or county intermediate 
punishment where the sentence is restrictive and the individual is 
sentenced to a period of incarceration in a State or county 
correctional institution or work release facility or special probation 
supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the 
correctional facility may not release the individual until the 
correctional facility receives verification from the Pennsylvania 
State Police that the Pennsylvania State Police has received the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c). Verification by 
the Pennsylvania State Police may occur by electronic means. 

(v) If the individual is scheduled to be released from a State or 
county correctional institution due to the expiration of sentence and 
the individual refuses to provide the information set forth in section 
9799.l 6(b), the State or county correctional institution shall notify 
the Pennsylvania State Police or the municipal police department 
with jurisdiction over the facility of the failure to provide the 
information and of the expected date, time and location of the 
release of the individual. 

(c) Initial registration if sentenced to county intermediate punishment 
on effective date of section.-!/ the individual is, on the effective date of 
this section, sentenced to county intermediate punishment which is 
restorative where the individual is not sentenced to incarceration or to a 
work release facility, the individual shall provide the information set forth 
in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration site within 
48 hours of the effective date of this section. The appropriate official of the 
county office of probation and parole shall ensure that the individual has 
appeared at an approved registration site as set forth in this subsection. If 
the individual fails to appear, the appropriate official of the county office 
of probation and parole shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. The 
Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure the information set forth in section 
9799.l 6(c) with respect to the individual is collected and entered in the 
registry. 

(d) Initial registration if sentenced to county intermediate punishment 
after effective date of section.-!/ the individual is, after the effective date 
of this section, sentenced to county intermediate punishment, the following 
apply: 
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(1) If the individual is sentenced to county intermediate punishment 
which is restorative, the individual shall provide the information set 
forth in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration site 
within 48 hours of being sentenced. The appropriate official of the 
county office of probation and parole shall ensure that the individual 
has appeared at an approved registration site as set forth in this 
paragraph. If the individual fails to appear, the appropriate official of 
the county office of probation and parole shall notifY the Pennsylvania 
State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual 
is collected and entered in the registry. 

(2) If the individual is sentenced to county intermediate punishment 
which is restrictive where the individual is not sentenced to 
incarceration or to a work release facility, the individual shall provide 
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an 
approved registration site within 48 hours of being sentenced. The 
appropriate official of the county office of probation and parole shall 
ensure that the individual has appeared at an approved registration site 
as set forth in this paragraph. If the individual fails to appear, the 
appropriate official of the county office of probation and parole shall 
notifY the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police 
shall ensure the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect 
to the individual is collected and entered in the registry. 
(e) Initial registration if sentenced to county probation on or after 

effective date of section.-lfthe individual is, on or after the effective date 
of this section, sentenced to county probation, the individual shall provide 
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an 
approved registration site within 48 hours of being sentenced. The 
appropriate official of the county office of probation and parole shall 
ensure that the individual has appeared at an approved registration site as 
set forth in this paragraph. If the individual fails to appear, the appropriate 
official of the county office of probation and parole shall notifY the 
Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual is 
collected and entered in the registry. 

(j) Initial registration if being supervised by Commonwealth under 
Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision.-!/ an individual is in 
this Commonwealth and is being supervised by the State Board of 
Probation and Parole or the county office of probation and parole 
pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision, the 
following apply: 

(1) If the individual is being supervised under the compact after the 
effective date of this section, the individual shall provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the appropriate official of 
the State Board of Probation and Parole or the county office of 
probation and parole for inclusion in the registry. The appropriate 
official shall collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and 
forward the information to the Pennsylvania State Police. The 
appropriate official shall, in addition, ensure that the information set 
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forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected and forwarded to the 
Pennsylvania State Police. If the individual fails to provide the 
information in section 9799.16(b), the appropriate official of the State 
Board of Probation and Parole or county office of probation and parole 
shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(2) If the individual is being supervised under the compact on the 
effective date of this section, the individual shall provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved 
registration site within 48 hours of the effective date of this section. The 
appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole 
or the county office of probation and parole shall ensure that the 
individual has appeared at an approved registration site as set forth in 
this paragraph. If the individual fails to appear, the appropriate official 
shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. The appropriate official 
shall, in addition, ensure the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) 
is collected and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police. 
(g) Supervision of individual convicted in Commonwealth who does not 

intend to reside in Commomvealth.-On or after the effective date of this 
section, an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense within this 
Commonwealth who seeks transfer of supervision to another jurisdiction 
pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision shall 
not have supervision transferred to another jurisdiction prior to the 
individual's registration with the Pennsylvania State Police as set forth in 
this section. 

(h) Initial registration of juvenile offender or sexually violent 
delinquent child.-If the individual is a juvenile offender or a sexually 
violent delinquent child, the following apply: 

(1) If the individual is a juvenile offender who is adjudicated 
delinquent by a court on or after the effective date of this section, the 
court shall require the individual to provide the information set forth in 
section 9799.16(b) to the chief juvenile probation officer of the court at 
the time of disposition under section 6352 (relating to disposition of 
delinquent child). The chief juvenile probation officer shall collect the 
information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) and fonvard it to the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry as directed by the 
Pennsylvania State Police. If the juvenile offender is under court­
ordered placement in an institution or facility set forth in section 
6352(a)(3), the institution or facility shall ensure the information 
provided by the juvenile offender pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is 
updated to reflect accurate information prior to release. The institution 
or facility may not release the juvenile offender until it receives 
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that the information 
required under section 9799.16(b) and (c) has been entered in the 
registry. 

(2) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, a 
juvenile offender and is subject to the jurisdiction of the court pursuant 
to a disposition entered under section 6352 and is on probation, the 
individual shall provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) 
to the chief juvenile probation officer of the court within 30 days of the 
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effective date of this section. The chief juvenile probation officer shall 
collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) and 
forward it to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry, 
as directed by the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(3) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, a 
juvenile offender and is subject to the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to 
a disposition entered under section 6352 and is under court-ordered 
placement in an institution or facility set forth in section 6352, the 
director of the institution or facility or a designee shall make the 
juvenile offender available for and facilitate the collection of the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) as directed by the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The 
Pennsylvania State Police may require the institution or facility to 
transport the juvenile offender to and from an approved registration site 
in order to fulfill the requirement of this paragraph. In order to fulfill 
the requirements of this paragraph, the chief juvenile probation officer 
of the court shall, within ten days of the effective date of this section, 
notify the director of the institution or facility and the Pennsylvania 
State Police that the juvenile offender is required to register under this 
subchapter. In addition, the institution or facility shall ensure that the 
information provided by the juvenile offender pursuant to section 
9799.16(b) is updated to reflect accurate information prior to release. 
The juvenile offender may not be released until the institution or facility 
receives verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that the 
information required under section 9799.16(b) and (c) has been entered 
into the registry. 

