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AN ACT
SB 399

Amending the act of November 29, 2006 (P.L.1471, No.165), entitled, "An act
providing for a sexual assault evidence collection program and for powers and
duties of the Department of Health and the Pennsylvania State Police; establishing
civil immunity; and providing for rights of sexual assault victims," further
providing for sexual assault evidence collection program, for rights of sexual
assault victims and for report by Pennsylvania State Police.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 3(a)(6) and (c)(1) of the act of November 29, 2006
(P.L.1471, No.165), known as the Sexual Assault Testing and Evidence
Collection Act, amended October 24, 2018 (P.L.1192, No.164), are amended
and the section is amended by adding a subsection to read:

Section 3. Sexual assault evidence collection program.

(a) Establishment.—There is hereby established a Statewide sexual
assault evidence collection program to promote the health and safety of
victims of sexual assault and to facilitate the prosecution of persons accused
of sexual assault. This program shall be administered by the department.
Under this program the department shall: ‘

* ¥ %k

(6) Establish a designated telephone number for the use of health care
facilities who have notified local law enforcement or the Pennsylvania
State Police to take possession of sexual assault evidence that has not
been completed within 72 hours. The following apply:

(i) The telephone line shall be staffed by a live person during
regular business hours.

(ii) The telephone line shall allow the health care facility to
leave a voicemail.

(iii) After receiving a report by a health care facility under this
paragraph, the department shall contact local law enforcement or
the Pennsylvania State Police to take possession of the sexual
assault evidence.

* %k %

(c) Submission and analysis.—The following shall apply to all sexual
assault evidence obtained by a health care facility, at the request or consent
of the victim, on or after the effective date of this subsection:

(1) Within 12 hours of collection of sexual assault evidence, the
. health care facility shall notify the local law enforcement agency of the
jurisdiction where the reported sexual assault occurred or the

Pennsylvania State Police if the jurisdiction is unknown. The local law

enforcement agency or the Pennsylvania State Police shall take

possession of the sexual assault evidence within 72 hours of receiving
notice. If local law enforcement or the Pennsylvania State Police has not
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taken possession of the sexual assault evidence within 72 hours of
notification, the health care facility shall notify the department through
the designated telephone number. For those cases in which the victim has
not yet consented to testing of the evidence, the evidence shall be
preserved and stored for a period of no less than [two years] the duration
of the maximum applicable criminal statute of limitations, unless
consent is provided before that period. The Pennsylvania State Police, in
consultation with the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association and the
Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association, shall establish policies for
local law enforcement agencies relating to the storage and preservation of
the evidence, including, but not limited to, the storage and preservation
of evidence with unknown jurisdiction and the provision of anonymous
submissions.
* ok Xk

(c.1) Anonymous submissions.—The following shall apply to sexual
assault evidence obtained by a health care facility at the request or with the
- consent of the victim who does not wish to make a report to law
enforcement:

(1) Within 12 hours of collection of the sexual assault evidence, the
health care facility shall notify the local law enforcement agency of the
Jjurisdiction where the reported sexual assault occurred. If the victim
does not wish to state or does not know where the sexual assault
occurred, the health care facility shall notify the Pennsylvania State
Police. The local law enforcement agency or Pennsylvania State Police
shall take possession of the sexual assault evidence within 72 hours of
receiving notice. A

(2) The Pennsylvania State Police shall develop a form for the
health care facility to attest that the victim gave consent and wishes to
remain anonymous. The Pennsylvania State Police shall also develop a
procedure to track the rape kit, which permits the victim to make a
report to law enforcement and preserves the evidence for the duration of -
the maximum applicable criminal statute of limitations.

(3) Within 15 days of receiving notice on the required form of
consent to the testing of the sexual assault evidence, the local law
enforcement. agency or Pennsylvania State Police shall submit the
evidence awaiting testing to.a laboratory approved by the department
Jor testing or analysis.

(4) A laboratory shall complete the testing or analysis of sexual
assault evidence submitted under this section within six months from
the date of receipt of the evidence.

(5) The failure of a health care facility, local law enforcement
agency or the Pennsylvania State Police to submit the sexual assault
evidence in accordance with paragraph (1) or (3) shall not alter the
authority of a local law enforcement agency, the Pennsylvania State
Police or the authority of a laboratory approved by the department to
accept and analyze the evidence.

* %k %k



SESSION OF 2019 Act 2019-29 225

Section 2. Section 5(b) and (c) of the act are amended, subsection (a) is
amended by adding paragraphs and the section is amended by adding a
subsection to read:

Section 5. Rights of sexual assault victims.

