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No. 2014-146 

AN ACT 
SB 814 

Amending the act of December 22, 1983 (P.L.306, No.84), entitled "An act providing 
for the State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons; and 
providing penalties," defining "out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer"; further 
defining "recreational vehicle show"; and further providing for grounds for 
disciplinary proceedings and for requirements for out-of-State recreational vehicle 
dealers for recreational vehicle shows, recreational vehicle off-premise sales, 
recreational exhibitions and recreational vehicle rallies. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. The definition of "recreational vehicle show," "recreational 
vehicle off-premise sale," "recreational vehicle exhibition" or "recreational 
vehicle rally"' in section 2 of the act of December 22, 1983 (P.L.306, No.84), 
known as the Board of Vehicles Act, added October 8, 2008 (P.L.1086, 
No.90), is amended to read: 
Section 2. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall have the 
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

* * * 
"Recreational vehicle show," "recreational vehicle off-premise sale," 

"recreational vehicle exhibition" or "recreational vehicle rally." A sale, 
show, exhibition or rally, held by one or more recreational vehicle dealers, 
distributors, manufacturers or manufacturers' representatives who display, 
sell or attempt to sell recreational vehicles for a fixed and limited period of 
time, which shall not exceed ten days in a [30-day period] calendar month, 
20 days in [a 90-day period] three consecutive calendar months and 60 
days in a [365-day period] calendar year. Set-up and tear-down days and 
days when the events are not open shall be excluded from the calculation of 
the applicable time period. 

* * * 
Section 2. Section 19(39) of the act, added October 8, 2008 (P.L.1086, 

No.90), is amended and the section is amended by adding a paragraph to 
read: 
Section 19. Grounds for disciplinary proceedings. 

In addition to any criminal or civil penalties otherwise provided in this 
act, the board shall have the power to formally reprimand, suspend or revoke 
any license or refuse to issue or renew any license of an applicant or licensee 
or a person required to be licensed under this act, if after due notice of and 
hearing, the person charged is found in violation of or fails to carry out the 
acts and procedures set forth in this act or is found guilty of committing or 

1"The definition of 'recreational vehicle show"' in enrolled bill. 
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attempting to commit any of the acts set forth in section 23 or any of the 
following acts: 

* * * 
(39) Being [a) an out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer [from 

another state or jurisdiction] who, while buying, selling, titling, 
registering, financing or exchanging recreational vehicles in this 
Commonwealth, violates a Pennsylvania law or regulation or a law or 
regulation of the state or jurisdiction of licensure or the state or 
jurisdiction of domicile regarding the buying, selling, titling, registering, 
financing or exchanging of recreational vehicles. 

(40) Being an out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer who fails to 
demonstrate, upon direction of or investigation by the board or its 
agents, that the out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer satisfies the 
provisions of section 32.J(c) regarding participation in this Common­
wealth in a recreational vehicle show, recreational vehicle off-premise 
sale, recreational vehicle exhibition or recreational vehicle rally. 
Section 3. Section 32.l(c) of the act, added October 8, 2008 (P.L.1086, 

No.90), is amended to read: 
Section 32.1. Recreational vehicle shows, recreational vehicle off-premise 

sales, recreational vehicle exhibitions and recreational vehicle 
rallies. 

* * * 
(c) Out-of-State recreational vehicle dealers.-[A] An out-of-State 

recreational vehicle dealer licensed in another state or jurisdiction or 
domiciled in another state or jurisdiction that does not require licensure shall 
register with the board on a form prescribed by the board before participating 
in this Commonwealth in a recreational vehicle show, recreational vehicle 
off-premise sale, recreational vehicle exhibition or recreational vehicle rally. 
The following apply: 

( 1) Registration shall include all of the following: 
(i) Notification of the out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer's 

intent to participate in this Commonwealth in a recreational vehicle 
show, recreational vehicle off-premise sale, recreational vehicle 
exhibition or recreational vehicle rally. 

(ii) Agreement to comply with all Federal and State laws and 
regulations relating to the buying, selling, exchanging, titling, 
registration or financing of recreational vehicles. 