(4) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, a 
sexually violent delinquent child and receiving involuntary treatment in 
the State-owned facility or unit under Chapter 64 (relating to court­
ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually violent persons), the 
director of the facility or unit or a designee shall make the sexually 
violent delinquent child available for and facilitate the collection of the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) as directed by the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The 
Pennsylvania State Police may require the facility or unit to transport 
the sexually violent delinquent child to and from an approved 
registration site in order to fulfill the requirement of this paragraph. In 
addition, the facility or unit shall ensure that the information provided 
by the sexually violent delinquent child pursuant to section 9799.16(b) 
is updated to reflect accurate information prior to release. The facility 
or unit may not transfer the sexually violent child to outpatient 
treatment until it has received verification from the Pennsylvania State 
Police that it has received the information set forth in section 
9799.16(b) and (c). 

(5) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
determined by the court to be a sexually violent delinquent child and 
committed for involuntary treatment to the State-owned facility or unit 
under Chapter 64, the following apply: 
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(i) The court shall require the individual to provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the chief juvenile 
probation officer of the court at the time of commitment. The chief 
juvenile probation officer shall collect and forward the information 
to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The 
chief juvenile probation officer shall, at the time of commitment, 
also ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is 
collected and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police for 
inclusion in the registry. The Pennsylvania State Police may require 
the facility or unit to transport the sexually violent delinquent child 
to and from an approved registration site in order to fulfill the 
requirement of initial registration at the time of commitment. 

(ii) The facility or unit shall ensure that the information 
provided by the sexually violent delinquent child pursuant to section 
9799.16(b) is updated to reflect accurate information prior to 
transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment pursuant to section 
6404.1 (relating to transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment) or 
discharge. The court may not transfer the sexually violent 
delinquent child to outpatient treatment or discharge the child from 
the facility or unit until it has received verification from the 
Pennsylvania State Police that the information required under 
section 9799.16(b) and (c) has been entered in the registry. 

(i) Initial registration if convicted outside Commonwealth.-The 
following apply: 

(1) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
convicted of a sexually violent offense in another jurisdiction or a 
foreign country or of a comparable military offense, the individual shall 
appear in person at an approved registration site to provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.J6(b) to the Pennsylvania State 
Police within three business days of establishing residence, commenc­
ing employment or commencing enrollment as a student within this 
Commonwealth. In addition, the individual shall comply with the other 
provisions of this subchapter, including section 9799.15 (relating to 
period of registration). If the individual fails to establish a residence but 
nevertheless resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall register 
as a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual 
is collected and entered in the registry. 

(2) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
a juvenile offender as defined in paragraph (2) of the definition of 
''juvenile offender" in section 9799.12 (relating to definitions), the 
individual shall appear in person at an approved registration site to 
provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the 
Pennsylvania State Police within three business days of establishing 
residence, commencing employment or commencing enrollment as a 
student within this Commonwealth. In addition, the individual shall 
comply with the other provisions of this subchapter, including section 
9 799.15. If the individual fails to establish a residence but nevertheless 
resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall register as a 
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transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual 
is collected and entered in the registry. 
OJ Former law and initial registration.-// the individual was required 

to register under this subchapter before the effective date of this section 
and has not fulfilled the period of registration, the individual shall appear 
at an approved registration site to provide the information set forth in 
section 9799.16(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police within 90 days of the 
effective date of this section. In addition, the individual shall comply with 
the other provisions of this subchapter, including section 9799.15. If the 
individual fails to establish a residence, the individual shall register as a 
transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the information 
set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual is collected 
and entered in the registry. 
§ 9799.20. Duty to inform. 

In order to implement the provisions of section 9799.19 (relating to 
initial registration), the Pennsylvania State Police, the court having 
jurisdiction over the sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of 
the court and the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole, county office of probation and parole, the 
Department of Public Welfare or a State or county correctional institution 
shall: 

(1) Inform the individual required to register of the individual's 
duties under this subchapter. 

(2) Require the individual to read and sign a form stating that the 
duty to register has been explained and that the individual understands 
the registration requirement. 

(3) Collect the information required under section 9799.16 (b) and 
(c) (relating to registry) and forward the information to the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry as set forth in 
this subchapter. 

§ 9799.21. Penalty. 
An individual set forth in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) may 

be subject to prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to 
comply with registration requirements) if the individual/ails to: 

(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as set forth in 
section 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 9799.19 (relating to 
initial registration) or 9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual 
offenders and Pennsylvania State Police); 

(2) verify the information provided by the individual or be 
photographed as provided in sections 9799.15, 9799.19 and 9799.25; or 

(3) provide accurate information when registering under sections 
9799.15, 9799.19 and 9799.25. 

§ 9799.22. Enforcement. 
(a) Failure to comply.-When an individual set forth in section 

9799.13 (relating to applicability) fails to comply with section 9799.21(1), 
(2) or (3) (relating to penalty), the Pennsylvania State Police shall: 

(1) locate and arrest the individual for violating this section; or 



506 Act 2011-111 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

(2) notify the municipal police department where the individual has 
a residence, is employed or is enrolled as a student. The municipal 
police shall locate and arrest the individual for violating this section. In 
municipalities where no municipal police department exists, the 
Pennsylvania State Police shall proceed under paragraph (1). 
(b) When individual cannot be found.-In the event the individual 

cannot be located, the Pennsylvania State Police shall: 
(1) Enter information on the Internet website of sexual offenders 

and in the registry indicating that the individual cannot be located. 
(2) Provide information to the National Sex Offender Registry and 

NCIC to reflect that the individual cannot be located. 
(3) Notify the United States Marshals Service. 
(4) In cooperation with the district attorney, seek issuance of a 

warrant for the arrest of the individual. If a warrant is issued pursuant 
to this paragraph, the Pennsylvania State Police shall provide 
information to the National Crime Information Center Wanted Person 
File to reflect that a warrant has been issued for the individual's arrest. 
(c) Notice from another jurisdiction.-When another jurisdiction 

notifies the Commonwealth that a sexual offender has terminated 
residence, employment or enrollment as a student in that jurisdiction and 
intends to establish a residence in this Commonwealth, commence 
employment in this Commonwealth or commence enrollment as a student 
in this Commonwealth and that sexual offender fails to appear in this 
Commonwealth to register as provided in section 9799.15 (relating to 
period of registration), the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the other 
jurisdiction that the sexual offender failed to appear. 