(a) General rule—In addition to the rights provided under the act of
November 24, 1998 (P.L.882, No.111), known as the Crime Victims Act, a
sexual assault victim, guardian of a sexual assault victim or close relative of
a deceased sexual assault victim shall have all of the following rights, if
requested by the victim, guardian or relative:

* * %

(4) The right to not be prevented from, or charged for, receiving a
medical forensic examination.

(5) The right to:

(i) subject to paragraph (6) and section 3(c)(1), have a sexual
assault evidence collection kit or its probative contents relating to
the victim preserved, without charge, for the duration of the
maximum applicable criminal statute of limitations; and

(ii) be informed in writing of policies governing the collection
and preservation of a sexual assault evidence collection kit.

(6) The right to, upon written request, receive written notification
Jfrom the appropriate official with custody of a sexual assault evidence
collection kit or its probative contents relating to the victim not later
than 60 days before the date of the intended destruction or disposal of
the sexual assault evidence collection kit or its probative contents.

(7) The right to consult with a sexual assault counselor.

(8) The right to receive information concerning availability of
Dprotective orders and policies related to the enforcement of protective
orders.

(9) The right to receive information about the availability of, and
eligibility for, victim compensation and restitution.

(10) The right to be informed of the rights under this subsection.

(b) Notification.—

(1) A victim, guardian or relative who requests to be notified under
subsection (a)(3) or (6) must provide a current address and telephone
number to the attorney representing the Commonwealth and to the local
law enforcement agency that is investigating the offense. The victim,
guardian or relative must inform the attorney representing the
Commonwealth and the local law enforcement agency of any change in
the address or telephone number.

(2) A victim, guardian or relative may designate a person, including
an entity that provides services to victims of sexual assault, to receive any
notice requested under subsection (a)(3) or (6).

(3) The appropriate official with custody of the sexual assault
evidence collection kit under subsection (a)(6) shall collaborate with a
sexual assault counselor to employ best practices when nofifying a
victim of information pertinent to the victim.

(4) The Attorney General shall, in consultation with the office of
victim advocate, the Pennsylvania State Police, the Pennsylvania Chiefs
of Police Association, the Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association
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and the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, develop a standard
protocol for notifying sexual assault victims of information relating to
evidence gathered regarding the victim. The Office of Victim Advocate
shall disseminate the standard protocol developed under this paragraph
to law enforcement agencies, rape crisis centers, sexual assault
counselors and health care facilities that the Office of Victim Advocate
determines are likely to encounter sexual assault victims. The Attorney

General, the Pennsylvania State Police, the Pennsylvania Chiefs of

Police Association, the Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association, the

Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape and the Office of Victim Advocate

shall make the standard protocol available on a publicly accessible

Internet website.

(b.1) Anonymous reporters.—

(1) A victim who has chosen to make an anonymous report may still
elect to receive notification under this section.

(2) The form for consent for anonymous testing shall include a
provision for submission of contact information for a victim requesting
notification.

(3) The contact information provided for the purposes of
notification shall not, without permission from the victim, be used for
any other purpose, including contacting the victim for investigative
purposes.

(¢) [Definition.—As used in this section, the term "close]
Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and phrases
shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Close relative of a deceased sexual assault [victim' means an] victim."
An individual who:

(1) was the spouse of a deceased sexual assault victim at the time of
the victim's death; or

(2) is a parent, legal guardian or adult brother, sister or child of a
deceased sexual assault victim.

"Sexual assault counselor.” As defined in 42 Pa.C.S. § 5945.1 (relating
to confidential communications with sexual assault counselors).

Section 3. Section 6 of the act, added October 24, 2018 (P.L.1192,
No.164), is amended to read:

Section 6. Report by Pennsylvania State Police.

In consultation with the department, PCAR and, as necessary with local
law enforcement, the Pennsylvania State Police shall compile the following
data and submit a report to the department by December 31, 2018, and
[biannually] annually thereafter:

(1) The volume of sexual assault evidence [submitted] for which
testing is completed.

(2) The volume of backlogged sexual assault evidence awaiting
testing.

[(3) The rate of submission of sexual assault evidence by law
enforcement agencies in compliance with the provisions of this act.]
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(4) The [speed of testing of sexual assault evidence, average wait]
average turnaround time to complete testing and reasons for any delays
in submission or testing of sexual assault evidence.

(5) A review of current practices, including interagency collaboration
with law enforcement agencies and rape crisis centers, in rape kit
evidence collection every two years.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

ApPROVED—The 28th day of June, A.D. 2019

TOM WOLF



