
40 Act 2013-12 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

No. 2013-12 

AN ACT 
HB 1029 

Amending the act of May 11, 1889 (P.L.l88, No.210), entitled "A further supplement 
to an act, entitled 'An act to establish a board of wardens for the Port of 
Philadelphia, and for the regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other purposes,' 
approved March twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and three, and for 
regulating the rates of pilotage and number of pilots,'' further providing for certain 
charges. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Sections 3.l(b) and (c), 3.2(b) and (c) and 3.3 of the act of 
May 11, 1889 (P.L.188, No.21 0), entitled "A further supplement to an act, 
entitled 'An act to establish a board of wardens for the Port of Philadelphia, 
and for the regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other purposes,' 
approved March twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and three, and for 
regulating the rates of pilotage and number of pilots," amended October 7, 

2010 (P.L.502, No.71), are amended to read: 
Section 3.1. For services rendered on and after January 1, 1990, 

retroactively, the rates of pilotage for conducting a vessel from the Capes of 

the Delaware to a place on the Delaware River or Bay no further upriver than 
the Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Delair, 
New Jersey, or from a place on the river Delaware no further upriver than the 
Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Delair, New 
Jersey, to the Capes of the Delaware, in either case, shall be computed as 
follows: 

* * * 
(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows: 
[(i) Effective January 1, 2010..................................... $12.36 per unit 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2011..................................... $12.36 per unit 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2012.................................... $12.61 per unit 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013 .................................... $12.86 per unit] 
(i) Effective January 1, 2013....................................... $12.86 per unit 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014...................................... $13.25 per unit 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015..................................... $13.64 per unit 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016 ......................•.............. $14.05 per unit 
(c) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units and a 

maximum unit charge as follows: 
[(i) Effective January 1, 2010 .......•.•........................... 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2011 .................................... . 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2012 .................................. .. 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013 .................................. .. 
(i) Effective January 1, 2013 ...................................... . 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014 ..................................... . 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015 .................................... . 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016 .................................... . 

1,400 units 
1,400 units 
1,400 units 

1,400 units] 
1,400 units 
1,400 units 
1,400 units 
1,400 units 
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Section 3.2. That every ship or vessel bound to the Delaware breakwater 
for orders shall be obliged to receive a pilot, provided she is spoken or a pilot 
offers his services, outside of a straight line drawn from Cape Henlopen 
Light to Cape May Light, and every ship or vessel bound to the breakwater 
for orders shall pay pilotage fees as follows: A sum equal to half the pilotage 
to the Port of Philadelphia, and she shall be obliged to take a pilot and pay 
the same pilotage fees when outward bound, from the breakwater, and if 
such ship or vessel, without discharging her pilot, proceed to the Port of 
Philadelphia or any other port or place on the bay or river Delaware, only 
one full pilotage fee as fixed by section 3.1 of this act, for the entire service, 
in addition to the fee for detention: Provided, however, That if the pilot 
bringing such ship or vessel to the breakwater be there discharged, and the 
ship or vessel afterward proceed to Philadelphia or any other port or place on 
the bay or river Delaware, she shall make the usual signal for a pilot and 
continue to make such signal till reaching Brandywine Light, and if spoken 
by, or offered the services of, a duly licensed Pennsylvania pilot before 
reaching Brandywine Light, shall be obliged to employ such pilot and pay 
him for services rendered on and after the effective date of this act, a charge 
computed as follows: 

* * * 
(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows: 
[(i) Effective January 1, 2010..................................... $12.36 per unit 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2011..................................... $12.36 per unit 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2012.................................... $12.61 per unit 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013 .................................... $12.86 per unit] 
(i) Effective January 1, 2013....................................... $12.86 per unit 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014...................................... $13.25 per unit 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015..................................... $13.64 per unit 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016..................................... $14.05 per unit 
(c) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units and a 

maximum unit charge as follows: 
[(i) Effective January 1, 2010..................................... 1,400 units 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2011..................................... 1,400 units 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2012.................................... 1,400 units 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013 .................................... 1,400 units] 
(i) Effective January 1, 2013 ....................................... 1,400 units 
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014...................................... 1,400 units 
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015..................................... 1,400 units 
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016..................................... 1,400 units 
Section 3.3. The following charges are hereby authorized for the services 

stated: 
(1) Ship communication charge: 
Vessels transiting the Delaware River.. ........................ . 

(2). Transporting vessels in the Delaware: 
Philadelphia (or other place) to Marcus Hook .............. . 
Philadelphia (or other place) below Marcus Hook ...... .. 
Philadelphia Harbor to Torresdale ................................ . 
Philadelphia Harbor to any place above Torresdale ..... . 

[$220.00] 
$235.00 

750.00 
750.00 
750.00 

1,000.00 
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(3) Extra services; 
~wing ship to adjust magnetic compass ........................ · 
Swipg ship to calibrate direction finder.. ...................... . 
Vessels anchoring below Brown Shoal in excess of 

300.00 
300.00 

three hours awaiting flood tide for transiting river 
channel .............................................................................. . 

Carried to/from Baltimore ............................................ . 

Carried to/from Norfolk .............................................. .. 

450.00 
600.00 

1,000.00 
Carried to/from New York .................................... :....... 1,000.00 

Vessels entering the Capes for anchorage at the Breakwater for other than 
tide shall pay one-half pilotage in and one-half pilotage out. 

(4) Chesapeake and Delaware Canal: 
Vessels transiting the Chesapeake and Delaware 

Canal: 
Vessels with a length overall ofless than 650 feet.. .... .. 
Vessels with a length overall of 650 feet or more ........ . 
(5) Cancellation of sailing orders: 

1,000.00 
1,500.00 

Cancellation charge....................................................... 600.00 
Any time a pilot is dispatched for sailing and the trip or movement is 
canceled, for reason other than weather, the vessel shall be subject to this 
charge, except when the Pilot Office is notified as follows: 

All piers north of Hog Island - 1 112 hours before sailing time. 
All piers north of Paulsboro - 2 hours before sailing time. 
All piers south of the above - 3 hours before sailing time. 
(6) Finance charge: 
A finance charge not to exceed one and one-half per centum per month or 

fraction thereof may be assessed against all invoices outstanding more than 
thirty days after the billing date, and the cost of attorney fees on any amount 
placed with an attorney for collection may also be charged. 

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The lOth day of June, A.D. 2013 

TOM CORBETT 
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