(d) Duty to inform Pennsylvania State Police.-In order to implement 
the provisions of section 9799.15 and section 9799.19 (relating to initial 
registration), the court with jurisdiction over the sexual offender, the chief 
juvenile probation officer of the court and the appropriate official of the 
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the county office of 
probation and parole, the Department of Public Welfare or a State or 
county correctional institution shall inform the Pennsylvania State Police 
if the individual ref uses to provide the information required. The 
Pennsylvania State Police shall locate and arrest the individual for a 
violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply with 
registration requirements). 
§ 9799.23. Court notification and classification requirements. 

(a) Notice to sexual offenders.-At the time of sentencing or 
disposition, in the case of a juvenile offender or sexually violent delinquent 
child, the court shall inform the sexual offender of the provisions of this 
subchapter. The court shall: 

(1) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to register 
under this subchapter. 

(2) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to register in 
accordance with sections 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 
9799.16(b) (relating to registry), 9799.19 (relating to initial registration) 
and 9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual offenders and 
Pennsylvania State Police). 
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(3) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to register 
with authorities in another jurisdiction within three business days of: 

(i) Commencement of residence, change of residence, termina­
tion of residence or failure to maintain a residence, thus making the 
sexual offender a transient. 

(ii) Commencement of employment, a change in the location or 
entity in which the sexual offender is employed or termination of 
employment. 

(iii) Commencement of enrollment as a student, a change in · 
enrollment as a student or termination of enrollment as a student. 
(4) In accordance with section 9799.16(c), order that the finger­

prints, palm prints, DNA sample and photograph of the sexual offender 
be provided to the Pennsylvania State Police upon sentencing. 

(5) Require the sexual offender to read and sign a form stating that 
the duty to register under this subchapter has been explained. If the 
sexual offender is incapable of speaking, reading or writing the English 
language, the court shall certify the duty to register was explained to the 
sexual offender, and the sexual offender indicated an understanding of 
the duty. 

(6) Specifically classify the individual as one of the following: 
(i) An individual convicted of a Tier I offense. 
(ii) An individual convicted of a Tier II offense. 
(iii) An individual convicted of a Tier III offense. 
(iv) A sexually violent predator. 
(v) A juvenile offender. 
(vi) A sexually violent delinquent child. 

(b) Mandatory registration.-All sexual offenders must register in 
accordance with this subchapter. The following apply: 

(1) Failure by the court to provide the information required in this 
section, to correctly inform a sexual offender of the sexual offender's 
obligations or to require a sexual offender to register shall not relieve 
the sexual offender from the requirements of this subchapter. 

(2) Except as provided in section 9799.17 (relating to termination of 
period of registration for juvenile offenders), the court shall have no 
authority to relieve a sexual offender from. the duty to register under 
this subchapter or to modify the requirements of this subchapter as they 
relate to the sexual offender. 

§ 9799.24. Assessments. 
(a) Order for assessment.-After conviction but before sentencing, a 

court shall order an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense to be 
assessed by the board. The order for an assessment shall be sent to the 
administrative officer of the board within ten days of the date of conviction 
for the sexually violent offense. 

(b) Assessment.-Upon receipt from the court of an order for an 
assessment, a member of the board as designated by the administrative 
officer of the board shall conduct an assessment of the individual to 
determine if the individual should be classified as a sexually violent 
predator. The board shall establish standards for evaluations and for 
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evaluators conducting the assessments. An assessment shall include, but 
not be limited to, an examination of the following: 

(1) Facts of the current offense, including: 
(i) Whether the offense involved multiple victims. 
(ii) Whether the individual exceeded the means necessary to 

achieve the offense. 
(iii) The nature of the sexual contact with the victim. 
(iv) Relationship of the individual to the victim. 
(v) Age of the victim. 
(vi) Whether the offense included a display of unusual cruelty 

by the individual during the commission of the crime. 
(vii) The mental capacity of the victim. 

(2) Prior offense history, including: 
(i) The individual's prior criminal record. 
(ii) Whether the individual completed any prior sentences. 
(iii) Whether the individual participated in available programs 

for sexual offenders. 
(3) Characteristics of the individual, including: 

(i) Age. 
(ii) Use of illegal drugs. 
(iii) Any mental illness, mental disability or mental abnormality. 
(iv) Behavioral characteristics that contribute to the 

individual's conduct. 
(4) Factors that are supported in a sexual offender assessment field 

as criteria reasonably related to the risk of reoffense. 
(c) Release of information.-All State, county and local agencies, 

offices and entities in this Commonwealth, including juvenile probation 
officers, shall cooperate by providing copies of records and information as 
requested by the board in connection with the court-ordered assessment 
and the assessment requested by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and 
Parole or the assessment of a delinquent child under section 6358 (relating 
to assessment of delinquent children by the State Sexual Offenders 
Assessment Board). 

(d) Submission of report by board.-The board shall have 90 days from 
the date of conviction of the individual to submit a written report 
containing its assessment to the district attorney. 

(d.J) Summary of offense.-The board shall prepare a description of 
the offense or offenses that trigger the application of this subchapter to 
include, but not be limited to: 

(I) A concise narrative of the individual's conduct. 
(2) Whether the victim was a minor. 
(3) The manner of weapon or physical force used or threatened. 
(4) If the offense involved unauthorized entry into a room or 

vehicle occupied by the victim. 
(5) If the offense was part of a course or pattern of conduct 

involving multiple incidents or victims. 
(6) Previous instances in which the individual was determined 

guilty of an offense subject to this subchapter or of a crime of violence 
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as defined in section 9714(g) (relating to sentences for second and 
subsequent offenses). 
(e) Hearing.-

(1) A hearing to determine whether the individual is a sexually 
violent predator shall be scheduled upon the praecipe filed by the 
district attorney. The district attorney upon filing a praecipe shall serve 
a copy of the praecipe upon defense counsel together with a copy of the 
report of the board. 

(2) The individual and district attorney shall be given notice of the 
hearing and an opportunity to be heard, the right to call witnesses, the 
right to call expert witnesses and the right to cross-examine witnesses. 
In addition, the individual shall have the right to counsel and to have 
an attorney appointed to represent the individual if the individual 
cannot afford one. If the individual requests another expert assessment, 
the individual shall provide a copy of the expert assessment to the 
district attorney prior to the hearing. 

