6 Act 2014-4 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 2014-4

AN ACT
SB 29

Amending Title 23 (Domestic Relations) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
in child protective services, further providing for definitions and for mandatory
reporting of infants.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 6303(a) of Title 23 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding definitions to read:

§ 6303. Definitions.

(a) General rule—The following words and phrases when used in this
chapter shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Health care provider." A licensed hospital or health care facility or
person who is licensed, certified or otherwise regulated to provide health
care services under the laws of this Commonwealth, including a physician,
podiatrist, optometrist, psychologist, physical therapist, certified nurse
practitioner, registered nurse, nurse midwife, physician's assistant,
chiropractor, dentist, pharmacist or an individual accredited or certified to
provide behavioral health services.
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"Safety assessment.” A Commonwealth-approved systematic process
that assesses a child's need for protection or services, based on the threat
to the safety of the child.
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Section 2. Section 6386 of Title 23 is amended to read:

§ 6386. [Mandatory reporting of infants born and identified as being
affected by illegal substance abuse.

Health care providers who are involved in the delivery or care of an
infant who is born and identified as being affected by illegal substance
abuse or as having withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug
exposure shall immediately cause a report to be made to the appropriate
county agency. The county agency shall provide or arrange for
appropriate services for the infant.] Mandatory reporting of children
under one year of age.

(a) When report to be made.—A health care provider shall immediately
make a report or cause a report to be made to the appropriate county
agency if the provider is involved in the delivery or care of a child under
one year of age who is born and identified as being affected by any of the
Sollowing:

(1) Illegal substance abuse by the child's mother.
(2) Withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug exposure.
(3) A Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.
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(b) Safety or risk assessment—The county agency shall perform a
safety assessment or risk assessment, or both, for the child and determine
whether child protective services or general protective services are
warranted.

(¢) County agency duties.—Upon receipt of a report under this section,
the county agency for the county where the child resides shall:

(1) Immediately ensure the safety of the child and see the child
immediately if emergency protective custody is required or has been or
shall be taken or if it cannot be determined from the report whether
emergency protective custody is needed.

(2) Physically see the child within 48 hours of receipt of the report.

(3) Contact the parents of the child within 24 hours of receipt of the
report.

(4) Provide or arrange reasonable services to ensure the child is
provided with proper parental care, control and supervision.

Section 3. This act shall take effect in 90 days.

APPROVED—The 22nd day of January, A.D. 2014

TOM CORBETT



