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No. 2014-138 

AN ACT 
SB 1197 

Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses) and 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) 
of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in obstructing governmental 
operations, further providing for escape; in criminal history record information, 
further providing for juvenile records; in juvenile matters, further providing for 
scope of chapter, for inspection of court files and records, for juvenile history 
record information and for conduct of hearings; and, in registration of sexual 
offenders, further providing for definitions and for court notification and 
classification requirements. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section I. Sections 512l(d)(l)(i) and 9123(a)(2.l) of Title 18 of the 
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read: 
§ 5121. Escape. 

* * * 
(d) Grading.-

( 1) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree 
where: 

(i) the actor was: 
(A) under arrest for or detained on a charge of felony [or 

following conviction of crime]; 
(B) convicted of a crime; or 
(C) found to be delinquent of an offense which, if 

committed by an adult, would be classified as a felony and the 
actor is at least 18 years of age at the time of the violation of this 
section; 

* * * 
§ 9123. Juvenile records. 

(a) Expungement of juvenile records.-Notwithstanding the provisions 
of section 9105 (relating to other criminal justice information) and except as 
provided under subsection (a.I), expungement of records of juvenile 
delinquency cases and cases involving summary offenses committed while 
the individual was under 18 years of age, wherever kept or retained, shall 
occur after 30 days' notice to the district attorney whenever the court upon its 
own motion or upon the motion of a child or the parents or guardian finds: 

* * * 
(2.l) the individual is 18 years of age or older and six months have 

elapsed since the individual has satisfied all terms and conditions of the 
sentence imposed following a conviction for a summary offense, with the 
exception of a violation of section 6308 (relating to purchase, 
consumption, possession or transportation of liquor or malt or brewed 
beverages), committed while the individual was under 18 years of age 
and, since satisfying all terms and conditions of the sentence, the 
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individual has not been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or 
adjudicated delinquent and no proceeding is pending to seek such 
conviction and adjudication; 

* * * 
Section 2. Sections 6303(c), 6307(c), 6309(d) and (e) and 6336(g) of 

Title 42 are amended to read: 
§ 6303. Scope of chapter. 

* * * 
(c) Summary offenses generally.-In addition to the prov1s1ons of 

subsection (a)(5) and notwithstanding the exclusion of summary offenses 
generally from the definition of "delinquent act" under section 6302, the 
provisions of sections 6307 (relating to inspection of court files and records) 
and 6336(d) (relating to conduct of hearings), insofar as section 6336(d) 
relates to the exclusion of the general public from the proceedings, shall 
apply to proceedings involving a child charged with a summary offense 
when the proceedings are before a judge of the minor judiciary, the 
Philadelphia Municipal Court or a court of common pleas. 
§ 6307. Inspection of court files and records. 

* * * 
(c) Summary offenses.-The provisions of this section shall apply to 

proceedings involving a child charged with a summary offense when the 
proceedings are before a judge of the minor judiciary, the Philadelphia 
Municipal Court or a court of common pleas. 
§ 6309. Juvenile history record information. 

* * * 
(d) Disposition reporting.-The division or judge of the court assigned to 

conduct juvenile hearings shall, within seven days after disposition of a case 
where the child has been alleged to be delinquent, notify the arresting 
authority of the disposition of the case. [In addition, it shall collect and 
submit to the Juvenile Court Judges' Commission the] The disposition of 
cases where a child has been alleged to be delinquent, including the 
disposition of cases resulting in an adjudication of delinquency [which], 
shall be' [submitted] provided to the Pennsylvania State Police for 
inclusion in the central repository [within 90 days of an adjudication of 
delinquency as required by] as determined by the Administrative Office of 
Pennsylvania Courts in consultation with the Juvenile Court Judges' 
Commission. In addition, the Juvenile Court Judges' Commission shall be 
provided with information pertaining to the cases of children who have 
been alleged to be delinquent as the commission determines necessary to 
fulfill its responsibilities under section 6373 (relating to powers and 
duties). 

(e) Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and 
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: 

"Criminal history record information." In addition to the meaning in 18 
Pa.C.S. § 9102 (relating to definitions), the term includes the meaning of 
juvenile history record information as defined in this subsection. 

'"delinquency [which] shall be" in enrolled bill. 
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"Juvenile history record information." Information collected pursuant to 
this section concerning alleged delinquents and adjudicated delinquents 
whose fingerprints and photographs are taken pursuant to section 6308(c) 
and arising from [the filing of a petition] an allegation of delinquency, 
consisting of identifiable descriptions, dates and notations of arrests or other 
delinquency charges and any adjudication of delinquency or preadjudication 
disposition other than dismissal arising therefrom. This information shall 
also include the last known location and the juvenile court jurisdiction status 
of each adjudicated delinquent. Juvenile history record information shall not 
include intelligence information, investigative information, treatment 
information, including medical and psychiatric information, caution 
indicator information, modus operandi information, wanted persons 
information, stolen property information, missing persons information, 
employment history information, personal history information or presentence 
investigation information. 
§ 6336. Conduct of hearings. 

* * * 
(g) Summary offenses.-The prov1s1ons of subsection (d), insofar as 

subsection ( d) relates to the exclusion of the general public from the 
proceedings, shall apply to proceedings involving a child charged with a 
summary offense when the proceedings are before a judge of the minor 
judiciary, the Philadelphia Municipal Court or a court of common pleas. 