(3) At the hearing prior to sentencing, the court shall determine 
whether the Commonwealth has proved by clear and convincing 
evidence that the individual is a sexually violent predator. 

(4) A copy of the order containing the determination of the court 
shall be immediately submitted to the individual, the district attorney, 
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the Department of 
Corrections, the board and the Pennsylvania State Police. 
(/) Presentence investigation.-In all cases where the board has 

performed an assessment under this section, copies of the report shall be 
provided to the agency preparing the presentence investigation. 

(g) Parole assessment.-The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and 
Parole may request of the board that an assessment of a sexual offender be 
conducted and that a report be provided to the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole prior to considering a sexual offender for parole. 

(h) Delinquent children.-The probation officer shall notify the board 
90 days prior to the 20th birthday of the child of the status of the 
delinquent child who is committed to an institution or other facility 
pursuant to section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) after 
having been found delinquent for an act of sexual violence that if 
committed by an adult would be a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating 
to rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse), 3124.1 
(relating to sexual assault), 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault), 
3126 (relating to indecent assault) or 4302 (relating to incest), together 
with the location of the facility where the child is committed. The board 
shall conduct an assessment of the child, which shall include the board's 
determination of whether or not the child is in need of commitment due to 
a mental abnormality as defined in section 6402 (relating to definitions) or 
a personality disorder, either of which results in serious difficulty in 
controlling sexually violent behavior, and provide a report to the court 
within the time frames set forth in section 6358(c). The probation officer 
shall assist the board in obtaining access to the child and any records or 
information as requested by the board in connection with the assessment. 
The assessment shall be conducted under subsection (b). 
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§ 9799.25. Verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police. 
(a) Periodic verification.-Exceptfor initial registration as provided in 

section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration) and in accordance with 
section 9799.lS(a) (relating to period of registration), sexual offenders 
shall verify the information provided in section 9799.16(b) (relating to 
registry) and be photographed as follows: 

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense shall appear 
in person at an approved registration site annually. 

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier II sexual offense shall appear 
in person at an approved registration site semiannually. 

(3) An individual convicted of a Tier III sexual offense shall appear 
in person at an approved registration site quarterly. 

(4) An individual designated as a sexually violent predator shall 
appear in person at an approved registration site quarterly. 

(5) A juvenile offender shall appear in person at an approved 
registration site quarterly. 

(6) A sexually violent delinquent child shall appear in person at an 
approved registration site quarterly. 

(7) A transient shall appear in person at an approved registration 
site monthly. 

(8) An individual required to register under section 9799.13(7.1) 
(relating to applicability) shall annually appear in person at an 
approved registration site. 
(b) Deadline.-Thefollowing apply: 

(1) A sexual offender shall appear as required under subsection (a) 
within ten days of the date designated by the Pennsylvania State Police. 
Failure to appear within ten days may subject the sexual offender to 
prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply 
with registration requirements). 

(2) In the case of a sexual offender who fails to appear as required 
under this section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the 
municipal police department where the sexual offender has a residence, 
is employed or is enrolled as a student. The municipal police shall 
locate the sexual offender and arrest the sexual offender for violating 
this section. A municipal police department may request assistance 
locating or arresting a sexual offender from the Pennsylvania State 
Police. In municipalities where no municipal police department exists, 
the Pennsylvania State Police shall locate the offender and arrest the 
sexual offender for violating this section. 

(3) In the case of a sexual offender who fails to appear as required 
under this section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the United 
States Marshals Service in accordance with section 9799.22(b)(3) 
(relating to enforcement). 
(c) Facilitation of verification.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall 

administer and facilitate the process of verification of information, 
including compliance with counseling in the case of sexually violent 
predators, and photographing the sexual offender by: 

(1) Sending a notice by first class United States mail to each sexual 
offender at the offender's last reported residence or location, including 
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a post office box. The notice shall be sent not more than 30 days nor 
less than 15 days prior to the date a sexual offender is required to 
appear pursuant to subsection (a). The notice shall remind the sexual 
offender of the sexual offender's responsibilities under this subchapter, 
including counseling in the case of sexually violent predators, and 
provide a list of approved registration sites. 

(2) Providing verification and compliance forms as necessary at 
each approved registration site. 
(d) Effect of notice.-Failure to send or receive notice of information 

under this section shall not relieve the sexual offender from the 
requirements of this subchapter. 

(e) Natural disaster.-The occurrence of a natural disaster or other 
event requiring evacuation of residences shall not relieve the sexual 
offender of the duty to register or any other duty imposed by this 
subchapter. 

(j) Residents in group-based homes.-
(1) A group-based home may not provide concurrent residence in 

the group-based home to more than five individuals who are required to 
register under this chapter as sexually violent predators. 

(2) A group-based home that violates paragraph (1) shall be subject 
to a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500 for a first violation and in the 
amount of $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation. 

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police or local law enforcement agency 
of jurisdiction shall investigate compliance with this subsection, and the 
Attorney General or district attorney may commence a civil action in the 
court of common pleas of the county in which a group-based home is 
located to impose and collect from the group-based home the penalty 
under paragraph (2). 

(4) As used in this subsection, the term "group-based home" has 
the meaning given to it in 61 Pa.C.S. § 6124(c) (relating to certain 
offenders residing in group-based homes). 

§ 9799.26. Victim notification. 
(a) Duty to inform victim.-

(1) If an offender is determined to be a sexually violent predator or 
a sexually violent delinquent child, the municipal police department or 
the Pennsylvania State Police, if no municipal police jurisdiction exists, 
shall give written notice to the victim when the sexually violent predator 
or the sexually violent delinquent child registers initially under section 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) or under section 9799.15(g)(2), 
(3) or (4) (relating to period of registration). The notice shall be given 
within 72 hours after the sexually violent predator or the sexually 
violent delinquent child registers or notifies the Pennsylvania State 
Police of current information under section 9799.l 5(g). The notice shall 
contain the following information about the sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child: 

(i) Name. 
(ii) Residence. This subparagraph includes whether the sexual­

ly violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child is a transient, 
in which case the notice shall contain information about the 
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transient's temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or 
dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park. In addition, the 
notice shall contain a list of places the transient eats, frequents and 
engages in leisure activities. 