(iii) Agreement by the out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer to 
submit to the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth for purposes of 
disciplinary action of imposition of a civil or criminal penalty or 
assessment under subsection (b) resulting from a violation under 
subparagraph (ii). 

(iv) Evidence of the posting of a bond under subsection (b ). 
(v) Payment of a participation fee. 
(vi) A list of all individuals engaged as sales people for the out­

of-State recreational vehicle dealer while operating in this Common­
wealth. 
(2) If the board has taken action within the last five years to sanction 

an out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer, the board may: 
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(i) refuse to accept the registration and participation fee of the 
out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer permanently or for a fixed 
period; and 

(ii) order that the out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer be 
denied access to all recreational vehicle shows, recreational vehicle 
off-premise sales, recreational vehicle exhibitions and recreational 
vehicle rallies in this Commonwealth. 
(3) [A] An out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer licensed in 

another state or jurisdiction or domiciled in a state or jurisdiction that 
does not require licensure may participate in this Commonwealth in a 
recreational vehicle show, recreational vehicle off-premise sale, 
recreational vehicle exhibition or recreational vehicle rally under the 
circumstances set forth either in subparagraph (i) or (ii): 

(i) When the show, sale, exhibition or rally has less than a total of 
50 recreational vehicle dealers participating with permission of the 
dealer's licensed manufacturer and meets all of the following require­
ments: 

(A) A minimum of ten recreational vehicle dealers at the 
show are licensed in this Commonwealth. 

(B) More than 50% of the participating recreational vehicle 
dealers are licensed in this Commonwealth. 

(C) The state in which the out-of-State recreational vehicle 
dealer is licensed is contiguous to this Commonwealth and 
permits recreational vehicle dealers licensed in this Common­
wealth to participate in recreational vehicle shows in that state 
under conditions substantially equivalent to the conditions 
imposed upon dealers from that state to participate in recreational 
vehicle shows in this Commonwealth. 
(ii) When the recreational vehicle show, sale, exhibition or rally 

opens to the public, it has a total of at least 50 recreational vehicle 
dealers from this Commonwealth and from another state participating 
with permission of the dealer's licensed manufacturer and meets all of 
the following requirements: 

(A) The show, sale, exhibition or rally is trade oriented and 
predominantly funded by recreational vehicle manufacturers. 

(B) All of the participating dealers who are not licensed in 
this Commonwealth are from a state contiguous to this Common­
wealth which permits recreational vehicle dealers licensed in this 
Commonwealth to participate in recreational vehicle shows in that 
state under conditions substantially equivalent to the conditions 
imposed upon dealers from that state to participate in recreational 
vehicle shows in this Commonwealth. 

(4) The board shall report a violation of Pennsylvania law or 
regulation to the state or jurisdiction in which the out-of-State recreational 
vehicle dealer is licensed or domiciled. 

(5) Forms for out-of-State recreational vehicle dealers shall be 
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and shall be maintained on the 
board's Internet website. 



2510 Act 2014-146 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

(6) The board may accept registration information and payment 
electronically. 

(7) An out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer may not participate 
in a recreational vehicle show, recreational vehicle off-premise sale, 
recreational vehicle exhibition or recreational vehicle rally in this 
Commonwealth, unless the out-of-State recreational vehicle dealer 
satisfies at least four of the listed activities at its facility in the 
contiguous state in which it is licensed or domiciled that does not 
require licensure: 

(i) Accepting delivery of new recreational vehicles from the 
recreational vehicle dealer's manufacturer for which the 
recreational vehicle dealer possesses an agreement with the 
manufacturer to sell its new recreational vehicles. 

(ii) Maintaining inventory and offering recreational vehicles 
for sale to the public. 

(iii) Consummating and finalizing recreational vehicle sales. 
(iv) Servicing or repairing recreational vehicles. 
(v) Delivering recreational vehicles to purchasers with 

recreational vehicle titling, registrations issued and taxes collected 
and paid to the dealer's appropriate home state agencies. 

Section 4. This. act shall take effect immediately. 

APPROVED-The 14th day of October, A.D. 2014 

TOM CORBETT 