* * * 
Section 3. The definitions of "juvenile offender" and "sexually violent 

predator" in section 9799.12 of Title 42, amended March 14, 2014 (P.L.41, 
No.19), are amended to read: 
§ 9799.12. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have 
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

* * * 
"Juvenile offender." One of the following: 

(1). An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the time the 
individual committed an offense which, if committed by an adult, would 
be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 
3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125 (relating 
to aggravated indecent assault) or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to 
commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 and either: 

(i) is adjudicated delinquent for such offense on or after the 
effective date of this section; or 

(ii) has been adjudicated delinquent for such offense and on the 
effective date of this section is subject to the jurisdiction of the court 
on the basis of that adjudication of delinquency, including 
commitment to an institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) 
(relating to [a] disposition of delinquent child). 
(2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 

paragraph, was 14 years of age or older at the time the individual 
committed an offense similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 
or 3125 or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit an offense 
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similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 under the 
laws of the United States, another jurisdiction or a foreign country and 
was adjudicated delinquent for such an offense[.]; or who was previously 
adjudicated delinquent for such an offense and, on the effective date of 
this paragraph, is subject to the jurisdiction of the court on the basis of 
that adjudication of delinquency. 

(3) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
paragraph, was required to register in a sexual offender registry in another 
jurisdiction or foreign country based upon an adjudication of delinquency. 

The term does not include a sexually violent delinquent child. 

* * * 
"Sexually violent predator." An individual determined to be a sexually 

violent predator under section 9795.4 (relating to assessments) prior to the 
effective date of this subchapter or an individual convicted of an offense 
specified in: 

(1) section 9799.14(b)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (8), (9) or (10) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system) or an attempt, conspiracy or 
solicitation to commit any offense under section 9799.14(b)(l), (2), (3), 
(4), (5), (6), (8), (9) or (10); 

(2) section 9799.14(c)(l), (1.1), (1.2), (1.3), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6) or 
an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799.14(c)(l), (1.1), (1.2), (1.3), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6); or 

(3) section 9799.14(d)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8) or (9) or an 
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799.14(d)(l), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8) or (9) 

who, on or after the effective date of this subchapter, is determined to be a 
sexually violent predator under section 9799.24 (relating to assessments) due 
to a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes the individual 
likely to engage in predatory sexually violent offenses. The term includes an 
individual determined to be a sexually violent predator or similar designation 
where the determination occurred in another jurisdiction, a foreign country 
or by court martial following a judicial or administrative determination 
pursuant to a process similar to that under section 9799.24. In addition, the 
term shall include any person convicted between January 23, 2005, and 
December 19, 2012, of any offense set forth in section 9799.13(3.1) (relating 
to applicability) determined by a court to be a sexually violent predator due 
to a mental abnormality or personality disorder that made the person likely to 
engage in predatory sexually violent offenses, which person shall be deemed 
a sexually violent predator under this subchapter. 

* * * 
Section 4. Section 9799.23(a) of Title 42 is amended to read: 

§ 9799.23. Court notification and classification requirements. 
(a) Notice to sexual offenders.-At the time of sentencing, of disposition 

under section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) in the case 
of a juvenile offender, of adjudication of delinquency under section 6341 
(relating to adjudication) in the case of a juvenile offender if the individual 
was adjudicated delinquent in any county other than the individual's 
county of residence and section 9799.19(h)(l)(i)(B) (relating to initial 
registration) applies, or of commitment under section 6403 (relating to 
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court-ordered involuntary treatment) in the case of a sexually violent 
delinquent child, the court shall inform the sexual offender of the provisions 
of this subchapter. The court shall: 

(1) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to register 
under this subchapter. 

(2) Specifically inform the sexual offender of: 
(i) the duty to register in accordance with sections 9799.15 

(relating to period of registration), 9799.16(b) (relating to registry), 
9799.19 [(relating to initial registration)] and 9799.25 (relating to 
verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police); and 

(ii) the duty to attend counseling in accordance with: 
(A) section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of sexually 

violent predators) if applicable; or 
(B) section 6404.2(g) (reiating to duration of outpatient 

commitment and review) if applicable. 
(3) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to register 

with authorities in another jurisdiction within three business days of: 
(i) Commencement of residence, change of residence, 

termination of residence or failure to maintain a residence, thus 
making the sexual offender a transient. 

(ii) Commencement of employment, a change in the location or 
entity in which the sexual offender is employed or termination of 
employment. 

(iii) Commencement of enrollment as a student, a change in 
enrollment as a student or termination of enrollment as a student. 
( 4) In accordance with section 9799. l 6(c), order that the fingerprints, 

palm prints, DNA sample and photograph of the sexual offender be 
provided to the Pennsylvania State Police upon sentencing. 

(5) Require the sexual offender to read and sign a form stating that 
the duty to register under this subchapter has been explained. If the sexual 
offender is incapable of speaking, reading or writing the English 
language, the court shall certify the duty to register was explained to the 
sexual offender, and the sexual offender indicated an understanding of the 
duty. 

(6) Specifically classify the individual as one of the following: 
(i) An individual convicted of a Tier I offense. 
(ii) An individual convicted of a Tier II offense. 
(iii) An individual convicted of a Tier III offense. 
(iv) A sexually violent predator. 
(v) A juvenile offender. 
(vi) A sexually violent delinquent child. 

* * * 
Section 5. The amendment of the definition of "sexually violent predator" 

in 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.12 shall be retroactive to September 2, 2014. 
Section 6. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The 27th day of September, A.D. 2014 

TOM CORBETT 