(iii) The address of employment. 
(iv) The address where the sexually violent predator or sexually 

violent delinquent child is enrolled as a student. 
(2) A victim may terminate the duty to inform set forth in 

paragraph (I) by providing the local municipal police department or the 
Pennsylvania State Police, if no local municipal police department 
exists, with a written statement releasing that agency from the duty to 
comply with this section as it pertains to that victim. 
(b) Individual not determined to be sexually violent predator or 

sexually violent delinquent child.-If an individual is not determined to be 
a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child, the victim 
shall be notified in accordance with section 201 of the act of November 24, 
1998 (P.L.882, No.111), known as the Crime Victims Act. 

(c) Electronic notification option.-In addition to subsections (a) and 
(b), the Pennsylvania State Police shall develop and implement a system 
that allows a victim to receive electronic notification instead of the 
notification in subsections (a) and (b) when a sexual offender provides 
current information to the Pennsylvania State Police under subsection (a). 
§ 9799.27. Other notification. 

(a) Notice.-Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 63 (relating to 
juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record 
information), the chief law enforcement officer of the police department of 
the municipality where a sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child lives or, in the case of a sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a residence and being 
a transient, the chief law enforcement officer of the police department of 
the transient's last known habitat, shall be responsible for providing 
written notice as required under this section. The notice shall contain: 

(1) The name of the individual. 
(2) The address of the residence of the individual. If the individual 

is a transient, written notice under this paragraph shall consist of 
information about the transient's temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park, and a 
list of the places the transient eats, frequents and engages in leisure 
activities. 

(3) The offense for which the individual was convicted, sentenced 
by a court, adjudicated delinquent or court martialed. 

(4) A statement that the individual has been determined to be a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child, which 
determination has or has not been terminated as of a date certain. 

(5) A photograph of the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child. 

The notice shall not include any information that might reveal the victim's 
name, identity and residence. 
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(b) To whom written notice is provided.-The chief law enforcement 
officer shall provide written notice under subsection (a) to the following 
persons: 

(1) Neighbors of the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child. As used in this paragraph: 

(i) In the case of a sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child being a transient, "neighbor" includes residents in 
the area of the transient's last known temporary habitat or other 
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter 
or park. 

(ii) Where the sexually violent predator lives in a common 
interest community, the term "neighbor" includes the unit owners' 
association and residents of the common interest community. 
(2) The director of the co1inty children and youth agency of the 

county where the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent 
predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a 
residence and being a transient, the director of the county children and 
youth agency of the county of the sexually violent predator's or sexually 
violent delinquent child's last known temporary habitat or other 
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or 
park. 

(3) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for each private and parochial school enrolling students up 
through grade 12 in the municipality where the sexually violent 
predator or sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the 
case of a sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child 
failing to establish a residence and being a transient, the superintendent 
of each school district and the equivalent official for private and 
parochial schools enrolling students up through grade 12 in the 
municipality of the sexually violent predator's or sexually . violent 
delinquent child's last known temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park. 

(4) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for each private and parochial school located within a one-mile 
radius of where the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent 
predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a 
residence and being a transient, the superintendent of each school 
district and the equivalent official for each private and parochial school 
within a one-mile radius of the sexually violent predator's or sexually 
violent delinquent child's last known temporary habitat or other 
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including a homeless shelter or 
park. 

(5) The licensee of each certified day-care center and licensed 
preschool program and owner or operator of each registered family 
day-care home in the municipality where the sexually violent predator 
or sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to 
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establish a residence and being a transient, the licensee of each certified 
day-care center and licensed preschool program and owner or operator 
of each registered family day-care home in the municipality of the 
sexually violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's last 
known temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including a homeless shelter or park. 

(6) The president of each college, university and community college 
located within 1,000 feet of where the sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to 
establish a residence and being a transient, the president of each 
college, university and community college located within 1,000 feet of 
the sexually violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's last 
known temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including a homeless shelter or park. 
(c) Notification time frames.-The municipal police department's chief 

law enforcement officer shall provide notice within the following time 
frames: 

(I) To neighbors, notice shall be provided within five days after 
information of the sexually violent predator's or sexually violent 
delinquent child's release date and residence has been received by the 
chief law enforcement officer. Notwithstanding the provisions of 
subsections (a) and (b), verbal notification may be used if written 
notification would delay meeting the requirement of this paragraph. 

(2) To the persons specified in subsection (b)(2), (3), (4), (5) and 
(6), notice shall be provided within seven days after the chief law 
enforcement officer receives information regarding the sexually violent 
predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's release date and 
residence. 
(d) Public notice.-Information provided in accordance with sub­

section (a) shall be available to the general public upon request. The 
information may be provided by electronic means. 
§ 9799.28. Public Internet website. 

(a) Information to be made available through Internet.-The 
Pennsylvania State Police shall, in the manner and form directed by the 
Governor: 

(I) Develop and maintain a system for making information about 
individuals convicted of a sexually violent offense, sexually violent 
predators and sexually violent delinquent children publicly available by 
electronic means via an Internet website. In order to fulfill its duties 
under this section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the 
Internet website: 

(i) Contains a feature to permit a member of the public to 
obtain relevant information for an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child by a single query for any given zip code or 
geographic radius set by the user. 

(ii) Contains a feature to allow a member of the public to 
receive electronic notification when an individual convicted of a 
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sexually violent offense, sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child provides information under section 9799.15(g)(2), 
(3) or (4) (relating to period of registration) relating to a geographic 
area chosen by the user. 

(iii) Includes in its design all field search capabilities needed for 
full participation in the Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public 
Internet Website. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that 
the website is able to participate in the Dru Sjodin National Sex 
Offender Public Internet Website as the United States Attorney 
General may direct. 

(iv) Is updated within three business days with the information 
required. 
(2) Include on the Internet website the following: 

(i) Instructions on how to seek correction of information that 
an individual contends is erroneous. 

(ii) A warning that the information on the Internet website 
should not be used to unlawfully injure, harass or commit a crime 
against an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a 
sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child and 
that any such action could result in criminal or civil penalties. 
(3) Include on the Internet website an explanation of its limitations, 

including statements advising that: 
(i) A positive identification of an individual convicted of a 

sexually violent offense, sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child may be confirmed only by fingerprints. 

(ii) Some information contained on the Internet website may be 
outdated or inaccurate. 

(iii) The Internet website is not a comprehensive listing of every 
person who has ever committed a sexual offense in Pennsylvania. 
(4) Strive to ensure that the information contained on the Internet 

website is accurate and that the data therein is revised and updated as 
provided in paragraph (l)(iv). 

(5) Provide on the Internet website general information designed to 
inform and educate the public about sexual offenders and the operation 
of this subchapter as well as pertinent and appropriate information 
concerning crime prevention and personal safety, with appropriate links 
to other relevant Internet websites operated by the Commonwealth. 
(b) Required information.-Notwithstanding Chapter 63 (relating to 

juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.CS. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record 
information), the Internet website shall contain the following information 
regarding an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually 
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child: 

(1) Name and aliases. 
(2) Year of birth. 
(3) Street address, city, county and zip code of residences and 

intended residences. In the case of an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child who fails to establish a residence and is therefore a 
transient, the Internet website shall contain information about the 
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transient's temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or 
dwelling, including a homeless shelter or park. In addition, the Internet 
website shall contain a list of places the transient eats, frequents and 
engages in leisure activities. 

(4) Street address, city, county and zip code of any location at which 
an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent 
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is enrolled as a student. 

(5) Street address, city, county and zip code of a ftxed location 
where an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually 
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is employed. If an 
individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent 
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is not employed at aftxed 
address, the information shall include general travel routes and general 
areas of work. 

(6) Current photograph of an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child. 

(7) Physical description of an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child. 

(8) License plate number and a description of a vehicle owned or 
operated by an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a 
sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child. 

(9) The sexually violent offense for which an individual convicted 
of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually 
violent delinquent child is registered under this subchapter. 

(I 0) A statement whether an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child is in compliance with registration. 

(11) A statement whether the victim is a minor. 
(c) Prohibited information.-The public Internet website established 

under this section shall not contain: 
(1) The identity of any victim. 
(2) The Social Security number of an individual convicted of a 

sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child. 

(3) Any information relating to arrests of an individual convicted of 
a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually 
violent delinquent child that did not result in conviction. 

(4) Travel and immigration document numbers. 
(d) (Reserved). 
(e) Duration of posting.-The information listed in subsection (b) shall 

be made available on the Internet website unless: 
(I) An individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually 

violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is deceased, in 
which case the Internet website shall contain a notice of the death. 

(2) An individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually 
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child has terminated 
residence, has terminated employment or has terminated enrollment as 
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a student within this Commonwealth, in which case the Internet website 
shall contain a notice indicating such information. 

§ 9799.29. Administration. 
The Governor shall direct the Pennsylvania State Police, the 

Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the board, the Department 
of Corrections, the Department of Transportation and any other agency of 
the Commonwealth that the Governor deems necessary to collaboratively 
design, develop and implement ·an integrated and secure system of 
communication, storage and retrieval of information to assure the timely, 
accurate and efficient administration of this subchapter. 
§ 9799.30. Global positioning system technology. 

The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and county probation 
authorities may impose supervision conditions that include tracking 
through global positioning system technology. 
§ 9799.31. Immunity for good faith conduct. 

The following entities shall be immune from liability for good faith 
conduct under this subchapter: 

(1) Agents and employees of the Pennsylvania State Police and 
local law enforcement agencies. 

(2) District attorneys and their agents and employees. 
(3) Superintendents, administrators, teachers, employees and 

volunteers engaged in the supervision of children of any public, private 
or parochial school. 

(4) Directors and employees of county children and youth agencies. 
(5) Presidents or similar officers of universities and colleges, 

including community colleges. 
(6) The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and its agents 

and employees. 
(7) County probation and parole offices and their agents and 

employees. 
(8) Licensees of certified day-care centers and directors of licensed 

preschool programs and owners and operators of registered family day­
care homes and their agents and employees. 

(9) The Department of Corrections and its agents and employees. 
(10) County correctional facilities and their agents and employees. 
(11) The board and its members, agents and employees. 
(12) Juvenile probation offices and their agents and employees. 
(13) The Department of Public Welfare and its agents and 

employees. 
(14) Institutions or facilities set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating 

to disposition of delinquent child) and their agents and employees. 
(15) The unit owners' association of a common interest community 

and its agents and employees as it relates to distributing information 
regarding section 9799.27(b)(l) (relating to other notification). 

§ 9799.32. Pennsylvania State Police. 
The Pennsylvania State Police have the following duties: 

(1) To create and maintain the Statewide registry of sexual 
offenders in conformity with the provisions of this subchapter. 
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(2) In consultation with the Department of Corrections, the Office 
of Attorney General, the Juvenile Court Judges' Commission, the 
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, the Pennsylvania Board 
of Probation and Parole and the chairman and minority chairman of 
the Judiciary Committee of the Senate and the chairman and minority 
chairman of the Judiciary Committee of the House of Representatives, 
to promulgate guidelines necessary for the general administration of 
this subchapter. These guidelines shall establish procedures to allow an 
individual subject to the requirements of this subchapter, including a 
transient, to fulfill these requirements at approved registration sites 
throughout this Commonwealth. The Pennsylvania State Police shall 
publish a list of approved registration sites in the Pennsylvania Bulletin 
and provide a list of approved registration sites in any notice sent to 
individuals required to register under this subchapter. An approved 
registration site shall be capable of submitting fingerprints, palm prints, 
DNA samples and any other information required electronically to the 
Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall require 
that approved registration sites submit fingerprints utilizing the 
Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System or in another 
manner and in such form as the Pennsylvania State Police shall 
require. Approved registration sites shall not be limited to sites managed 
by the Pennsylvania State Police and shall include sites managed by 
local law enforcement agencies that meet the criteria for approved 
registration sites set forth in this paragraph. 

(3) To write regulations regarding neighbor notification under 
section 9799.27(b)(l) (relating to other notification). 

(4) Within three business days, to transfer information as set forth 
in section 9799.18 (relating to information sharing). 

(5) To enforce the provisions of this subchapter as set forth in 
section 9799.22 (relating to enforcement). 

(6) To facilitate verification of information from individuals 
required to register under this subchapter as provided in section 
9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania 
State Police). 

(7) In consultation with the Department of Education and the 
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, to promulgate guidelines 
directing licensed day-care centers, licensed preschool programs, 
schools, universities and colleges, including community colleges, on the 
proper use and administration of information received under section 
9799.27. 

(8) In consultation with the Department of Corrections and the 
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, to promulgate guidelines 
directing State and county correctional facilities and State and county 
probation and parole offices regarding the completion of information, 
including the taking of photographs, required by sexual offenders 
under this subchapter. 

(9) In consultation with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania 
Courts, the Department of Public Welfare and the Juvenile Court 
Judges' Commission, to promulgate guidelines regarding the 



SESSION OF 2011 Act 2011-111 519 

completion of information required by juvenile offenders and sexually 
violent delinquent children under this subchapter. 

§ 9799.33. Duties of probation and parole officials. 
(a) Duties.-The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the 

county office of probation and parole and the chief juvenile probation 
officer of the court shall: 

(1) Perform their respective duties set forth for the Pennsylvania 
Board of Probation and Parole, the county office of probation and 
parole and the chief juvenile probation officer of the court in 
accordance with section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration). 

(2) On a form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, notify 
the Pennsylvania State Police each time a sexual offender is arrested, 
recommitted to a State or county correctional institution for a parole 
violation or incarcerated. 
(b) Notification form.-The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and 

Parole shall create a notification form which will inform State and county 
prison and probation and parole personnel how to inform sexual offenders 
of their duties under this subchapter. In addition, the Pennsylvania Board 
of Probation and Parole shall apply for Federal funding as provided in the 
Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-
248, 120 Stat. 587) to support and enhance programming using global 
satellite positioning system technology. 
§ 9799.34. Duties of facilities housing sexual offenders. 

The Department of Corrections, a county correctional facility, an 
institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition 
of delinquent child) and the separate, State-owned facility or unit 
established under Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary 
treatment of certain sexually violent persons) shall have the following 
duties: 

(1) To perform their respective duties in accordance with section 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration). This paragraph includes taking 
a current photograph of the individual required to register under this 
subchapter before the individual is released from confinement or 
commitment or is discharged. · 

(2) On a form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, to notify 
the Pennsylvania State Police each time a sexual offender is 
incarcerated, committed or released, including supervised release or 
transfer to another correctional institution or facility or institution, in 
the case of a juvenile offender or sexually violent delinquent child. This 
paragraph shall include a community corrections center or community 
contract facility. 

(3) To assist sexual offenders registering under this subchapter. 
§ 9799.35. Board. 

(a) Composition.-The board shall be composed of psychiatrists, 
psychologists and criminal justice experts, each of whom is an expert in 
the.field of the behavior and treatment of sexual offenders. 

(b) Appointment.-The Governor shall appoint the board members. 
(c) Term of office.-Members of the board shall serve four-year terms. 
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(d) Compensation.-The members of the board shall be compensated at 
a rate of $350 per assessment and receive reimbursement for their actual 
and necessary expenses while performing the business of the board. The 
chairman shall receive $500 additional compensation annually. 

(e) Staff.--Support staff for the board shall be provided by the 
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole. 
§ 9 799.3 6. Counseling of sexually violent predators. 

(a) General rule.-A sexually violent predator shall be required to 
attend at least monthly counseling sessions in a program approved by the 
board and be financially responsible for all fees assessed from the 
counseling sessions. The board shall monitor the compliance of the 
sexually violent predator. If the sexually violent predator can prove to the 
satisfaction of the court that the sexually violent predator cannot afford to 
pay for the counseling sessions, the sexually violent predator shall 
nonetheless attend the counseling sessions, and the parole office shall pay 
the requisite fees. 

(b) Designation in another jurisdiction.-If an individual required to 
register under this subchapter has been designated as a sexually violent 
predator in another jurisdiction and was required to undergo counseling, 
the individual shall be subject to the provisions of this section. 

(c) Penalty.-A sexually violent predator who knowingly fails to attend 
counseling sessions as provided in this section may be subject to 
prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply with 
registration requirements). 
§ 9799.37. Exemption from notification for certain licensees and their 

employees. 
Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed as imposing a duty upon 

a person licensed under the act of February 19, 1980 (P.L.15, No.9), 
known as the Real Estate· Licensing and Registration Act, or an employee 
of the person, to disclose any information regarding an individual required 
to be included in the registry pursuant to this subchapter. 
§ 9799.38. Annual performance audit. 

(a) Duties of the Attorney General.-The Attorney General has the 
following duties: 

(1) To conduct a performance audit annually to determine 
compliance with the requirements of this subchapter and any guidelines 
promulgated under this subchapter. The audit shall, at a minimum, 
include a review of the practices, procedures and records of the 
Pennsylvania State Police, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and 
Parole, the Department of Corrections, the board, the Administrative 
Office of Pennsylvania Courts and any other State or local agency the 
Attorney General deems necessary in order to conduct a thorough and 
accurate performance audit. 

(2) To prepare an annual report of its findings and any action that 
it recommends be taken by the Pennsylvania State Police, the 
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the Department of 
Corrections, the board, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania 
Courts, other State or local agencies and the General Assembly to 
ensure compliance with this subchapter. The first report shall be 
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released to the general public no fewer than 18 months following the 
effective date of this section. 

(3) To provide a copy of its report to the Pennsylvania State Police, 
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the Department of 
Corrections, the board, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania 
Courts, State or local agencies referenced in the report, the chairman 
and the minority chairman of the Judiciary Committee of the Senate 
and the chairman and the minority chairman· of the Judiciary 
Committee of the House of Representatives no fewer than 30 days prior 
to its release to the general public. 
(b) Cooperation required.-Notwithstanding any other provision of law 

to the contrary, the Pennsylvania State Police, the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole, the Department of Corrections, the board, the 
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, the Pennsylvania 
Commission on Sentencing and any other State or local agency requested 
to do so shall fully cooperate with the Attorney General and assist the 
Office of Attorney General in satisfying the requirements of this section. 
For purposes of this subsection, full cooperation shall include, at a 
minimum, complete access to unredacted records, files, reports and data 
systems. 
§ 9799.39. Photographs and fingerprinting. 

An individual subject to registration shall submit to fingerprinting and 
photographing as required by this subchapter. Fingerprinting as required 
by this subchapter shall, at a minimum, require submission of a full set of 
fingerprints and palm prints. Photographing as required by this 
subchapter shall, at a minimum, require submission to photographs of the 
face and any scars, marks, tattoos or other unique features of the 
individual. Fingerprints and photographs obtained under this subchapter 
may be maintained for use under this subchapter and for general law 
enforcement purposes. 
§ 9799.40. Duties of Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing. 

The Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall establish, 
procedures to enable courts to classify sexual offenders as provided in 
section 9799.23 (relating to court notification and classification require­
ments). 
§ 9799.41. Expiration. 

The following provisions shall expire one year after the effective date of 
this section: 

Section 9718.3 (relating to sentence for failure to comply with reg­
istration of sexual offenders). 

Section 9791 (relating to legislative findings and declaration of 
policy). 

ity). 

Section 9792 (relating to definitions). 
Section 9795.1 (relating to registration). 
Section 9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and applicabil-

Section 9795.3 (relating to sentencing court information). 
Section 9795.4 (relating to assessments). 
Section 9795.5 (relating to exemption from certain notifications). 



522 Act 2011-111 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

Section 9796 (relating to verification of residence). 
Section 9797 (relating to victim notification). 
Section 9798 (relating to other notification). 
Section 9798.1 (relating to information made available on the 

Internet and electronic notification). 
Section 9798.2 (relating to administration). 
Section 9798.3 (relating to global positioning system technology). 
Section 9799 (relating to immunity for good faith conduct). 
Section 9799.1 (relating to duties of Pennsylvania State Police). 
Section 9799.2 (relating to duties of Pennsylvania Board of Proba-

tion and Parole). 
Section 9799.3 (relating to board). 
Section 9799.4 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators). 
Section 9799. 7 (relating to exemption from notification for certain 

licensees and their employees). 
Section 9799.8 (relating to annual performance audit). 
Section 9799.9 (relating to photographs and fingerprinting). 

Section 13. The definition of "other specified offense" in section 2303 of 
Title 44 is amended to read: 
§ 2303. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

* * * 
"Other specified offense." Any of the following: 

(1) A felony offense [or an]. 
(2) An offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 2910 (relating to luring a child into 

a motor vehicle or structure) or 3126 (relating to indecent assault) or an 
attempt to commit such an offense. 

(3) An offense subject to 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to 
registration of sexual offenders). 
* * * 
Section 14. Paragraph (4) of the definition of "eligible offender" m 

section 4503 of Title 61 is amended to read: 
§ 4503. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

* * * 
"Eligible offender." A defendant or inmate convicted of a criminal 

offense who will be committed to the custody of the department and who 
meets all of the following eligibility requirements: 

* * * 
(4) Has not been found guilty or previously convicted or adjudicated 

delinquent for violating any of the following provisions or an equivalent 
offense under the laws of the United States or one of its territories or 
possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth 
of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation: 

18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest). 
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18 Pa.C.S. § 5901 (relating to open lewdness). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with minor). 
18 Pa.C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of children). 
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18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 76 Subch. C (relating to Internet child pornography). 
Received a criminal sentence pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 9712.1 

(relating to sentences for certain drug offenses committed with firearms). 
Any sexually violent offense [listed under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.1 

(relating to registration)] as defined in 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H 
(relating to registration of sexual offenders). 

* * * 
Section 15. Section 6137(a)(3.l)(ii) of Title 61 is amended to read: 

§ 6137. Parole power. 
(a) General criteria for parole.-

* * * 
(3.1) * * * 

(ii) This paragraph shall not apply to offenders who are currently 
serving a term of imprisonment for a crime of violence as defined in 
42 Pa.C.S. § 9714 (relating to sentences for second and subsequent 
offenses) or for a crime requiring registration under 42 Pa.C.S. [§ 
9795.1 (relating to registration)] Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to 
registration of sexual offenders). 

* * * 
Section 16. Any reference in any act or part of an act to 42 Pa.C.S. § 

9795.1 shall be deemed a reference to 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.15 as if fully set 
forth in that act or part of that act. 

Section 17. This act shall apply as follows: 
(1) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.28(b)(l l) shall apply to: 

(i) Persons' convicted after November 30, 2006, of an offense 
which required registration under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.l and to 
persons required to register under 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H on or 
after the effective date of this section. 

(ii)2 All individuals required to register under 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 
Subch. H on or after the effective date of this paragraph. 

· (iii)3 All individuals required to register under 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 
Subch. H or former 42 Pa.C.S. § 9793 prior to the effective date of 
this paragraph and whose registration has not expired prior to the 
effective date of this paragraph. 
(2)' The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9795. l(d) and 9799.25(f) shall 

apply to all group-based homes and their residents, regardless of when the 
group-based homes began to provide housing or the residents began their 
residency. 
Section 18. This act shall take effect as follows: 

(1) The following provisions shall take effect immediately: 
(i) This section. 

1"to persons" in enrolled bill. 
2"(2)" in enrolled bill. 
3"(3)" in enrolled bill. 
4
"( 4)" in enrolled bill. 
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(ii) The addition of 18 Pa.C.S. § 49 l 5(g). 
(iii) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9791. 
(iv) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.1 (a) and (b). 
(v) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9798.1 (a) and (b)(7). 
(vi) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.1(2). 
(vii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.41. 

(2) The following provisions shall take effect in one year: 
(i) The amendment of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3130(a) introductory 

paragraph and ( 1) and (b ). 
(ii) The amendment of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3141. 
(iii) The addition of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1. 
(iv) The amendment of23 Pa.C.S. § 6707(2)(ii). 
(v) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6358(a) and (b ). 
(vi) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6403(a)(2), (b)(3) and (d). 
(vii) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6404. 
(viii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6404.1. 
(ix) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6404.2. 
(x) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6406(a). 
(xi) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 6409. 
(xii) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9718.l(a) introductory 

paragraph and (b)(2). 
(xiii) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9718.2(a) and (d). 
(xiv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9718.4 
(xv) The addition of42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.10. 
(xvi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.11. 
(xvii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.12. 
(xviii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13. 
(xix) The addition of42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.14. 

· (xx) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.15. 
(xxi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.16. 
(xxii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.17. 
(xxiii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.18. 
(xxiv) The addition of42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.19. 
(xxv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.20. 
(xxvi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.21. 
(xxvii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.22. 
(xxviii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.23. 
(xxix) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.24. 
(xxx) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.25. 
(xxxi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.26. 
(xxxii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.27. 
(xxiii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.28. 
(xxxiv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.29. 
(xxxv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.30. 
(xxxvi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.31. 
(xxxvii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.32. 
(xxxviii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.33. 
(xxxix) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.34. 
(xi) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.35. 
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(xii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.36. 
(xiii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.37. 
(xliii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.38. 
(xliv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.39. 
(xiv) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.40. 
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(xlvi) The amendment of the definition of "other specified 
offense" in 44 Pa.C.S. § 2303. 

(xlvii) The amendment of paragraph (4) of the definition of 
"eligible offender" in 61 Pa.C.S.1 § 4503. 

(xlviii) The amendment of61Pa.C.S.§6137(a)(3.l)(ii). 
(xlix) The amendment of61 Pa.C.S. § 6137(a)(3.l)(ii). 
(!) Section 16 of this act. 
(Ii) Section 1 7 of this act. 

(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60. days. 

APPROVED-The 20th day of December, A.D. 2011 

TOM CORBETT 

1"44 Pa.C.S." in enrolled bill. 


